Help! My poor tire!

Zyrofillica

Regardless of ur driving habits, ur 4 tyres r the only surface in contact with the road when braking (ie. about 4 playing card size surface) for ur 1 tonne vehicle. Dun think about saving $$$ for something so important. If ur tyres give way, the repair bill for ur car will be a lot worse, not forgetting potential injuries or deaths.

While all of us will like to save $$$, try not to gamble on tyres as it is a matter of life and death.

Like what some bros mentioned, if ur spare tyre is the same size, do a swap and use the repaired tyre as spare. If not, then u should change the damaged tyre even if it has low mileage.

[pirate]

Agree, your thoughts of safety are great. The surface between the road and tyres are the only means, absolutely.

Maybe you can enlighten the technical fundamental to the safety on these effects.

Heard a lot from tyres seller (called them sellers not experts), but none seems to explain, even if it is spare and it cannot be use and yet needs to be used, cannot understand the concept, interesting......

Ivan

Properly patched up injuiry using the right rubber compound and corretly cured, the tyre is as good as new. When mending rubber patche and compound are properly cure, the repair is seamless and will not peer off like orange skin !!

sweatdrop.gif Wah Cheem. So many shops with uncles and aunties inside.... Buy thanks will try to find it. Btw wat do they sell laugh.gif (Tires I presume?)

No problem lah! I just got a screw in my tyre last Sunday. I went to the petrol stn to pump up. Went on to travel 60 km before sending it to the tyre shop to Por. No need internal patch also. They just insert a tendon-like sticky strip in. Hoe liao. Don't use the injection type. Boh Eng!

Edited by Fitvip

drive slowly to tire shop and ask them use tire patch, but if the metal wire support thinggy inside is damage u have to change to new tire...but remember no hard driving after u patch it...

Yup. But your reply to me???

The metal edge on the tyre, that helps keep the tyre in place on the rim is the bead.

If the patch is done properly & correctly, it sud not affect the quality of the tyre. The patch sud be fron the "inside out" for a very good patch.

Most shops will use a "needle" to push a rubber stopper into the hole. This is OK for normal road use but still not as good as the patch from inside the tyre.

While all of us will like to save $$$, try not to gamble on tyres as it is a matter of life and death.

Still no need for "overkill". Many pple go overboard in trying to maintain their expensive posession to the extent of using extremely overrated products for the family car.

Tires r important, but using a race tire for a family car??? U r getting all the disadvantages without any of the advantages.

Changing oils & fluids at half of the recommended intervals r a waste of money. Of course u get better protection, but maybe only very slightly so with a much higher price.

Workshops really love this kind of motorist, and if you look back when leaving the workshops, you'll probably see the mechanics having a good laugh. [confused]

U just need to follow the recommended instructions in your Owners Handbook.