Genie47 1st Gear April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 OK I have taken out my double platinum plugs for examination and they indeed still look very good for the 20k they have gone except for the fuel additive deposit I've seen. Our Chevies use DIS ignition. It is 1 coil for 2 plugs. There is a waste spark, dump spark or reverse firing. What happens is that the plugs fire twice. Once on the compression cycle and the other on the exhaust (no fuel to burn). What happens on the exhaust firing, the current is reversed. Many people have reported plugs with platinum or iridium only in the centre electrode wears out very fast. You need the plug to have a hard wearing centre electrode and platinum on the side as well to last long. Our ignition system wears down spark plugs very fast. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 I suppose that is bad design ? So this is applicable to the entire range of chevies ? Where you get all this nice infos about chevys cars ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 1, 2005 Author Share April 1, 2005 Yes all the GMDAT Chevies. I know the workings of the the DIS ignition system. The wear on the spark plug is higher. Either get double platinum (iridium centre/platinum side works as well) or keep changing at 10-15k intervals. FYI, many cars use DIS. Lately there has been COP designs but Chevies are not using it. Double platinums can use up to 100k km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie April 1, 2005 Share April 1, 2005 but wat is this Engine chevy using ? Seem like not entirely efficent nor outstanding. Is it some old school design ? not enough RND funds or tech sounding people to produce somthing like i-vtec or VVTI. :) but ho wmuch is a double platinums ? is it more cost effective to get 1 compare to an average of 9 to 10 sets of normal plugs ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 1, 2005 Author Share April 1, 2005 (edited) You don't get bigger sparks or improve fuel economy. You get to use them longer. PM Vtim on either double Pt or IrPt plugs. He got lobang. The engine design is old but reliable tech. It is not in the same league as VVTi or VTEC. Edited April 1, 2005 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spango Clutched April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 Hi! What brand / models exactly of these spark plugs to get for the Aveo? Are they easily available islandwide, or only our dear Mr Vtim has access to them? Is it easily to change the spark plugs? Would Starsauto change them for a reasonable fee? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 3, 2005 Author Share April 3, 2005 The plugs are NGK BKR6E11 equivalents. As long as they match to the specs of this plug, no problem. Changing plugs is as easy as changing the fuse on your 3-pin plug. Yes, Starsauto will charge for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 sifu, remember when you taught me how to change spark plug, you said must spray some lub on the plugs first before inserting them. what lub is that? WB40 can or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 3, 2005 Author Share April 3, 2005 OK I update you on this. Actually, spray WD40 not so great. If you like to remove them easier the next time round, coat the threads thinly with high temperature grease. It is those pink grease you see the mechanics use. BTW, I got the torque wrench already. I applied it this morning at 30Nm and the spark plugs still can turn! So our tightening still not good enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 not hand tighten still not tight enough? hmm... at 30Nm, can hand remove or not? i remember that time i turn until face green green... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 3, 2005 Author Share April 3, 2005 30Nm not that tough to remove. Still OK. Maximum plugs of our size with flat ring seats can take is 35Nm. My torque wrench is calibrated to 33Nm when set at 35Nm. So still safe and not so tough to remove. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched April 3, 2006 Share April 3, 2006 where to get the torque wrench for the spark plug? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 3, 2006 Author Share April 3, 2006 I have. No, you cannot borrow it. PM me your number or something so I can get over to your place to change the plugs. Charge is kopi. Yes, I need your engine cold. If your engine is still hot, charge additional tonic water so I scold you upside down. Then charge additional kopi for waiting for engine to cool down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched April 3, 2006 Share April 3, 2006 no, i mean where can i buy a torque wrench ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 3, 2006 Author Share April 3, 2006 It is around SGD150-180 a piece. Still interested? You can get it from that hardware shop at Tekka level 2. Japanese one. Will set you back 180 bucks. Mine a Britool from England. Costs me 155. Else, you can get those made in PRC or ROC ones that are selling in eBay. comes with 3/8" and 1/2" drives. Pretty value for money. Most going for US19.90 to 25 w/o shipping. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...