Active Subwoofer

Simhup

Thanks bro, was planning to go there since they are Pioneer authorised dealer. I saw from your signature, you have a TS-WX22A active subwoofer? Is it good and how much did you get it for?

I dun remember Sony have active subwoofer leh...

If I am not wrong the Pioneer active sub is one of the better ones around, adequate for a 8-incher - but seriously if u really want deep bass, have to get a proper sub.

I now have a 12-inch and the active sub is in cold storage [nod]

Expect to pay around $400/00 plus for the Pioneer - u can get it cheaper elsewhere, but I happen to like the service at Sin Kit. May be going down there in the evening to fit a grille for my current sub.

Will PM u my HP separately.

There is at least 2 Sony active sub models - go there & see lor! Cheaper than the Pioneer, but performance wise I not sure.

I'm not those into deep bass ah, got some bass in the music enuff liao. Actually now I'm using a small Kenwood active subwoofer in my Jazz oready. Wanna install 1 in my company pickup u see.

I have read from other forums that the worksmanship there is not so good, e.g. wiring is not done and covered up properly...is it true? I'm not sure coz I have only been there to change a HU for $20.

I'm looking for those slim type that can put behind the seats, is the Sony ones u mentioned like that? Anyway, I will go down to check it out. However, I can't make it 2nite coz need to work late. Good luck and thanks!

Edited by Fcw75

I thot that I did not require deep bass too - but finally still ended up with a 12-inch sub [laugh][laugh]

The workmanship there is OK - and reasonable for its price - I think [:)] definitely not the best around - I have seen some very nice set-ups but they costs a bomb [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Anyway - u don't have to worry too much about installing just an active sub lah [pirate]

The sub can only be as slim as the actual speaker driver plus a little bit for the enclosure - the Pioneer is about 4 or 5 inches thick [flowerface]

some advise for you.

If you had quite a good HU (like >50Wx4 output, with sub output and seperate sub-woofer control) and you dont intend to EVER install an AMP, then go and get the Active Subwoofer. With some tuning, you may get respectable bass.

If you plan to buy AMP in the future, better save the money for a proper setup (ie AMP + sub-woofer - may it be tube or box).

The AMP setup will upset all your active subwoofer configuration, making them nearly "invisible" to the ear.

Hi Guys,

So sorry to digged up last year stuff and revived it again [laugh]

I'm going down to Sin Kit tml to install CDT-61 and porbably do some SP for my front doors (wink at headshok). Darren has indicated that with the SP, the bass will be better in terms of mid-delivery [thumbsup]

Also in his shop, saw this Steelmate model. He told me this is made in China and cost 200 plus. Any bros here have used this steelmate? I told him that once I get more money, will think of getting an active-sub to beef up my bass. My HU is Sony GT-550, (54WattX4) with an sub output. I'm not into hard bass, but good enough to enjoy J-chou's R&B music.

[drivingcar]

Cool. Thks mate [wave]

China branded stuff...everywhere also have nowadays...even can design and build rockets (with people) and blast them to the moon [laugh]

Hopefully won't regret buying it next month (If i have the $$$ or someone sell to me cheaper) [lipsrsealed]

You can also ask Darren about the Sony or Pioneer active sub - believe that both are better than the Steelmate.

Pricewise believe that they are a bit more than the Steelmate though. [:)]

Don't discount stuff just because they are made in China - our current Exile Amp is made in china hor... [sly]

Which exact model?

Try the Bazooka new 200W version. 8200

Set u back around $560 I think.

Box and tubes have different feel for bass.

Tubes are good for Kick bass. Box are good for more extended bass.

Rgds

Hi Bro,

Apology for digging such an old thread but since someone brought it up and I'm looking for one... Any comments between the Bazooka 8200 which you have mentioned VS BASSLINK X

Self-Amplified Subwoofer System?

Any idea how much is the Basslink x?

I'm nuts about ICE stuff and wouldn't want to spend a bomb on too many stuffs.

Would appreciate some advise.

Cheers [:)]

The 200+, does it include installation? I was at Pin Liang and I think he showed me a Steelmate also but was quote ard $350, inclusive of installation.

Was looking at the Blaupunkt Velocity, Pioneer TS-WX22A and the Bazooka also.. All active Sub..

Me saw a Subwoofer that can put below the driver's sit in Hotstuff mag but dun know if the bass is ok?

wat's brand, power ..etc