Car advice

Ed168

hi,

looking for a car,anyone can advice?new car or used car better?Though of geeting a 1.6 Mitisubishi lancer Mivec year 1998 for 36k,any one can advice?

any particular reason why a 1998 mit lancer?

if at $36k, then ur deprn is on high side. actually for lancer, can get mid-late 2002 1.6 glx model for under 50k, with annual deprn of abt 5k. jus need to look around in used car mkt.

[nod] Hi Bro,

Gdday & Thks.Just tested the Mit. car, condition not so gd & u are right.

Looking for mid term usage car.Wat abt Honda Civic EXI 1.5 auto Year 98 @ $29.5K?p'se comment.

Good luck.

$29+k sounds more reasonable. parf shd hv ard 14k. so $15k deprn for 3 yrs to go is abt right. honda is anytime better than mit. i'm saying this even tho i drive a lancer..

most imptly, go test drive the car 1st.

Thks u bro.

I will test drive it first.Any idea on Honda civic ESI year 1992-1993 used car?izit worth to find this type of COE car?

BR

Ed

think honda is still quite reliable & u can find plenty of parts. but dun think u can find good value coe cars of that year. most of the them in used car mkt now are those whose coe renewed to 8/2011, at $18444. these cars got not parf & paper value is just dependent on coe rebate, which by now, shd be around $9k.

yet, u'll not find any such cars selling at close to paper value. most of them asking for abt $22k. u can probably negotiate down to $20k. if u go by linear deprn, yes, its quite affordable cos its probably less than $4k/yr. but do u think u can drive all the way til 2011? if not, then when u sell, those dealers will chiak u at paper value! then how much wld u lose? plenty!!

if that's the case, its not worth to buy, how can these dealers survive? answer very simple. for each car they chiak at paper value, but mark up according to annualized deprn of $4.5k. so they make ard 8-10k for each sale. they can afford to wait for some greenhorn 1st timer, to buy..by convincing him how low his deprn, how low the loan he can get, how low insurance, etc..

if u really interested in coe cars, go find one whose coe not renewed til 8/2011. very hard to find, but if can find, at least better protection.

[;)] Hi Bro,

Thks u very much for your precise advice.I begin to understand more.i will consult u again if i hv further question.Mean time i will test dive the Honda Civic EXI year 1998 car first.

Thks

Ed

looney,

wat u analysed is indeed correct. This is how the car dealers currently are doing. It's in fact both benefitial for both. Imagine for new car Vios, @ $57k, u need to down $6300, not including insurance. Normally new cars come with free 1/2 year road tax. hence upfront with insurance it would be cash $8-9k.

However, think abt getting coe car with renew coe @$18444, which was in 2001. by now it would be the 4th year left abt $12,900. Dealer would sell these cars around $20-24k with buyer down only $500-2k including insurance. There would be the so call kopi money (known as admin fee) of abt $1k (basically to cover the insurance &/or road tax they have paid). Their profit would be a whopping $10k! They would say they can buy back car from you after 2 yrs @ around $18k....

The main diff is the downpayment and monthly installment.

New car : down paym $9k, monthly $650....up side: get back parf value/rebate

Old coe car : down paym $500-2k monthly $400....down side: tons of aftersales repair/high maintenance cost/high road tax

They would say they can buy back car from you after 2 yrs @ around $18k....

they say only lah..basically, all those used car dealer talk cxxk one! if they take in ur ride after 2 yrs at 18k, how much they gonna sell? 22k again? which idiot wld buy? they jus wanna psycho u to buy..they'll tell u if buy close to paper value, meaning every yr deprn ard 2k, then on the road no motorcycles liao, cos e'body will drive a coe car!

since they so yah-yah, let them wait out lor..when new car prices drop further, then see who has last laugh.. to me, these used car dealers are simply greedy..& they're playing with fire.

with new cars getting cheaper, dun say coe cars, cars that are 2-4 y/o already very affordable & nobody is buying. for for these type of cars, at least can still export out. for coe cars, they'll probably be kept in the closet waiting to rust! sooner or later, their price have to come down. for those coe 8/2011 type, i reckon if u very sure can ride out its remaining years, u can bargain to $16k & they LL oso gotta contemplate selling.

and if they come down to that price level, i dun mind getting one such ride, as a 2nd car for the fmy. my wifey can drive my current ride, i make do with a old trusty honda civic to wk, jus a few clicks down e road.

Edited by Looneytune

if selling a coe has a profit of $10k... everyone will be selling that sort of cars liao...

FYI, a dealer takes in a esi 4 door around 20-24k. Only those coe hyundai, protons, sunnys, lancers then is paper value.

And those your so call kopi money... HY and CT are taking in as well. Everywhere is the same...

if u go to tagore lane, u'll find most of the dealers there sell only coe cars.

as for kopi or tak-kiu (futbal) money, recently accompanied a friend to get a ride at CT..we jus smiled at them & said, since 1st day we bought car, we've not paid any of such..in e end, they oso waive.

my frenz bought a 2002 nissan praire. they actually quoted the best price. most other dealers in AML quoted 65k min. we went to lengkee CT, & found one at 63k. managed to bargain down to 62k & some freebies. not a bad deal for a 2.0 mpv, cos annualized deprn works out to jus 6k.