Patcheon Neutral Newbie January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 (edited) Have been following this thread with great interest. During my previous servicing, the mechanic had told me that my car's forward suspension arm ( I think, if I use the correct term) is wearing off and should be changed on the next servicing. I asked him how about the shocks and he told be it can still last for about a year. Therefore I have been on a lookout about shocks and spring. Also, a little itchy and feel like lowering my ride (Sunny B15). But not by too much as I am worried about going through humps. One of the systems I am particularly interested is the Eibach Prokit and Koni yellow combination. As I am quite a noob in this area, got a couple of questions on hand. Hope that bros and sis here could give me some suggestions. Firstly do I go back to my regular mechanic and tell his I want the Eibach prokit and Koni yellow set and let him source for me or do I go somewhere that is specialised in suspension to fix them. Also, is this combination very stiff as I sometimes do drive up Malaysia and a bone scattering experience for such long distances is surely not on my piority. Thanks for your time Edited January 5, 2005 by Patcheon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 it's the supertouring range, according to one of the Alfa owners, the shocks lifespan is shorter than Alfa's stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Author Share January 6, 2005 Where are the gurus? Very keen to know the answer. Like you, I don't want my car to be too low due to humps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ff2004 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 Heard from some friends that eibach pro-kit + yellow koni is a good combination. Maybe vtim knows about it. Vtim, can tell us more about this combination? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Author Share January 6, 2005 Also tell us how much this combi too will cost hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 hmm if springs n shocks r too soft (eg originals) then when going over humps n potholes, the whole car will shake n vibrate many times, causing something like massage the butt effect right? but if we change to a stiff shock/ lowered spring, y issit that its also no good for comfort? since the shock can now absorb most of the uneven surfaces already, y do pple still comment that they can feel every flaw on the road surface? can someone pls clear this doubt of mine. thanks.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 comfortable ride comes from suspension - shocks/springs and all other components that is good at absorbing vibration on uneven or bumpy roads. This is achieved by having springs and shocks that are designed for this roads in which they will move up and down according to the profile of the road and it will provide a smoother ride. once you changed to a stiffer suspension, stability will enhanced both in straights and corners as it movements is not as big as the original and on good surface roads and control is better, it will provide you similar comfort level and enhanced handling and stability. but once it encounter bumpy roads, it movement is shorter and hence it will not ride the road profile as efficient as a "softer" and long travelled suspension and if it does not ride across, then it will "bump" across hence creating the uncomfy and choppy ride that almost all stiffen suspension cause. i am trying to be as layman as possible....do continue to ask if you dont understand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ff2004 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 Can I ask you a stupid question... If my rim/tyre is stock, not those 16" or even 17" rim/tyre, is it ok to change the spring? All the while I thought only those big rim cars need to change spring to lower their ride. For stock rim....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 no worries...no question is stupid.. well, changing springs is ok for even stock rims, infact at many times it is primary designed for used with stock rims and some are suitable to use with bigger rims. not forgetting, changing to bigger rims increases your unsprung mass and hence increasing the load that your suspension has to withstand and support. Hence it is advisable if you have bigger rims or rather heavier unsprung mass to have stiffer suspension especially the shocks to take up the extra load that the suspension is bearing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 would you hav any info on Rinspeed springs? Used to be brought in by Stamford afew years back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 6, 2005 Share January 6, 2005 thanks for that layman explanation. any more profound n i wld have difficulty understanding liao. hmm ok i understand that stiffer aftermarket shocks would cause the uncomfortable ride by virtue that it is shorter than stock hence the travel is not as great. ok so let's say we just discuss on the comfort aspect n not the performance aspect lah. y do so many pple wanna change their stock shocks because they complain its too soft? i mean, too soft will also cause the car to vibrate many times over uneven surfaces right? so could u pls explain whats the difference in uncomfort between a stock shocks setup n a stiff aftermarket shocks setup? thanks alot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ohlins Neutral Newbie January 7, 2005 Share January 7, 2005 just to clarify your statement: the fact that it's called unsprung weight means that the mass is not supported by the suspension system right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 7, 2005 Share January 7, 2005 ummm i dont have any info on it...anyway...not too sure about this brand....seems like not a popular brand i think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 7, 2005 Share January 7, 2005 it is the MASS that is supported by your suspension it is define as the mass that is other than the main body on the car. consists of 1) suspension components itself 2) brakes components 3) wheels & tyres Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ohlins Neutral Newbie January 7, 2005 Share January 7, 2005 unsprung weight means mass not supported by suspension as those items u have listed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear January 8, 2005 Share January 8, 2005 if budget is not a prb, the ideal way is to install a complete set of coil over dampers..... about 1k can get quite a good set...... What would you recommend for a Sunny N16 that is under 1k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched January 9, 2005 Share January 9, 2005 Just exploring the options. If possible, don't want to spend too much but priority is long lasting functionality. Eibach sounds reasonable. Eibach is one of the good choices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patcheon Neutral Newbie January 10, 2005 Share January 10, 2005 (edited) Anyone can recommend where to get the Eibach & Koni? Searched a few car forums and lots of posts saying how good they are but somehow no one able to provide info on where can get them. Edited January 10, 2005 by Patcheon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...