Honda Airwave

Tploh

You mean you didnt went to your appointed workshop to get your 1st 1000km servicing done?

But outside workshop really charges much lesser.Now i am still deciding on whether to visit my appointed workshop (and get chopped) or outside workshop(void the warranty but cheaper).

Dear All,

Please join us at Singapore Honda Club www.shc-forum.com

Register and login, and you'll see our very own AIRWAVE Column.

Tons of info on our rides, activities and many AIRWAVERS here! Hope to see you soon! [thumbsup]

well, i spoke and clarified with the PI taht as long as i have record of the servicing done elsewhere, it will not void the warranty. maybe you can ask your PI.

All the more reason why we need to somehow get a copy of any translated manual....Or get a copy of the equivalent Honda Fit or Jazz 1.5 auto using the same L15 VTec engine and CVT trans, to guide us in the servicing thingy...

Thank you for your valuable input.

If RON92 can be used in airwave, it will further reduce my monthly fuel cost. I had been using RON98 for my first 1000km, the FC is about 13.7km/l. 70% highway, 30% city. What is your FC so for with RON92?

I agree with REDFOXX the PI appointed workshop charges more. I went for my first 1000km sevice, it cost me $55 just for the SPC mininal oil; which is so-called free labour. I believe they charge higher price for parts used to cover their labour free service. [mad]

Using RON 95 on first day, i rem it was about 13.5 km per litre. Thereafter been using RON 92, between 12.5 at lowest to 15.3 at best. 50% urban, 50% highway with 30% of highway crawling along at about 30kmh..ECP after Fort road between 7.45-8.00 am, evening sama sama, between 7 pm-8 pm...

Anyone who has experience driving the 7th generation (around Yr 2000-2004) Honda Civic 1.5 Vti Auto and the Honda Airwave and able to share your performance comprison of the two cars ?

From paper specifications, both cars seem to be similar in terms of Max Horsepower, Max Torque, external dimensions and weight.

However, this few weeks, I seem to be overtaking a couple of Airwaves in my Civic 1.5.

Not sure if it just happen to be my driving style or something else.

I'm concerned cause I've booked an Airwave... 2 more COE biddings to go.

I like to get a car that is at least same to my current civic's driving performance, if not better.... (class 2A car).

Like the boot space of Airwave and costs me less in terms of depreciation and monthly installment vs. my current civic.

My other consideration is the latest Generation Civic 1.6 but that does not help financially to reduce monthly installment vs. my current civic.

So not much advantage to change.

Praying that I have not made a wrong decision. else sian ......

Maybe if someone can share your experience, I still have time to change my mind, if need be ??

I dun drive a VTI 1.5, so cant advise you, but, if the tecs are the same, should run fairly similarly. Overtaking another car does not mean you are faster..i have overtaken Maseratis, Ferraris and Lamborgs b4, but i wun say I'm faster than them, its just they are driving slowly.. [:/]

In the Airwave, you got a good compromise between driveability, speed and space. All for a good FC and the price of a 1.5 L car. I've hit 120 kmh very easily without pushing the engine. Where else would you get a stationwagon/suv for this price? The nearest would be the Chevy Optra stationwagon 1.6, it has space but it such a dull car, low specs, thirsty engine and similarly priced to the Airwave.

Of course the new Civic 1.6 is superb but more expensive.

Maybe the airwaver drive slow tats why u can zoom them effortly laugh.gif

U booked than concerned? Does a stationwagon fit ur lifestyle or not.

Actually u can back out now if ur loan and COE not secured yet,but d/p not sure,i think bye bye liao

Don't worry abt your purchase. you'll like it. maybe Airwave owner just like to take it slow. I'm driving a airwave myself and doesn't feel slow for a 1.5L

Hi, Suv8, Route88, Klchua,

Thanks for your feedback.

I thought the driver was slow as well. But when I encountered at least 3 different airwaves, with male driver, female driver, probation driver....driving as though their Airwave couldn't keep up with the traffic flow, I started to get worried.

Maybe those who drive well I didn't get to encounter and catch up :)

I had a chance to test drive the Airwave within the PI's compound...prob around 20km/h. I thought the pick up performance was acceptable.

Certainly hope the car will not have difficulty keeping at speeds of 80-100km/h.

BTW, I ordered Airwave without the sky roof. Does this model come default with engine immobiliser ?

Hi hi.. yes, it should have the Engine Immobiliser... according to my PI lah.. and me too tested within the PI compound.. find the pickup not bad.. booked mine with moonroof... on the road, sometime I find the pple driving Airwave dun seem to be very used to its size.. and those that drive real slow are normal lady of older age... no offence to anyone... [laugh]

what? Airwave having diffculty keeping at speeds of 80-100 kmh? Sssshhh...dun tell the traffic cops but staying at 90 kmh is very difficult..because its too easy to drive at 100-120 kmh..! No straining engine, harshness, just smooth all the way. Perhaps its such a comfortable and good drive that most owners just wantt o crusie along and take a longer time to arrive [thumbsup]

but did have some trouble for a while reversing..rear view not so good. Tailgate too high. Then got reversing camera, still same problem. Now dunno where to look [:p] Pretty view of the road and rear view on TV, have to glance at side mirrors, rear-view mirors, eyeball sprain....

Thanks. Comforting to know won't have engine difficulty to maintain those speeds.

Planning to get the rear camera as well. Where is yours mounted ?

I've seen some cars mounted at rear bumper, in line with reverse sensor, line of sight parallel to road surface.

Also saw some carmeras mounted at the rear number plate area with tilting adjustment capability. I thought a position which can view for foreign object coming close towards the rear bumper would be helpful.

The Airwave looks long but from technical specs, it is marginally shorter than Civic 7th generation.... One of the reason I bought Airwave cause I'm one of those guys who occasional scratch my bumpers (so better avoid buying big car) which Airwave has not much of a rear bumber. Got to be extra careful when I reverse. [sweatdrop]

My rear-view camera's mounted in the centre of the rear bumper, between the 2 reversing sensors. View is good, wide-angled, looking straight at objects at bumper level, from left side to right side (objects at a distance of above 5 metres plus can be seen in full view.) bright and sharp enough to pick up a coin from the road behind. i think this position is better tan higher up, at the license-plate level.