Finclk 1st Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 i use meguair's magic towel - Waffle weave type. Wah lau.. $24. Can faint man. But it's very big n sucks fast. Wringing it dry is also not a problem. I was using synthetic chamois before this n i find that with chamois, it's better to use it to dab the surface rather then using actual wiping action. Some pple say chamois will scratch the surface when u use wiping action. Not any normal person but I remember reading it on Mother's detail guide n somewhere else. Actually using a bunch of good MF or 100% cotton will do the job. Just that u really need qty in drying a big car like for me, i use hte magic towel n 1 or 2 MF to finish up. dry dry!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 (edited) got the fibreshine drying cloth from u liao but haven't try. Tomorrow I wash car and feedback here if it's better than my meguir Edited August 5, 2005 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coke21 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Autoglym chamois serving me well I heard fibreshine stuffs are good too Yup, use the autoglym chamois also. Its really good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Can't wait to get mine and give my ride a good scrub! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 3M Synthetic Chamois. Bought it at 5 dollars. 2 years. Still serving me well. Typical synthetic chamois will suffer some irreversible damage if its left to dry completely. This one doesn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minisized Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 MF Terry-weave cloth from oversea... still hv xtra, interested PM me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 you will soon enjoy drying your car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 .... the fibreshine one is only abt half the price but even better than the meguair's magic towel. it is tested and proven. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rabican Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 I don't really like chamois as it is easy to introduce swirls to the car. Best towels i have used is pricey. I'm currently using a waffleweave towel from Pakshak. One towel is enough to dry my car. There is a waffleweave from Meguiars (Water Magnet)which has just reached our DIY stores that may be good as well. These are somewhat pricey, but a good investment imho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 i use meguair's magic towel - Waffle weave type. Wah lau.. $24. Can faint man. But it's very big n sucks fast. Wringing it dry is also not a problem. I was using synthetic chamois before this n i find that with chamois, it's better to use it to dab the surface rather then using actual wiping action. Some pple say chamois will scratch the surface when u use wiping action. Not any normal person but I remember reading it on Mother's detail guide n somewhere else. I agree with you there. I use 2 waffle weave drying towels and now I can dry my car in less than half the time it used to take me to dry using a synthetic charmois towel, so to me that's worth the $$ sum. I believe any towel (even old rug or t-shirt) will do the job but to do it fast (thereby avoiding any watermark) and doing it safely without scartching your car paint, you will need to have a specialised drying towel. I am sorry but Meguiar's Drying Towel we find locally are not meant for drying purposes. It's actually a lower quality of Ultimate Wipe bought in bulk and repacked by Meguiar's locally. It's a couple of retail dollars cheaper but only half the cloth. I know coz I bought them and have used all the previous 3 generations of Meguiar's UW cloth. For those of you still using synthetic charmois, you gotta try the waffle weave towel. Maybe you'll be like me and throw the charmois away ...or maybe not huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 (edited) I bought them from you and I have to STRONGLY DISAGREE with your findings!!! I don't know how and what you used for comparison but my results are different. SORRY... Edited August 6, 2005 by Silgt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showtime Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 i use the chamois by autoglym. cant remember the exact name. works great and i manage to dry my car in good time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 Well, the distributor did the test and forward me the verdict. I was just passing on the information. No hard feelings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelblue Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 Autoglym synthetic chamois still leaves water droplets on the paint or glass...annoying . Waffle weave mf absorbs all the water, no streak or droplets..provided you flood rinse the car leaving as little water as possible or use a second wwmf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 Hi Saaber, no I'm implying you posted false info or to that tone , this is just the opinion as told by my pro detailing friends, and I've since tried 2 of the samples and the durability of this towel is not that great. But then again, most waffle weave towels are not as long lasting as regular mf cloths we use for removing polish/wax. That's just the way the cloth are weaved, which allows more water to be contained withing it's fibers. I've done a lot of tests on various mf cloth and just sharing my personal user experience, from a consumer's point of view instead of a seller/distributor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 I know, I also agree on the shorter lifespan of drying towel as compared to regular mf cloth. As long as it serve its function, we can live with its shorter lifespan. for our normal usage like once a week, it should still last us abt a year or 2 easily. BTW, when can i lay my hand on the #21. Eagerly waiting to try leh.. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelblue Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 Not sure bout the durability of wwmf , but my wwmf is almost 2 years and still working great Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie August 6, 2005 Share August 6, 2005 when are you coming downtown? I've just returned tonight so tomorrow is a good time... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...