Shell petrol incompatible with chevy??

Scorcher

Hi all,

I've got this ignition problem when sometimes the car just refused to start even i hold the ignition for more than 5s....

It just feel like the fuel pump not working as fuel are not going in...and sometimes even can hear a 'png' sound from the engine area before the thing start...

Sent the car to SA for two times, and they can't find any problem.... they think i too free to keep sending the vehicle there for nothing...

Only at the second time the tech ask me whether I've pump any shell petrol, and acconding to him, the car will encounter this problem onli if pumping with shell...

and i did sometimes pump shell v-power with the purpose of cleaning up the engine...

Is it really true that shell petrol will cause this problem with chevy?

The mystery goes on...

think better change to a fuel friendly car soon....

You mean you hear the starter motor running but your engine won't start...? I experienced that once... And I am on Shell petrol... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

ya... it happens sometimes once in a while...

The starter motor kept heeheeheehee.... but the engine csnnot start, no petrol goes in or won't ignite... Sometimes got 'png' sound like something being forcefully opened and the engine started like running outta puff.... what the crap.... [hur]

sxxt...yesterday i just pump shell 98 full tank for my picanto. this is my first time pumping shell, hope nothing will happen. but i do vaguely remember that there is one time when i start the car, it felt a bit strange...hope it's not like wat u say. i will still observe for a while more and see...

Hey, that was what happened to me once, early in the morning before I was to report back for my first day of ICT! And I just pumped a full tank of Shell petrol... [sweatdrop] Anyway, what happened was that I could hear the starter motor running when I turned the ignition, but the engine cannot start. Tried a few times before I stepped on the gas while turning the ignition... When I did that, the engine roared to life but the RPM dropped to very very low after I released the gas, and the whole vehicle vibrated like hell... [hur] Then I stepped on the accelerator a few more times before everything went back to normal. I even killed the engine and tried to restart - This time it is okay. So I tried driving around the carpark for a while to make sure the problem didn't come back. Till this day, I don't know what happened, but hope it won't happen again... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

BTW, I've seen the engine not starting problem in a Wira and Kancil that I sat in before... Maybe Chevys are in the same league as the Portons? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Haahaa... Maybe we should go to the Caltex / BP / Mobil / SPC / Petronas stations, ask them to help drain out all Shell petrol and pump their formula full tank? [sweatdrop]

hehe...now where still got BP? all bought over by SPC liao mah.... :)

anyway, maybe the problem is due to the special additive in the petrol which Shell claimed will increase the mileage??

hmm... ha...maybe i shall cease pumping with shell and see whether this problem still comes anot...

Could it be that u pump in 98 octane fuel instead of 95 octane? The Chevy engine's compression ratio is 9.5 and 95 octane will combust/ignite at this ratio. My hubby's logic is that pumping 98 octane, the compression ratio is higher. Hence the engine won't start... True or not?? [confused]

My ride suffered from high rpm for a few time...

meaning once started, the rpm will shoot to ~ 2000 rpm with no sign of reducing.

the problem was solved by reseting the MITA; and they had also replaced it couple of time. Yes,,they did asked which brand of petrol I am using.

SA will have to prove to us tat such allegation is true.

HAve yr change yr spark plug? starter problem should be more on spark plug and the cable. I have been pumping shell since the 1st day i took my car(7mths liao). always on 98(singapore) and v-power(onli in JB). Dun have any problem yet.

there is a rumour that the current batch of Shell petrol fail certain test but Shell dun care and ignore the failure.... so this few batches of Shell petrol might have problem with certain engine...

I notice the mileage of Shell on my car is also reducing... The engine noise is louder... after pumping Exxonmobil, the car quiet down and smoother drive...

I've oso encountered similar problem with Shell many months ago. Tried S'pore Shell92/95 and M'sia Shell Vpower/Premium(??), my Optra engine seems to have knocking sound, car mileage oso worsen (car is still on RON91 chip). So, now usually pump Esso/Mobil, whether 2000, 5000 or F-1 synergy(M'sia) oso no problem, smooth and fuel economy.

My mom had a carbon deposit problem recently and the guys from opel said that it might have something to do with shell as thats the only fuel she pumped.

Here in aust, I do not pump shell as the fuel quality is not as good. Their so called 98 octane optimax only has an average of 98 octane while the other companies have a min of 98 octane...