HELP! Coolant reservior empty

Johnchong

Need some help here.

I just happened to open the bonnet, only to discover green stuff splattered over the engine bay, esp on the fan area.

Then I checked my coolant reservior tank, it's almost empty! Strangely, the temperature gauge on the dash doesn't show any abnormality.

How?

the reservoir is like backup. so may not show symptom on temp gauge.

i still think it is leakage somewhere. and the temp gauge sensor may have some prob - does it move??

Ya, the temp gauge does move. You're referring to slowly rising after start up rite...

I tot of filling it up with some coolant as a temp solution. Tmr then go workshop. can?

the same thing happened to me during my last PG trip. during rest time, open up the bonnet to cool down the engine, saw water gushing out from the coolant compartment. the cap is loose and flipped open by itself.

need to secure the cap tightly and top up the compartment to the right water level.

perhaps u need to fill up ur tank again. any idea wat sort of coolant u r using ?

ensure the cap is tight and top up the reservoir tank near to full mark.

if u free, on engine and check for any leakage.

then if ur temp guage moving, shd be still working.

shd be still able to tahan to workshop tomrrow.

Both the reservior and radiator caps looks secure to me. However, there seems to be greenish residue along the top of the cooling fins, just below the coolant pipe.

Dunno wat coolant leh, we alwiz just send for servicing, let the mechanic do everything.

i was hoping for u it's the hose, tat would hv been hell cheaper. piping means the radiator? jialat.... there r temporary measures like radiator leak additives. but u'll need permanent fixes.

heard from my frenz his once got choked...his mech helped to clear the chokage. after that ok liao.

for me, my radiator got leakage, changed a new one $100 with installation.

this coolant u bought, is it of a certain colored liquid ?

i was thinking if to replace the water with coolant, means gotto flash out the entire reservoir and the radiator oso. then top up the radiator with water and the reservoir with coolant ?

anybody can help with the sequence ?

Edited by Linus

Need some help here.

I just happened to open the bonnet, only to discover green stuff splattered over the engine bay, esp on the fan area.

Then I checked my coolant reservior tank, it's almost empty! Strangely, the temperature gauge on the dash doesn't show any abnormality.

How?

Wait for the radiator to cool and remove the cap and check to see if its corroded. It sometimes happen. Otherwise there is a choke somewhere.

But normally, what do pple put in the reservior tanks? Should be half water, half coolant I heard...