A very good and detail explanation on how to parallel park a

Angelinasoul

I believe many Singaporeans on the street couldn't perform a parallel park or side parking very well. Here is one step by step on how to parallel park a car with detail explanation and pictures.

http://www.carsut.com/how-to-parallel-park-a-car/

Please share your idea to parallel park a car in better way if u have one.

I believe many Singaporeans on the street couldn't perform a parallel park or side parking very well. Here is one step by step on how to parallel park a car with detail explanation and pictures.

no

if u cant perform a parallel park then u need to go back to driving centre

i think Singaporean can park quite well...either reverse or parallel...

wat we are not good at is head in parking

no

if u cant perform a parallel park then u need to go back to driving centre

i think Singaporean can park quite well...either reverse or parallel...

wat we are not good at is head in parking

The reason being most of our car park lots are not design for head in parking....

please go back to driving school....... before u kill some1

Raymondism:

I have always seen people giving up doing parallel parking.

I have seen a few times number plate cracks or on the floor for cars parallel parked.

I have witnessed another few times on car hitting the car behind them.

You sure Singaporean are good at parallel park?

[wave]

Racing

Did TS ask for tips to do parallel parking?

Reading the whole sentence, TS seems to just share information only.

Why? see the nickname got girl name = confirm cannot park?

Don't every thing driving school driving school.

Driving school last time use poles to teach parking.

Do you come out from driving school and park with parking poles in your days?

Raymondism:

I have seen a few times number plate cracks or on the floor for cars parallel parked.

[wave]

Racing

stupid or what!?!?!?

i ask 4 person to stand around my car.

believe it or not it is impossible to 100% depend on theory without ur own feeling to do parallel park . parallel park u need to have a bit of agaration . there is no fcking way u can use 100% based on calculation n theory only . thats juz bull . unless u r telling u noe how many inch u move wif every turning arc u move or when u reverse . lolzz . in fact i do find kerb is my friend when comes to parallel parking . tats the clue :D . coz u c if u r going to follow every bit of lining depending on the car behind u or in front of u , then when the car behind u senget u oso gonna be senget . ppl in sg need to be flexible n loosen up . if everything oso go by the book then u will not move on .

Edited by Fd60

Raymondism:

[wave]

Racing

U dun drive overseas do u?

Of cos not everyone is at sane level...

wat i m saying is we are ok w parallel parking compare to our neighbours up north

Sometimes, I turn the car "front-in" first to chope the lot. Only used in dog-eat-dog situations like parking along the side of the one-way Syed Alwi Road (Mustafa) in congested conditions e.g. weekends. If you don't front in to chope the lot the moment a car in front leaves, the car/truck behind may just close up and act blur (sometimes so that he can take the lot, but many times because he's just a bloodyminded prick, the sort common in Sg). Since traffic behind you will quickly close up to become bumper-to-bumper, there's nothing you can do once this happens.

So I signal, stop, allow the outgoing car lots of room to exit, then swing the car into the lot, then countersteer to tuck my rear as much as possible into the lot. The car won't be neatly in the lot, but it affords enough time and space for all the other "predators" to give up and look for other lots. When there's a brief gap in traffic behind, I quickly swing out and back up to park properly.

Not really a technique per se, more of a defensive manoeuvre to prevent people from taking my lot. But I've also it also helps to park more easily in tight lots when cars are double-parked without much side room to manoeuvre. Especially when the car has a large turning circle. This helped when I drove my WRXs, which owners will attest has a rather large turning radius.

In "civilised" parking areas where the law of the jungle doesn't quite apply, I just park the normal way, because the guy behind will give you the time and space to line up your car properly.

i still rermember what they taught at the driving centre.

1. Align the car 0.5m away

2. turn wheel till lock and gostan until side mirror can see middle pole.

3. straighten steering wheel and gostan until front right pole aligned with a yellow triangle sticker on the windscreen.

4. turn and lock steering wheel and go in.

they wont even allow you to do it any other way. You must must do it their way and their way only.

Pretty much useless once you get a license. Just make sure your first car is a beat up secondhand car or go for their 'advanced' lessons [nod]

yep,

i think some bro pointed out,

my reverse parking i think i get 80points

parrell i think i 60points

head in, i think i 45 points only.

Raymondism:

[wave]

Racing

Many still drive with both hands in steering, hold tightly ... seriously, I don't know how they can survive a long distance drive that way... so tiring...

yep,

i think some bro pointed out,

my reverse parking i think i get 80points

parrell i think i 60points

head in, i think i 45 points only.

My reverse 90 pts (90% one time in, no need adjust..)

Parallel also 85-90 pts..( also seldom need to adjust due to wrong gap)

Head in is 100pts... why?.. because I'm a Malaysian.... [laugh]

Many still drive with both hands in steering, hold tightly ... seriously, I don't know how they can survive a long distance drive that way... so tiring...

Driving with one hand is considered a bad habit . I used to do it. Had to retrain myself to stop.

Ask F1 drivers.. [;)]