Active Subwoofer

Simhup

Me first time attending ICE meetup too [flowerface]

Got lots of stuff to ask the seniors...

I will be there about 9 plus 10 pm... got to bring my mum to Kim Tian (chinese medicine hall) to fix her arm first [smallcry]

Still active in all these games huh? You still go bowling?

SMS u 2nite lah...and if possible, show me your Perth picture leh [bounce2]

Okie will sms. wink.gif

Yup still bowling, in fact just resumed my league, but yday nite was horrible. thumbsdown.gif Knee was painful n after 2nd game totally out of control.

As for the pics never print only save on computer. Let me see wat I can do.

When next mj session? sly.gif Or wash n wax session? laugh.gif

Hope to see you again - sorry I can't remember all your names/nicks - old liao [:p]

Will be driving my own car this meetup!

Simple setup again - no eq, no TA! So do not expect too much! [thumbsup]

Cheers!

Find one weekend go bowling lah.... you out of control ...hmm is it right hand right leg like few years back [laugh][laugh]

MJ cannot liao...CO banned!!! Too late and too noisy leh... [lipsrsealed]

Wash N wax can do also... u intro me how to use clay bar okie?

Will drop by to your MSCP next weekend for wash and shine [flowerface]

laugh.giflaugh.gif U kena banned shocked.gif.

Come my place lah, actually wifey tot of learning so may just the 4 of us sly.giflaugh.gif

Wash & wax, not a problem. But nowadays weather is shakehead.gif. Its really a long time no see, need to catch up. wink.gif

Hi Bro,

Today went to look see look see the Basslink X and II... then was shown the Steelmate which is from China.

I wasn't really looking at that until I was told that Basslink have move their manufracturing arm to China and that both Basslink and Steelmate are actually from the same factory. And being China, they always make copy of it, thus out came the steelmate.

I wonder if there's any truth in this and if it is really true, I think steelmate would be the better choice since it's 200+ cheaper.

For the steelmate model which i was subsequently looking at, it came with a built-in Amp that can be used to power the front speaker.

Can any brothers/expert here advise on this steelmate brand?

If u are interested in listening to the Pioneer active sub - I have access to a car with it installed.

If u want to listen to a passive sub-woofer set-up, can also try it out in my ride. [sly]

Join us for the meetup tomorrow!

Bro,

So sorry to have miss today's meetup. Was in meeting til 11+... [:/]

During lunch time, I went around to look at the Basslink and steelmate which I was told that they are both from the same factory. Do you have any idea on this steelmate?

Cheers [:)]

How about the new Kenwood KSC-SW1

KSC-SW1.jpg

Features Highlights

Passive Radiator System for Down-Sizing

Aluminium Die-casting Back-Frame and Front Aluminium Plate

Dual Voice Coil

1 RCA Input & Speaker Level Input for Easy Up-grade

Supplied with Wired Remote (6m; Gain/ Low-pass Filter Freq./ Phase Switch)

Supplied with Mounting Brackets (for Vertical & Horizontal installatin)

Supplied with a RCA cable (0.5m) and Power Cable (1.5 + 5m for Extension)

Its now 150 watts (Same as the Pioneer and Alphine)

Anyone tested ?

Wah nice design man [thumbsup]

Wonder what kinda bass it produced [sly]

Steelmate bery heavy man...does it mean heavier a woofer, better it's bass?

Great to be there at the meetup yesterday nite....

However, I go home got to kneel on durians ! [shakehead]

Those guys who were there during my own intro should know lah [laugh]

P.S. Headshok...I still owe you one kopi....

I asked ard for Kenwood products that time when lookin for subwoofer, no shops seem to carry them anymore. 2 shops told me they moving out of car audio market here.

One of my friend have this (i think, look similar) and he brought it in from US.

One side is active and the other is passive whereby the active will push to the passive (or something like that, me still very layman)

I think it's quite hard to find one in Singapore. Where did you see this?

Comparing this to pioneer, I think the latter is still better.

just my 2cents, let the expert comment further

Bro,

So sorry to have miss today's meetup. Was in meeting til 11+... [:/]

During lunch time, I went around to look at the Basslink and steelmate which I was told that they are both from the same factory. Do you have any idea on this steelmate?

Meetup was on Wednesday nite [:)]

Understand that the Pioneer active sub is better than the Steelmate - no "oomph"

Don't know about the Basslink [flowerface]

If you want to listen to the Pioneer sub - just let me know!

Thanks for the offer... i have personnelly sample the pioneer's active sub and was satisfied by it. [thumbsup]

Was itchy backside and look at the steelmate. Not the flat type but the one that was very similar to the basslink II. It even come with a separate built-in 2 Ch amp that can be used power the front component. This 2 Ch amp is in addition to the Amp for the woofer.

For basslink II, I would need to purchase a separate add on Amp module. Total cost would bring it cost to 1K [sweatdrop]. That steelmate was around $550 for everything.

Once again, thanks for your offer and I really appreciate your advise and comments.

Not sure if this is easily found in audio shops but comparing this to the Pioneer, I think pioneer is still much better (comments from my friend owning the kenwood to the friend having the pioneer) [:)]

I believe that for about $500 budget - possible to get proper sub w/ amp. Much better option (soundwise) than active sub unless you have space constraint.

ya, I do have space constrait.

Audio Edge seems to offer a much better price to me for the Pioneer Active Sub.

Any comments on this shop?