Sfhuang Clutched October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 But the 1998 crisis, i believe most ppl already learn their lesson already, why now so many burn fingers in stock again? I nv buy stock before and i am still a student when i'm in 1998 crisis hence i dunno how it work, dun flame me. Juz my personal view. Why so many burn fingers in stocks? It's got to do with human greed and gambling psyche. Many speculate, do day trades, contra, naked short, gamble with CFDs and all in all, they are just gambling but calling it by a nicer term: "investing". When Mr. Market is good, all these gamblers become rich and think they are experts. When Mr. Market turns for the worse (like now), these gamblers start to lose big, and emotions rule over rational thinking. Herd effect comes into the picture as well, fund managers sell down and all these "expert" investors panic and sell their pants off so as to cover their debts and borrowings used in purchasing their stocks. Some succeed, but many fail to cover back. For those poor souls, bye bye liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 blame on greed, scare and ignorance.. greed - see friends buy and win money, so wanna join in scare - that the money in the bank lose 8% to inflation, without knowing that its even higher risk going in blindly.. end up, losing even more. ignorance - dunno the underlying technicals and hop right in.. one example.. the structured deposits in lehmann... heard some people lost 100% ..like that ntux ceo said, some dunked 2-300k.. and these are normal salaried folks i also got burnt.. but (consolation is) i bought fundamentally sound companies.. so right now, my liquidity is deeply frozen.. until many years later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 Bro. if the companies are fundamentally sound and profitable, there's no harm holding on to the stocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 bro, at least u can wait n wait for it to grow back..at least few years down the road still got chance take back some are just cant wait...eager to sell to cut loss..si bei jiak lak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 investing still subset of gambling afterall but i feel people like to chase...especially see what friends doing or have..they follow in the trend..."wah market good ah,i also wan chiong make some $" that kind of mentality Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 (edited) wondering why with asian 2 economic pillars, india & china .... singapore could have fallen into recession ? wondering why with IR and F1, singapore could have fallen into recession ? Edited October 10, 2008 by Cheekg98 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 Before this meltdown: 6 months of saving for rainy days This meltdown: 12 months of saving for rainy days. dont be too negative lah.... economy always pick up..., after the Asian Financial Crisis, Dot Come Bust... etc.....u will felt a lot of pain like wage cut etc... or worse retrenchment. I remember during the Asian Financial crisis, my salary freeze 3 years...everybody work like zombie because scared kena retrenched. lesson - have at least 6 month saving for rainy days, don't over leverage in terms of debts, so if kena retrenched no need die die have to deleverage... this one very very painful. Lot of my friend lost a lot of money in property n stocks. some still stuck with property that they bought in 96/97 until now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 time to cut ministers pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 u actually believe what the old man say...... Sg wont be affected by US recession.......comon we dun need a rocket scientist to tell us that once US collapse, th rest of world wont be hit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angdao Neutral Newbie October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 Iceland kroner later become like rupiah..... i think should ask gic to buy over iceland..[lipsrsealed] like this singapore got 1 more island resort! Woot~ hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angdao Neutral Newbie October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 like that ntux ceo said, some dunked 2-300k.. and these are normal salaried folks i also got burnt.. but (consolation is) i bought fundamentally sound companies.. so right now, my liquidity is deeply frozen.. until many years later ahh..u sure being able to dunk 200 over k into the minibond translate to normal salaried folks? Then i think alot of us are very abnormal..lol. 200k is like dunking a 4 room flat in pasir ris or jurong! Hell..they are not normal salaried pple. Even if they are salaried, they are still not normal! lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 MIW will tell you to motivate our Mr. M, need to give better package so they will work harder to bring us out of this sxxt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 (edited) If spore IR and F1 can prevent a recession, i dunno why USA cannot prevent this financial crisis and need the 700 billion bail out, fed rate cut etc, they got Las Vegas and F1 too Edited October 10, 2008 by Curahee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched October 10, 2008 Share October 10, 2008 http://sadguysontradingfloors.tumblr.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear October 11, 2008 Share October 11, 2008 now Ministers telling pple IR may not save the economy if rich doesnt come to casino here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear October 11, 2008 Author Share October 11, 2008 hehehehe i agree, need more than 12 month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear October 11, 2008 Author Share October 11, 2008 Funny.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear October 11, 2008 Author Share October 11, 2008 What will happen to Mazda Motor... ??? TOKYO (AP) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...