HELP! Coolant reservior empty

Johnchong

Hmm, think rubber seal gave way, but the whole pipe was replaced...

Btw, how can radiator only cost $100? Recon?

OK , they are using epoxy to glude the upper tank and radiator body.The upper tank must be of PU plastic. This separation of upper tank and radiator body is common with plastic component radiator.

i believe it is a recon one..it looks very new and the top pipe is brand new. the price is way low for new one.

which mech u referring who bungle up job??? my regular mech?sly.gif

I was refering to the earlier post about your mech bungling up the repair. I mistook it to b simon. [confused][laugh][laugh][laugh]

I had a similar problem some time back. The horizontal joint had given way. The metal clips along the joint had rusted away.

I replaced the damaged radiator with a re-con one. Has been ok for about 4 years now. [thumbsup] My cost was about $100 plus if I remember correctly.

Actually do many pple go for recon parts nowadays? I mean not just radiator...

Cuz we always tend to go for new parts. Last time replaced aircon coil also...

recon parts are cheaper...however as they are used parts but reconditioned, it may last as long as original parts.

of course getting original parts are best, provided u r willing to fork out that much $$$

You may consider that the "re-con or 2nd hand" parts u get r actually much better quality than what u get from the spare parts shops nowadays.

Many parts don't come from Japan anymore & those that do might not b of as good quality as what is supplied to the factory.

And on top of that, new parts here cost very high.

Oh crap... $$$ bigcry.gif

Thanks for the advice anyway.

go to an honest mech to check. even my regular mech anyhow diagnose when i got high temp issue and leaking coolant problem. and advice me to do a top engine overhaul to change the gasket - $400-$500...siao.

A second opinion was due to: leaky rubber hose (abt $10+), change recon temp housing ($58) and radiator fan motor denso brand new ($90)- resolved the whole prob.

where to buy the denso fan motor?

Oh crap... $$$ bigcry.gif

Thanks for the advice anyway.

go to an honest mech to check. even my regular mech anyhow diagnose when i got high temp issue and leaking coolant problem. and advice me to do a top engine overhaul to change the gasket - $400-$500...siao.

A second opinion was due to: leaky rubber hose (abt $10+), change recon temp housing ($58) and radiator fan motor denso brand new ($90)- resolved the whole prob.

where to buy the denso fan motor?

If I'm not mistaken, I think Xtraun got it from one of the shop at Yew Tee Industrial Estate.wink.gif

my old civic also always kena such prob...first is radiator leak..then hose leak..not one but duno 2 or 3 hose leh

they replaced with used parts from scrapyard..but dun really last long..see heng suay 1 ..suay suay get one bad condition den siao liao....

the mech told me dun anyhow use coolant...last time me duno poured whole bottle green coolant into my radiator and reserve tank..den top up with abit tap water...mech said the strong "acidic" coolant can "bite" the hose causing it leak sweatdrop.gif

still rem the agony ..drove halfway temp needle rose up to MAX red line sweatdrop.gif stopped car immediately..saw green liquid below my car...

Edited by Spikedoll

Reminds me of my army days when I brought lots of bottles filled with tap water when driving their mini-bus! There was this mini-bus, although the workshop claim that its not leaking, after 10Km+ the water somehow start to disappear, and finally found out the cause of it -> the cap wasn't tight anymore...