Vtim 3rd Gear January 3, 2005 Share January 3, 2005 exactly by how much the life span will be reduced......no one knows lah....... ppl just say will reduce.....ask them how they know......they just happen to know lor..... for serious lowering..a set of complete coil over dampers is definitely superior than to mix and match springs/dampers.. that's very true, no one can really tell you how much the lifespan will be reduced. Coil over is good provided you do not adjust the height very often ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 3, 2005 Share January 3, 2005 actually, had wanted to go for this combo in my previou ride. But the wait for Bilstein dampers shipment is a killer, apparently Bilstein wouldn't ship if there's inadqeuate volume, is it still true now? well, there is someone in AROC that can bring in the Bilstein, direct from Germany Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 3, 2005 Share January 3, 2005 no one can really put a actual figure to it, it'll depends on the roads that you travel often & also if you drive alone or often carry passengers & loads in the boot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched January 3, 2005 Share January 3, 2005 I would want to risk that either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched January 3, 2005 Share January 3, 2005 can only afford a 3, LPT one Nice SS ! In black I suppose ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie January 3, 2005 Share January 3, 2005 In black it is ... With BBS rims ..... Just wait for him to post in MCF showroom...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivioman Neutral Newbie January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 I'm using eibachs and it's one of the best springs that I have used. Am using in conjunction with normal shocks for now. Eibach is actually the OEM for Sachs, so whichever way you go, you should be alright. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tea3 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2005 Author Share January 4, 2005 Just exploring the options. If possible, don't want to spend too much but priority is long lasting functionality. Eibach sounds reasonable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 we talking about spring leh, how come talk about me posting pictures Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 "Eibach is actually the OEM for Sachs, so whichever way you go, you should be alright." what do you mean????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 "SACHS/BILSTEIN suspensions sets do comes with the springs & matching shocks, however, I have friends that find that the shocks of the SACHS Touring suspension kids to have very short life span . OBTW, the springs in SACHS suspension sets are made by Eibach" what SACHS touring suspension kit you talking about? there are basically three range of shock absorbers from SACHS supertouring range - exact replacement of OE shock absorber advantage range - sportier, firmer and all gas shocks performance range - shorten, firmer and used in the performance set together with lowered springs(developed to match lowered springs- Yes, certain models are the set is developed with Eibach springs but NOT all) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 hehe.....tink Sachs need to organise more demo days or TC-type events to spread the word. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivioman Neutral Newbie January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 Eibach makes the springs for Sachs, which they sell under their brand name... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 Yes you are right. but Eibach and Sachs are OEM is their own rights. Eibach is a spring specialist Sachs is a shock absorber specialist it is of mutual benefits that both company actually derive their product from the expertise of each other. Hence Sachs decides to leave the expert to make the springs and match their shocks with the springs produced by eibach and vice versa. This is very common in manufacturing of parts and many famous brands in the automotive industry. noone makes everything themselves, it would be NOT cost effective and definitely not a good way to produce things nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 (edited) errm eibach has both shocks and springs, just that the shocks are near impossible to find in sg. Koni and eibach components are exactly the same. Strangely its more expensive to use shocks and springs of a single brand for these two then buying eibach and koni for each component. FYI Everything comes from the same koni factory for eibach and koni, just diff colours. Just like Gab and KYB (nismo, trd also use Gab and KYB but with diff colours and call it their own). Edited January 4, 2005 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Yes eibach has both, but eibach doesnt make their shock absorbers, it is sourced. similarly, koni is a shock absorber specialist and their source the springs from spring manufacturers too. it is logical that if the brand of shocks and springs are from the same manufacturer then it would be more expensive as there is no "economical of scale" a spring manufacturer can produce a set of springs for a make and model and distribute to various suspension kit producers and hence can produce more quantity that way hence cheaper. Similarly for shock absorbers. Hence it is rare to find suspension manufacturer actually produce everything themselves, unless it is specialised and very small quantities but then it will be very very expensive. FYI, even if you see the brand on certain product printed there, it might not be made by them, it is just the way how this industry is run. Believe me...there is alot of trade secrets that is suppose to be kept so it is not so nice for me to say everything.. most of the time, just trust the reputated manufacturers, they have gone through a lot research and development to come up with the product and rest assured that all the neccessary test and approval has been done. Hence to be on the safe side and a peace of mind...stay with big brands ...suspension is a safety item, dont play play with your life!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ff2004 Neutral Newbie January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Hi, So it is advisable to change both spring and shock together. Comes in a set is Sachs for what I know. Eibach is hard to find the set, right? Any others? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Yes...it is advisable to do that well..it doesnt have to be just Sachs. Alot of other brands also has sets that are designed specifically for that make and model eg: koni, eibach, bilstein etc Eibach has set that comes in their pro-kit suspension kit. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...