M123 Neutral Newbie October 12, 2004 Share October 12, 2004 hi guys , brand new to cars here. I will be getting a car real soon. deposit by the weekend.tested the models below altis 1.6 civic 1.6 lancer 1.6 city 1.5 with the seven speed thing ford focus price wise i don,t think any thing can beat the lancer. just 63K for the auto. I also prefer the feel and look.( strangly i feel that it has more kick than the civic). But i heard quite a lot of horror stories about it. But since this is a newer model, without the GDI and with the CVT any comments on it?(don't kill me if i am wrong) City will be the other choice , heard it is faster(dont feel so) and more fuel efficent. True? really need help here. knows next to nothing. being driving dad's 2L auto for a few years liao dun want to buy a car which feels like a duck. thanks!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redeel Neutral Newbie October 12, 2004 Share October 12, 2004 Hey, nice to meet you. I'm an SE from Ford. You mean you've tested the Focus but didn't feel great about it? Where did you test drive and what was your test route? eddie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 12, 2004 Share October 12, 2004 being driving dad's 2L auto for a few years liao dun want to buy a car which feels like a duck. Honestly... Nothing beats manual gear lahz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M123 Neutral Newbie October 12, 2004 Author Share October 12, 2004 Hi , from the threads around i found out you a SE for ford. I was there just a few days ago.(ubi) Can't rem the guys name. nice fellow and great service. However only my dad was testing it. i used(tested) my cousin's foocs hatchback. Maybe as i said I not very good with manuel controls, I just don't feel any acceration.(if that is what u call it). but with the lancer (i tried both M and auto) it was great. Than again most ppl told me city had better pickup than the lancer but i felt other wise. just a question, what should u do when u test a car? floor it? sharp turns? in ubi not much room to slam down the pendal leh. not to flame here but BM's service really really sucks big time. Just bcos my dad was with me.(i was the driver testing the altis) he completley ignored me. instead of asking how i(the driver) felt. he kept turing to the back and asked my dad instead. pulled a chair for my dad once we were back and told me "boy , standing good for you la" ....... love the llok of his face when my dad told him that i was the one buying... and i said sorry legs too tried now need to go home rest frist!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear October 12, 2004 Share October 12, 2004 hahaha good one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cow28 Clutched October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 Ya man thats the way to treat the guys from BM. I went there a few times and no SE (i repeat NOBODY) attended to me. I went there a few times and had the same treatment. Left for mitsubishi and Settled for the lancer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 agree ... BM Su*ks big time dun wanna entertain me and ended up getting myself zoom zoom zoom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 That's why they are last on my list of dealers to be checked out! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 ya ... even i got the $$ to buy big car ... BM will never be in my list ... but somehow ppl still buy from them ... dun understand why Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 Well... Sillyporeans are not easily open to "new concepts" in whatever areas of their lives mahz! Up to us "young ones" to start the trend and let BM wake up out of their bloody idea! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 I noe that BM sucks, but I will still be going down to check it out. The SEs are stuck up because they know that their cars value for money, and people will still buy from them even tho their service is . Singaporeans buy from them because they want something reasonable and practical. Not for their service! I'm not a BM supporter, just stating the bare facts. In fact, whenever I read cases of their f*@ked up service, i olao feel like kicking their a#$es! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 [reply ]not to flame here but BM's service really really sucks big time. Just bcos my dad was with me.(i was the driver testing the altis) he completley ignored me. instead of asking how i(the driver) felt. he kept turing to the back and asked my dad instead. pulled a chair for my dad once we were back and told me "boy , standing good for you la" ....... love the llok of his face when my dad told him that i was the one buying... and i said sorry legs too tried now need to go home rest frist!!! [/reply] 1. Haha..so Toyota more suited for uncle lah. The interior looks uncle to me too, simply hate the shiny plastic wood panel/trimmings. I didn't manage to test drive an Altis. The SE told me that too many in the queue, come back next time. 2. I bought a Civic and no regret even if it costs more. Its a better car than Altis, anytime to me. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redeel Neutral Newbie October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 Actually during test drive you should drive as you normally would and feel the car. Some people enjoy cornering so the handling is of utmost importance. Some just don't care, as long as it feels like a car... You should be happy with the comfort, driving position, feeling of steering and its pedals and so on. Good to bring along passengers to give comments about the rear seats and space. However, with a Focus, you just can't resist testing the handling, it's so darn well known! Perhaps you took a really safe route the other time... Come test with me, i'll bring you to the right place to abuse my car. I mean, you wouldn't drive like that when its your own, and you won't know it's capabilities without trying it out yourself! eddie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 I will go for the Ford Focus (best handling in its class and even beat some from the class above), then the Civic (good performance) and lastly the Altis (value for money). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 Can I come too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut Clutched October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 Dude, one suggestion - get two more friends/relatives into the test drive car so in total you would have five persons in the car. Then you can better tell which one lacks power/acceleration/pickup/torque, which suspension sags and bottoms out ......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redeel Neutral Newbie October 13, 2004 Share October 13, 2004 Why not? =) eddie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M123 Neutral Newbie October 13, 2004 Author Share October 13, 2004 Hi Hi thanks for the replies. Sorry bro I just penned down my signature today... I all goes well I will be driving a Lancer soon. I actually wanted a black manuel sport version. Mon and Dad dun like black. Mon thinks its bad luck , dad thinks it's for street punk. GF and father both disagrees with the sport model. (extra 5k for exterior deco, plus GF hates the spoiler). Lastly all want auto.(they all agree that my manuel driving suck!!) Was quite piss for a while since i am paying for it(most of it anyway) but figured can't be so selfish la. at least my silver auto basic lancer now comes with 3 big worn on three of the most important people in my life. now with that done i am sure no one is looking under the hood. errm any recommendation on turbocharging the car?? (seriously) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...