The power of Aircon

Benson

all the while knew that Aircon zap power from the car, esp the auto ones, never realise how much till that day...

the weather was so hot that i was prespiring all over, figured that switching on aircon might be bad for health, thus i didnt on the aircon. To my surprised, i founf that my AVEO sedan's power increased noticeably, at least 20% more. The engine was more receptive to the accerlator and i could pick up or increase speed for overtaking easier.

pity that you have to sacrifice comfort for that power...

Accounts for 21% of fuel consumption. Imagine running around w/o it. Your car gains 21% more from petrol! shocked.gif So if you got a nice 10km/L, you will add 2.1km/L more bring about 12.1km/L. That is freaking a lot!

err... u can tahan not to on the air-con, Homat senja ta...I salute you. [thumbsup]

I almost got roasted [sunny] last week while driving with aircon on. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

[sweatdrop]

[thumbsdown] i also realise dat when driving n i don on de aircon...den when i do on it...de power feels different.it feels like de engine is working harder to move de car.very jialat leh like dat... [sweatdrop]

Then you should homat senja ta to all our army boys everyday because they are zooming around SG in their non-airconditioned vehicles everyday...! [sweatdrop]

i guess it is not just on the FC, but more on the additional power.

after that day, i have trying to drive without aircon. addicted to that raw power [laugh]

i just constantly tell myself that hot weather is all in the mind [sweatdrop]

when my mind is cool, so will my body....Ommmmmmpppp [sunny]

wonder if there is any energy efficent air con unit out there on the market. one that dun zap so much power.

get one of those desktop portable air-con. ok, not exactly air-con... more like a mist sprayer. just top up with cold water and switch on. battery operated.

more efficient? two different products so cannot compare but definitely cheaper than any air-con out there and doesnt take power away from the car's engine tongue.gif

thought i saw ntuc (the supermkt) selling before... $20+ only rolleyes.gif

ai ya, dun say liaosh, my car aircon a little worrying. must tuen to 3x in the day and 2x if the sun is not bright. can hardly go at 1x, else might as well open windows. This mist spryer maybe can use as an enhancement. But power wise should be normal ac right ? car cannot use.

My friend used to drive a really old car something similar to Mr Bean's car. Everytime he needs to 'Chiong' red light, overtake or get ready to move off from a stationary position he will turn off his air-con. [hur][hur][hur]

Back then I asked him why he did that, he says it gives him more power. I really pity him cos he was like busy with the manual gear and turning his air con on and off throughout the whole journey. (Looks like 'kan cheong' spider) [nod]

Sad to say he has already [angel] ...

i am not familar with Chevrolet.

but you can try to heat shield the air con pipe like what they did in the air con pipe at home. The air-con will be cooler and lesser power used by the Engine. I did on my previous ride and i gain -2-3 degree by doing that.

Do take note that you dun shield the wrong pipe as it will be damage the air-con system.

super addicted to the power when switching off air-con

thus nowadays been driving w/o aircon whenever i can, eg morning to work, evening back home, after rain etc.

the feeling is extremely different, more power, better start-up, less drag feel.

so much that i been pondering the idea of getting a small fan that works on car power outlet in order for me to drive during the day... haahahahaha

Hi Benson, it is not practical to drive on SG road without aircon - apart from the heat, you will have to contend with:

1) noise from lorries, buses, and especially those 2-stroke bikes on major highways on peak hours - you will not be able to enjoy (a)a peaceful & quiet drive or (b)your favorite music ©your quaility time/conversation with your passengers.

2) dust that shorten your life and dirty your car interior

3) bruised ego arising from the fact that you're a miser - having bought a car that comes with aircon but not using it despite the heat of the day.

Despite the above, I do admit that I sometimes switched off the aircon when I know that I'll be going to JB to fill up [:p]

Hi Madman:

1. noise - i am kinda okay with the noise level i am getting, if too quiet i would fall asleep while driving :P

2. Dust - mostly i do so in the early morning or late evening, the dust condition still bearable, but whenever i hit the a jam, i would use air-con

3. Ego - huh? if i really that bother by how others look at me, i would go on bread-only meals and save all that money to buy a Lexus or Merc.