Skoda Superb

Svtfocus

Hi Guys,

I'm starting to look around for a new car, and want to ask your honest opinion (isn't it always? [rolleyes] ) on the Skoda Superb, especially first hand opinions from current or past owners.

Hi Guys,

I'm starting to look around for a new car, and want to ask your honest opinion (isn't it always? [rolleyes] ) on the Skoda Superb, especially first hand opinions from current or past owners.

I have been driving for 5 months. So far no complaint. I find the cabin quieter than Passat 1.8T during test drive...not sure why. May be the sound insulation or the wheel sets are better. [;)]

My comments on Superb with my limited vocab on cars...

Beside having a 10cm longer wheelbase (mostly on back seat legroom), you get a backrow air-con outlet as well. The door is solid heavy as usual on continental car. The only complaint I have for cabin is the foot rest for left foot - movement constraint (may be it is designed originally for left hand drive). The chasis also appeared to be too close to the legs.

Interior furnishing is abit inferior to Passat and other continental car. My door panel for backdoor dropped off and they couldn't even get it fixed due to non-stocking of holding clips. It was fixed temporarily with super-glue till the stock arrived. I also found that the panels easily get dirty with white marks upon light hitting, but it is easily cleaned off with a wet cloth.

Power wise, it is pretty good especially after Revo (ECU flashing). The tiptronic does a great job when over-taking. Driving at 200km/h along NS highway felt very comfortable and stable.

Don't quite like Czeh Auto servicing...simple 5km servicing take up whole day. I remember sending my Nissan car for 10km servicing and it only takes less than 3 hours job. I hope they setup their own servicing center instead of sharing with VW.

On the whole still quite happy with the car - the most important of all, it is unique and not so common like "Casio" watch...just analogy...no bad intention...I myself own casio watch. [sly]

Also...you must get over the brand tag mindset and like the car because of what it is...not who it is.

Cheers [thumbsup]

So is Casio unique or not?..I dun realli know wat u are trying to say...why dun u say "not so common like corollas or vios"..u comparing a car to a watch?/!!

also.wat do u mean by " the chasis also appeared to close to the legs?"

i did manage to test drive the superb a few month back... and i have to say its quite value for money provided u look over the brand thing... i love the solid build... but heard of the cannot make it servicing... wont go wrong with this car...

Superb will definitely be on my short list once I get rid of my current ride.

SOOOOOOO luxurious and not too expensive.

Don't care about the brand. I just think of it as a mutated Passat.

Edited by Darth_mel

test driven 1.8t superb twice in a day, it is a

indeed superb...comfort,speed,handling. CA has a

test car for sale $88k, worth the consideration.

but its silver.

i cant afford it, just too bad [smallcry]

Ya la...Casio watch also very common like Corollas, Vios mah... [;)]

I mean the knee is qutie closed to the hard points. Fortunately, the steering wheel allows you to pull outward abit (2 directional-in/out, up/down), which you can then pull the seat back to avoid this situation.

However, just like to highlight to you the comment by Euro NCAP...though I felt qutie sad about it...but bought liao lor...so no choice... [bigcry]

http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_rat...p?id1=3&id2=150

Thanks for the replies guys!

Superb is definitely on my short list now.

Btw, I've been told that the "exclusive" model should be arriving in SG before the end of the year... Dunno what's the pricing going to be, but indicative has been $30k above standard model!!

[jawdrop]

Edited by Svtfocus

They did bring in Elegance before... but was sold off if I'm not wrong... $30k more to smell smelly feet and for an unbrella holder is obscene [dizzy]

[reply]

Btw, I've been told that the "exclusive" model should be arriving in SG before the end of the year...

You mean the 'Elegance' model. Yep, it's $30k above the classic. Tot that is per indent basis?