Dwoon 1st Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 Can advise what did Stamford actually do for the flush? Its hard to believe that it costs only $30 to use their machine. Riverview charged me $70 for the service alone. Did they allow the machine to cycle for 15 to 30 mins? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laojiao 2nd Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 Yeap, they did. Dunno how long is the cycle lah ... but got lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 ok. thanks for the feedback. Will consider going there the next time. Or maybe if its only $30, will go there earlier than my 50K interval. At this rate, its not much higher than the labour for changing engine oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 Was quote $160 for ATF flush using 2 tin of Diaqueen. is the price consider reasonable? Anybody got better recommendation? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Found Motoguard @ Tampines "Behind SAFRA" charged $60 . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 2 tins = how many quarts or litres? Flushing needs quite a substantial amount of ATF..... Like I need about 15 quarts for my car. If you know the price of the ATF, then just deduct that away and you'll have your labour charge.... If its less than $70, then to me its cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 (edited) i bought diaqueen 2 tin fr veerawasamy road shop then go stamford lokyang, paid $30 or $40 for labor use machine dialysis. time taken ard 45 min. Edited January 29, 2008 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Errrmmm.... are they any good? Worried they might damage the car leh...... I'm due for another round of flushing already. BTW, who to look for at Stamford Lok Yang? Do they have a wide range of ATF filters? Else I will need to bring my own..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffyong Neutral Newbie February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 usually they dont change the ATF filter cos might damaged the gear box. correct me if i am wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 3, 2008 Share February 3, 2008 Why not chnage the ATF filter??? For mine, its like your oil filter and is screwed on.... just that its slightly bigger in size and costs like $60 for one..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 yo bro, u did a flush at every 50-60k, i only did a ATF change at 30K. now only at 53K, tot flush at 100K. my first auto car so a bit blur Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 You got to check your handbook as it wil state when u need to change your ATF. My previous car (Corona CD) recommend a change every 60K km. My present car (Optra) says just check & top-up if it's low. No need to change ATF? They do mention to change the ATF if it looks darker(black) or if u see metal fillings in the ATF. Anyway I wil still do a flush once every 50K to 60K km or when the ATF starts to look black & not pink. I wil prob use Toyota Type IV ATF as it's Dexron VI (and much cheaper then RP ATF) which is a very high standard even though it's mineral & not synthetic. Last time I used RP ATF which is synthetic & only Dexron III. BTW the Optra autobox is also an Aisin Wagner. Same as the Corona's. Those autoboxes r damm solid. Of course u can change/flush the ATF more often as fresh oil is always better but than your costs go up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 my mechanic recommend to flush at 100K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 What does it say in your handbook? Better to follow what the manufacturers say than to listen to the mech. Make sure u use the proper type of ATF as u cannot use the wrong type. Your autobox will spoil in no time. What car u driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 Hyundai lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 8, 2008 Share February 8, 2008 Your Hyundai need which type of ATF. Dexron or Diaqueen? Or does Hyundai mention some special type only meant for Hyundai cars? Last time my Hyundai using Dexron. Strange cos I tot their autobox is from Mitsubishi which needs Diaqueen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 8, 2008 Share February 8, 2008 recommendation for GM canada. 80k km ATF flush. Dexron fr other sites. http://www.chevywest.ca/PDFs/Vehicle%20Mai...%20Schedule.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 9, 2008 Share February 9, 2008 Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...