Osiris 1st Gear May 13, 2005 Share May 13, 2005 tell me where to see the brand of the alternator, i see if i can see it on my stock one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Golfer Neutral Newbie May 13, 2005 Share May 13, 2005 Hi thanks for the heads-up. All along uses TC Ubi. 1,000km/5,000km/10,000km servicing. Mechanic is responsive and taught me how to program remote as my remote failed at 10,000 km. Reason: Drop too often. Didn't change anything except for side mirror loose. Will take note during my 20,000 km servicing. So far, they have been quick in responding to my email and other enquires. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 13, 2005 Share May 13, 2005 Maybe...what I am saying is that manufacturer dun make a lot of the parts that is in the car one....all are sub out to other company to make cos it makes no economical sense to make every single part in the car unless you can sell it for millions then handbuild also nevermind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched May 13, 2005 Share May 13, 2005 Yes, I agree that most of the parts might not have Nissan name on it. Some will have Nissan's name but are still OEM stuff. As I am aware that Hitachi supplies a lot of alternators to Nissan. I was just trying to see if the one in question is from Hitachi. It might be exactly the same part other than the name is not Nissan. I am also aware that Nissan do replace faulty parts with re-manufactured ones as mentioned in my earlier post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 13, 2005 Share May 13, 2005 Hi pals,please beware of the parts that are changed during warranty by dealer! i am driving a sunny, and when my alterator has problem during warranty, send to dealer to check and they change out the faulty part. Did not realise that it is a cheong part until recently! so guys pls keep a lookout of the parts that are changed or they will accuse us of voiding the warranty when they are the ones! do u mean alternator??? cheong nevermind...sekali its recond one...worst still... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear May 14, 2005 Share May 14, 2005 i just realise recently when i changed my battery, my mech told mi that this a non-OEM part which make me dammed pissed off! anyway i lost my recipt as it is quite some ago! my point is that i want to let u guys be cautious when they are servicing cars under warranty! u may never know what kind of antics they can perform! claimed back a new original set back!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dreamofu Neutral Newbie May 14, 2005 Author Share May 14, 2005 actually if i am not wrong, the originial alternator is make by hitachi (but printed with the nissan name, heard it fron someone quite some time back. but anyway, my point is that considering that there are so many sunnby on the road, my guess is they may cut cost by all means and maybe this is one of the ways loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 14, 2005 Share May 14, 2005 No point banging table if you do not know how the industry warranty claims works. Warranty is applicable only to component failure due to manufacturing defects or mis-installation. Normall wear and tear do not apply. Sellers normally will word thier warranty in such a way that they will repair and make good to original condition or replace with new component whichever is applicable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 14, 2005 Share May 14, 2005 Car manufacturers are actually assemblers, they source thier components all over the world from specialist component makers.There are only less than four( if I recall correctly) Japanese alternator and starter makers. There are other makers in US, Mexico, China etc etc that do not supply direct to car makers.They are the aftermaker component suppliers.They imitate the OEM componets and sell their products through part distributors. With the green movement getting stronger everyday , recycle components or remanufacuted components are getting bigger and bigger slice of the component replacement market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 15, 2005 Share May 15, 2005 Hi pals,please beware of the parts that are changed during warranty by dealer! i am driving a sunny, and when my alterator has problem during warranty, send to dealer to check and they change out the faulty part. Did not realise that it is a cheong part until recently! so guys pls keep a lookout of the parts that are changed or they will accuse us of voiding the warranty when they are the ones! Wah... this is a big thing.... think you'll need to show some proof... for verification... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Draven Neutral Newbie May 20, 2005 Share May 20, 2005 Wah.. Mine didn't say hitachi but instead it says Mitsubishi.. sxxt.. tomorro 2nd servicin liao.. now I'm getting paranoid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 Maybe I haven't seen them all but I've never seen a car alternator with a car brand. Alternator like many other parts eg. shocks, radiator, ABS computer, wipers, air-con compressors, are all manuafactured by one of the major automotive parts makers, eg sanden, nippon-denso, bosch, tokico, kyb, blah blah blah the list goes on. It's unlikely they'll even give it a nissan tag. cos that same alternator you use, might be used in many other cars as well. Honestly, even if the alternator they changed is NOT THE SAME BRAND, like from hitachi to say denso, so-what? For all you know, it might be a problem they've fixed cos the original part is weaker and fails, so they change to another one with less problems. It might be a problem fix, not a cost-cutting or mistake! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 But...but.. where is the brand ? No brand, not comfortable lah. If my wallet has these alphabets "LV", very siok lah ! No "LV" and you try to tell me this is better, how can ? response from a brand conscious SG consumer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 Dunno about you but being science and engineering trained. If no brand works, good. No brand, cheaper and works, better. If no brand, expensive and broke down, I chop off your head. I trusted the workshop for the engineering services. The head I chop will definitely be yours. Try anything funny, I become Obi-wan chop off both legs and hand in one go. Engineering and fashion isn't exactly the same thing. It has to work for the speculated time of service. That is the bottom line. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...