Looneytune Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 that's the lowest we can find in mkt. most other dealers very firm at $65,800. at $62k, yearly deprn is only 6k/yr. dun think its realistic to get a 2.0 mpv with less than that, somemore its coe quite high, ard $38k. so in a sense, very little room for huge profit for e dealers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed168 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Author Share January 27, 2005 Hi Bro, Need yr input again,I hv 20-30K cash,Question: 1.whether to buy the used Honda EXI year 98 @ cash 29k better(plan mid term use & later upgrade new car)or 2.getting a new car abt.60k+ with initial 10k downpayment ? If you will me wat will u do? I m very green,1st timer,hope you understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 i wont go for a brand new car now cos their paper value very low. supposing coe remain at 20k & typical omv of a jap ride ard 15k. the moment u get ur keys, its paper + body value is probably ard 40k max. if u kenna a serious accident & insurance deemed it as total loss, they will not compensate u 60k. rather, they'll compensate u only wat the car is worth. so wat happens to the 20k? u absorb e loss lor... it is very common now for pple to lose 20+k after driving the car for abt 18mths. in mkt now, can find many 2004 rides selling for ard $60k. when those owners 1st bought their cars, they paid somewhere ard $80+k if u're a newbie, better to get a used car. insurance will be cheaper & since u can afford to pay off at 1 go, no need to worry abt paying the hefty interest. if i got 30k spare cash, will definitely go for a used car. as long as u dun pay too high a price abv the paper, u sorta get some protection, cos if anything go wrong, u can sell or scrap ur car w/o incurring massive losses. another advantage of buying a used car is that u accumulate No Claim Bonus for paying lower insurance premium. so next time when u upgrade, ur insurance cost is lower. the choice is urs bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed168 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Author Share January 27, 2005 Thks Bro, In this case ,which year used car should i look up,izit 2001,2002 or 2003 type better? or year 98-99 type?.i m narrowing down to Honda Civic & Mitsubishi Lancer. BR Ed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 or maybe the car has been park there for months and is desperate to let it go... they might even lose up to 8k on that car for parking just 3 months. or it's a new car which they just took it. Margin is lower and since someone is interested, just let go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 it all comes down to budget. but for your case, budget is not a problem. 20k to play around? get an used Mazda 3.... new one 70+, used and less than 1 year... maybe you can get 65-73 depend on which model. Civic and Lancer is using the CVT transmission, repairing the gearbox is a headache unless still under warranty and is a manual car. If get lancer, find the new model and best is Sports Edition or at least an Elegant model. 2 airbags is safer than 1. If civic, get the new face-lifted civic, next time want to sell also easier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 New car lahz... COE low low, used car dealers want to "close shops" liaoz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 went AML today, v quiet.... perhaps weekdays.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Maybe one day AML will become car accessories shopping centre... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed168 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Author Share January 27, 2005 Hello Bro, P'se tell me pro n con of new car.thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Wahz... okok... New car: Adv: Swee swee new car. Low maintenance (Hope you dun get a lemon!) Disadv: More expensive. 2nd hand car: Adv: Cheaper to buy/ lower depreciation Disadv: Higher maintenance costs Drive a used car. you never know what the previous owners did in the car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed168 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Author Share January 27, 2005 hi bro, In this case ,which year used car should i look up,izit 2001,2002 or 2003 type better? or year 98-99 type?.i m narrowing down to Honda Civic & Mitsubishi Lancer. BR Ed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diablodrns Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 Hi just my 2 cents buy a late 01 or 02 before may, use it for 2 years then scrap at 5th year. before 02 may 80% parf, you prob wont be able to find many 99/98 cars bc most will be scrapped not to mention more expensive bc of the higher COE. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 it all comes down to budget. but for your case, budget is not a problem. 20k to play around? get an used Mazda 3.... new one 70+, used and less than 1 year... maybe you can get 65-73 depend on which model. Civic and Lancer is using the CVT transmission, repairing the gearbox is a headache unless still under warranty and is a manual car. If get lancer, find the new model and best is Sports Edition or at least an Elegant model. 2 airbags is safer than 1. If civic, get the new face-lifted civic, next time want to sell also easier. was thinking about the ES8 (2001-2003) civic but scared of the cvt. heard so much problems about it leh. somemore if no warranty, KM wont repair for u for free...sianz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 ES8 got cvt...then how abt ES5? is it using cvt too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marusho Clutched January 27, 2005 Share January 27, 2005 ES8 got cvt...then how abt ES5? is it using cvt too? ES5 (1.6l) is on conventional 4 speed auto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 Thks Bro, In this case ,which year used car should i look up,izit 2001,2002 or 2003 type better? or year 98-99 type?.i m narrowing down to Honda Civic & Mitsubishi Lancer. BR Ed if its lancer, then get those after 2000. my present ride is a 2002 1.5gdi. fairly problem free if u do ur regular maintenance, plus very affordable. they shd be around the region of 45-50k for a 2yr old car. if its civic, then will be more expensive. yet, honda engines are one of the best & most reliable. my old ride was a coe honda. actually depends on ur budget. for starter, get something u can afford & easy to maintain, then upgrade. if u get something too high end, what are u gonna upgrade next time? if u're driving a lancer, its fairly normal to upgrade to a civic, but unlikely the opposite, am i right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_benz Clutched January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 Hi Looney. Can ask you a question? Why lancer GDI their engine oil always used up so fast? And sometimes the ENgine kept vibrating at idling. And i realise the gear changing like very no feeling, when kick down, the engine just roar, cannot feel it kick down 1. And also when moving from stop, it respond alittle slower to your foot. paiseh ar, just want some enlightenment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...