Kianbeng Clutched November 4, 2002 Share November 4, 2002 Hi all, My Mazda 323's stock audio doesn't sound fantastic. I've went to an audio shop and asked their opinion. They said my 4 speakers are not utilized to the max. He claims that as my HU is only 45x4, it's not enough to power the speakers. He suggest I add an amplifier first and claims that there should be some difference already. Then slowly 1 by 1, add more things. From what I know, my rear speakers should be those 6x9 and the front are component speakers. Any comments? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear November 4, 2002 Share November 4, 2002 Hi Kianbeng, If I've not mistaken, the 45x4 rating means that the total power the HU supplies is 45W. Effectively, each channel will get 45/4 W. Your installer is 1/2 correct in saying that an amplifier will do wonders for ur sound system. Usually, the front speaker is first upgrade. Getting a good pair of front components will improve the system. For this purpose, a decent 2 ch amp to power the front speakers will do. The rear speakers r meant for rear fill. It is secondary in importance compared to the front speakers. U can use the HU to power the rear speakers. BTW what front speakers r u using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 6, 2002 Share November 6, 2002 Yah... what u say is right.... add a amplifier 1st... then u observe the effect.... if u are happy with it... then ok liao... if u like more bass... then get those 10" to 12" speaker box which will take up your boot space... just my 2 cents... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie November 9, 2002 Share November 9, 2002 KB, If Ur speakers are stock (I've done a few 323's) as with just about any car stock speakers, adding an amp will not only not improve Ur sound but will likely mess up the sound once volume is turned up a little . Why? Cuz the stock ones are so terok adding more power will simply make them crack up easier. As Koolaba says front spkr change is the way to go for an immediate discernable improvement, cuz 90% of the music U'r meant to listen from these. Properly set up system simplest one to the highest end won't be even hearing the sound of the rear fills from the front. This installer hope he not a good friend. But probably either he don't really know his stuff or he desperate to sell U amp and install. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched November 10, 2002 Author Share November 10, 2002 oh......heehee. No I don't know the installer who advised me about adding the amp. But as of now, if I tune the speakers to equal strength according to the HU, I will still hear the rear speakers. Maybe....the front speakers have more resistance (higher ohms) ? Or maybe the rear speakers are bigger, so generally louder.....? Ok......so if I were to change the front speakers, there is also limited choice isn't it? since I can't change to those 6x9s......only component speakers which I thought mine is already......? BTW, component speakers are just normal speakers with a additional tweeter right? kianbeng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie November 10, 2002 Share November 10, 2002 KianBeng, In car audio if U want Ur money to work for U then the thing to realize and follow is that each type of hardware is meant to be used in certain way. And utilizing for hardware it's most suitable purpose and mixed and matched properly is the key to getting performance from money spent. Not just buy this and that and put cuz guessing this should be the way. For example, rear speakers are meant to be used as rear fill, to be used to tune in to enhance the sound quality from the front seating positions. 6X9 speakers are very bad for fullfilling this duty. Another example got a limited budget straight away go and install a cheapo amp W/ bad wiring and install. So typical, cuz it's so much easier for the installer to sell the idea of a lousy amp install rather than a similar cost just to replace front speakers that are already there. Best part is many of these typical installers can't even tell the diff between really good or bad sound reproduction themselves. What U got to consider is that whilst a front speaker change to good ones might not be as glamorous, like cannot tell pple I gort amp U know ... the quality of sound will be better by leaps and bounds. Then when U finally decide to do a decent amp install the speakers will perform even better. It's all about getting the best from the budget. Whether it be a small budget only sufficient for just a speaker change or whether it's a budget for the highest end system; the above applies. Oh yeah, component speakers are called components cuz they come W/ separate components ie speakers, tweeters and X-over. AutoS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie November 12, 2002 Share November 12, 2002 Hmm... need to enquire from all the sifu out there about these things... 1. G9, 4 speakers at doors, what model absolutely no idea, all i know is the sound is erm... *profanities x vulgarities x explatives* ... This is a stock combo with some sony lower end xplod HU and a CD changer at the back, I love cd changer just that its... at the back. recently, front left comes on and off once in a while... haven't opened to check but i suspect loose wiring, cos mom slammed my door too hard once. then again... its Mom. so I was thinking, if really have to just looking for low budget improvements... I like classical btw. thumping speakers not required usually . Pardon suaku-ness people, but tighten whatever's loose? Or spend like some pathetic 300 bucks? (that's my budget) Thanks for the input. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear November 12, 2002 Share November 12, 2002 Hi, Upgrade ur front components first. I'm also a classical music listener. Sent u a PM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie November 12, 2002 Share November 12, 2002 $300 can get you a respectable front components. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 Oooo... Thanks Mike. Nice nice components would be great. No need for the schtoompin'. Just listening pleasure. Hope my HU isn't gonna be the let-down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 CDT seems to be the flavour of the month. Have you checked with Koolaba for the lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 He's offering me his amps! But I tot I'm supposed to be looking for front components? Hope to get some nice clarity, not power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 Without power, there may not be clarity. Hook up the front components with the amp and I'm sure you'll experience a lot of difference with what you're having now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 IMHO, CDT is very natural. A really value for money choice and out perform most expensive and branded speakers if properly installed. If $$$ is not a concern, should check out the CDT EuroSport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 The EuroSport is new izzit, never heard of it untill a couple of months back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 Ahh CDT it is then! Value for money is good. Thanks for the help guys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 Hi buddy, Sent u a PM. Did u receive it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie November 14, 2002 Share November 14, 2002 Yup I did! Thanks for all the advice. I shall try to extort some money from mommy, for slamming the door too hard. Nah... dun be nasty like this. I'll just wait for the ah-gong money at year end. Hope can gimme a small hand to get some cheap stuff. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...