Route Clutched January 22, 2005 Share January 22, 2005 Went for mantainance and watched my mechanic use air to spray my k&n filter.. (i was upstairs)... is it "gone"? how do i know if it is ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear January 22, 2005 Share January 22, 2005 use air to spray? i think it's ok lah....... should be the correct thing to do, right? you can even use water to wash the K&N filter. it's shld be ok.......... if cant use air to spray or water to wash, then how to clean the filter? how you know it's gone? when you drive, you will know it. temp. much higher than before is one indicator you will notice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clio Neutral Newbie January 22, 2005 Share January 22, 2005 use air to clean is ok what your air intake is also sucking air also what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched January 22, 2005 Share January 22, 2005 why cannot use air to spray? i bet your engine sux harder than that the air spray.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched January 22, 2005 Author Share January 22, 2005 oh ok thanks always thought only using of water and cleaning kit will not spoil it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 22, 2005 Share January 22, 2005 There is a cleaning kit for KnN filters. You're supposed to run the filter undern lightly running water, then spray on the cleaner, then rinse it off under lightly running water, then after letting it air dry (coz the airguns the mechs use are too strong) then after that spray on the special oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zephyr Neutral Newbie January 22, 2005 Share January 22, 2005 anyone has any idea where to get K$N filters for jazz?? went to a few places they say they dun have it for jazz.... any idea how much it cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched January 22, 2005 Author Share January 22, 2005 thanks, will go get the cleaning kit.. hope its not too late. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 use air to spray? i think it's ok lah....... should be the correct thing to do, right? you can even use water to wash the K&N filter. it's shld be ok.......... if cant use air to spray or water to wash, then how to clean the filter? how you know it's gone? when you drive, you will know it. temp. much higher than before is one indicator you will notice. the air gun that those mech used are too strong, it's much stronger than the air being suck into the engine, it'll damage/tear the membrane of the k & n filter, you should used the k & n cleaning lotion & re-oil with the red k & n oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 use air to clean is ok what your air intake is also sucking air also what. nope, not really, the air gun is too strong & it's also too focus to a certain spot, it's totally different from the pressure of air being suck into the engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched January 23, 2005 Author Share January 23, 2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robertoon Neutral Newbie January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 anyone can tell me after putting Kn Filter, did your fc improve or lower? My workshop says with more air intake, the engine ECU will sense it and release more fuel for the combustion. How true is it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 just used the k & n cleaner & follow the instruction for the oiling part, if you can see even layer of red oiling, than the filter should be ok just remember not to over oiled the filter. What I normally do is, put back the stock paper filter, clean the k & n & make sure it's drip dry, can also used hair dryer with medium heat (not high heat) & blow dry. Next, oil the k & n filter with the red oil (follow the instructions) & then leave the filter on top of newpaper overnight to let the newspaper soak up excess oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 FC is depending on your right foot it's true that with the k & n high flow filter, more air intake will happens, so the engine will be more revvy, it rev up to redline much faster than stock, so once you get that, you may feel like reving the car more often, so in turns your FC will go up lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched January 23, 2005 Author Share January 23, 2005 thanks.. will get the cleaning kit when i have the time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vino Clutched January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 If that's the case, why K&N claims that it will save fuel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 if I dun leave the oil to soak through overnight and just put it in straight, will it be ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear January 23, 2005 Share January 23, 2005 i be honest with you. i NEVER clean my K&N filter at all for 3 and half years! and it still working fine!! hee hee. didn't bother to get the K&N cleaning kit. i had K&N filter on my previous car. the round silver metal tyre. i NEVER clean it at all. and i not sure if my workshop does the cleaning or not during servicing. and the best thing is it works perfectly fine all the time! my engine temp. is always v good (needle is always at one third or even one quarter mark). and engine is v responsive. guess that i'm lucky. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...