Run-in

I dun rev more than 3k rpm for the first 1k km.

I engage higher rpm after 1k servicing. about 3 to 4k rpm.

The wear and tear is higher during the first 1 km so recommend not to rev to high. Just drive normally. Keep less than 3k rpm for the first 1 km.

Strange to say my 1st tank seems to give better FC. Around 10.5km/l

Second tank gives slightly less than 10km/l. [smallcry]

Wonder if the tyre pressure made a diff. When i went to the petrol station for second tank, i pumped the tyres and realised a whopping 240+ - 260+ pressure as compared to the recommended 210 in the manual. [shocked] Quite uneven pressure in all 4 tyres also.

So i realigned all tyres at pressure 230. but somehow FC went down. [thumbsdown] But might not be related at all. [:/]

No problem lah. OK CLTR 5W40 is just right for the job.

All thanks to your recommendation. Thats why I quickly swipe the CLTR off the shelf..at $29.90.

This product really protect like Mobile, RP or Amsoil..thumbsup.gif

I pumped 250 for all 4 tyres. The higher the pressure, the less rolling resistance to the tyres, the better your FC but the longer your stopping distance. BUT, depend on individual's ride.. I got 4 disk brakes, so my stopping distance is shorter than most cars...

Edited by DarkLord

When you got FC like mine lorz! sly.gif

Just kidding! laugh.gif

I can manage about 13 to 14km/l..

though still cannot compare to your 20km/l.

Think my engine still ok....

I understand what u mean. But do u think high rev after 1000km but before servicing is ok? Cost will be a week late for 1st K servicing, but feeling [sly]

If your dealer don't use those huge lorries to carry your new car around, it would have been ran-in by those professional run-inners who drove your car from the docks to whereever it needs to go before you collected your car.

You are indeed wise...having known the unseen and know it you did...says Yoda.. [laugh]

Car no need run-in , run-in it had been....says Yoda again...but it wasn't by you as the first owner but by a unseen force...hahaha [laugh]

It does have magnesium in it. Some engines don't like magnesium as antiwear. Since yours is an Aveo and looking at my report, nothing happened to it, it is OK.

Better not. Cos the metal debris from the new engine is still in the engine oil. Better to drain them out first before u try higher rev.

Hee! [thumbsup] I'm driving a chevy optra. 4 disc brakes too.

Next time i will pump to 250 too. What is the size of ur wheels?

Mines a 15".

I drive like guniang just to squeeze out that pitiful 14km/l...

Some more yours auto right? Mine manual..

Looks like korean and Japanese still have a big gap...

I got a question here:

For the dudes here who follows the 1k run in rule, do u:

1)start engaging in high revs after 1k even before 1k servicing?

2) engage in high revs only after 1k servicing?

Is there a diff? Pardon this noobie [blush]

no 2 generally. but dun always do it lor.. occassionally can, when u wanna jio the car next to u [laugh]

It does have magnesium in it. Some engines don't like magnesium as antiwear. Since yours is an Aveo and looking at my report, nothing happened to it, it is OK.

Good to hear that...thks for the clarification..

how do you run-in your new car?

i think most owners manual will state the recommended run in mtd for the particular model/brand.. check if its stated in your manual. generally, distance to run in is abt 1k km, during which its good to avoid high revs, n avoid speeding above 90-100km/h. after which some mfg may recommend svcing at 1k km (cxxxc i think).

for mine its the first 5k, 10k ,15k [:)]

Definitely not more than 20km/l lorz..

Korean still have some good years ahead to improve their engine technology compare to the Jap.