The classic case...

Divemaster

Sigh... my FC measured 7.9km/l yesterday. It's really disheartening since I've been really conservative on my driving style for this car. I'm on my 4th full tank since collecting the car.

The classic errectic fuel guage prob has surfaced after i switched from Mobile 2000 to Shell 92 from my 3rd refuel. Will be going back to Ubi to change the fuel switch and fix the wheel alignment tis friday. I wonder if resetting the ECU will help to improve the FC... [shakehead]

erm... i think the fuel guage going bonkers will not affect your FC... how'd you measure it?

For me i fill the tank to the absolute brim, travel until mabbe 3/4 tank, refill and calculate based on amount of petrol pumped vs odometer reading....

i think the method of measuring fuel consumption needs to be improved.

some pple measure it when the fuel gauge "E" lights up.

actually the correct way would be everytime pump to full, look at the litres and divide by the mileage. then reset the odometer. like that preempts gauge error.

Its normal lei , even afteri travel for 2000km , my FC still getting 7.9 [sweatdrop] ,

beside i am using ron98 [dead]

I measured it in this manner:

1. I travelled till almost empty and drive into Shell.

2. I filled up my tank to the brim on Shell 92 (58 litres).

3. Reset my Trip meter to zero.

4. Travelled for 426km (as reflected on my trip meter)

5. Refill petrol to the brim again on Shell 92 (53.71 litres filled)

6. Do the following calculation :

426km divide by 53.71 litres = 7.93km/l [shakehead]

I don't read from the fuel gauge as it's juz a guide. Plus since it's giving out errectic readings, I usually monitor my top intervals from my distance travelled.

Ur number is very high.

I was fortunate or unfortunate to be able to drive both the auto and manual version.

My manual ride is getting ave 12km/l. I had the auto for 2 working days....and within these 2 days, travelled less than 100km but the fuel reduced by 1/4 !! The auto version mileage was ard 22k,,so engine should have run in...though have to admit,, I did floor the pedal a few time to test the optra's response.

plus you must pump yourself to hv consistence. some uncle stop at "click", so uncle push and push, some uncle push until overflow...

why don't you try pumping 95 or 98? i don't tend to trust 92 even though its the minimum ron required for our cars..

last time i used 92 i was gettin 400km a tank and thats very little for me..

Yes... I also thought of that. I suspect RON92 isn't very "friendly" wif my ride. My next full tank wld be Shell 98. I've been sworn by some frenz tat it does give better mileage. It's juz tat for the diff of $0.15 per litre betw 92 and 98, 98's increased mileage might not necessarily be cheaper unless the difference in mileage is very substantial [dizzy]

I am still getting around ~8+km/L.. now 17K km liao.. sian... big diff between auto and manual... [:/] hmmm... anyone change from Auto tannery to Manual? COst?

well for my ride, spc98 is not bad, i tried shell 98 once, the petrol flew down quite fast, not sure why also [:|]

I understand from the history reports in this forum that RON95 creates havoc on our rides, that's y i'm avoiding it...

I am 18,000+ km now. I am getting between 9.5km/l to about 11km/l depending on how pedal heavy I am. Most of the time, I am the 1st one off the traffic junction. I am using Shell 98.

BTW, I am driving a black Optra 1.6 auto just like you, so I think you should see improvement leh, unless your rims are bigger or heavier [sly] . I am using the stock 15" sports rim.

Edited by Tkew

should be, i pump 4 consective tanks of ron95 when fuel guage problems happens. now back 98 oso no used must fix when go scv. not used to see fuel needle at Emply where mileage only at 300km