Scholesy 4th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 kinda true. But BPL is like apple. Expensive but still always got pple willing to pay. Even if it declines will take a long while. Anyway there are no alternatives or up & coming leagues to contest. La Liga games are generally too late for Asia side. German league - 90% of the time, it's bayern winning it. Italian - very boring to watch compared to breakneck speed of BPL soccer. ya surely thru the sponsor interests and those tour responses, the bpl knows that they are quite untouchable now vs the other leagues. but that would b so wrong and myopic... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 boycott lah I already boycott epl since sh start charging separately for epl....donno how many seasons liao. But they know lar...most sg only kpkb for a while then when season starts they will be scrambling to get the channels! We actually pawned ourselves deep deep.....i have weaned myself off epl for so many yrs at first its difficult but slowly and surely everybody can do it. Hope everybody can sacrifice by not watching epl for a few seasons.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 no i mean those on existing contracts. Where got $25 one. Even before last year, it was 29.90. Then changed to $34.90 or something like that. Since BPL started on Mio, when did it ever have $25... mine also 25.. singtel called me. i was the first batch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I just checked again. I do not have to sign for new package but continue to pay as per my existing (expired) contract of S$25 a month. Well that was what I had before 1 Aug and Singtel told me only basic channels will be shown, ie no BPL, the sports group channel 14-17 and some other movie channel. If after 17 Aug you can still watch BPL, do let us know. Will have to get back my monies.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Well that was what I had before 1 Aug and Singtel told me only basic channels will be shown, ie no BPL, the sports group channel 14-17 and some other movie channel. If after 17 Aug you can still watch BPL, do let us know. Will have to get back my monies.. No need 17th Aug, this weekend charity shield we'll know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 ST knows they have to raise the subscription price to pay for their mistakes in biding high for the EPL. If raise by $5-10 dollars only, wait long long to recoup the cost. So 1 time raise high so can earn more but at the same time knowing there will be some who will unsubcribe. So those who subscibe are in fact covering up for those who unsubscribe now If there is still significant numbers who subscibe even after the latest increase, taking into account those who give up, you can be sure price will reach $100 within 5 yrs time. Really got to hand it to the company for making the consumers pay for their mistake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 What about F1 fan only? Must also pay $60? I am paying $29.90 for F1 and some Chinese movies and drama. I don't mind BPL comes with the pakage. But $60.00+...... I will return the box when my contract expires.... unless I got 100% pay rise.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I checked with SH that day and they say existing contract cannot be re contracted to new package and also you can only cross carry BPL. Champions league and others not included as yet. I think I will just stick to my SH and Singtel box. Bo pian, pay more for the BPL fix! I thought the advertisement the other day on newspapers says this package is available for new customers and also those eligible for recontract? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singap...300/764198.html This link did mention the $300 rebate is applicable for recontract customers also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jansonchua 2nd Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I thought the advertisement the other day on newspapers says this package is available for new customers and also those eligible for recontract? They ran a check and said that I have existing contract for my maxonline service so was ineligible for the package. Anyway, they say only BPL can be cross carried so no point for me to change. I want to watch my fav Manchester United in the champions league! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Singtel the package very confusing. Starhub one is simple. Ironic that Singtel advertise today that starhub's one is confusing ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 I thk the current dream boxes cannot work. if u see the faq of SH, it says after signing up, ST needs 2 weeks to activate on SH box. need to wait for new gen dream box?? erm new one, u just need to reinstall the firmware then it will autoscan again i think ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 erm new one, u just need to reinstall the firmware then it will autoscan again i think ... power.....consumer slap to them sia...but im on haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 They ran a check and said that I have existing contract for my maxonline service so was ineligible for the package. Anyway, they say only BPL can be cross carried so no point for me to change. I want to watch my fav Manchester United in the champions league! so what is the re-contract they referring to?? the package was to sign up for cable tv, maxonline together and get the rebate for new and re-contract customers according to their advertisement. so now they say what existing maxonline service means ineligible for the package? if got existing maxonline and cannot re-contract, then they should drop the words recontract on their advertisment. what are they smoking about? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Singtel the package very confusing. Starhub one is simple. Ironic that Singtel advertise today that starhub's one is confusing ... Err actually I find ST one easier to understand. Just take stand alone @ $59.90 or one of the Gold Packs @ $64.90-$69.90. SH one it was not so clear that you still need to pay the $59.90 on top of whatever surf and watch package you choose. So in fact the all-in cost of watching BPL under their S&W is well above $100. In other words you have to spend even more to enjoy some rebate. At first glance I thought the S&W package already included BPL. So SH package only makes sense for those already on SH or willing to cancel other ST services such as broadband. And not forgetting, ST's Gold Pack also includes Champs League & FA Cup. And if you take Action Gold Pack even has one movie channel included. Speaking of that is CL and FA Cup also exclusive under ST? SH need to cross carry again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Err actually I find ST one easier to understand. Just take stand alone @ $59.90 or one of the Gold Packs @ $64.90-$69.90. SH one it was not so clear that you still need to pay the $59.90 on top of whatever surf and watch package you choose. So in fact the all-in cost of watching BPL under their S&W is well above $100. In other words you have to spend even more to enjoy some rebate. At first glance I thought the S&W package already included BPL. So SH package only makes sense for those already on SH or willing to cancel other ST services such as broadband. And not forgetting, ST's Gold Pack also includes Champs League & FA Cup. And if you take Action Gold Pack even has one movie channel included. Speaking of that is CL and FA Cup also exclusive under ST? SH need to cross carry again? $100 x 12 = $1200. Rebate $300 = $900. Monthly $75.... more ex than ST. Correct? Power of the misleading marketing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 $100 x 12 = $1200. Rebate $300 = $900. Monthly $75.... more ex than ST. Correct? Power of the misleading marketing.... but monthly $75 you get not only BPL but also broadband and cable tv programs. ST $60 is just only BPL. If you thrown in others, I doubt it can be below $75. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Err actually I find ST one easier to understand. Just take stand alone @ $59.90 or one of the Gold Packs @ $64.90-$69.90. SH one it was not so clear that you still need to pay the $59.90 on top of whatever surf and watch package you choose. So in fact the all-in cost of watching BPL under their S&W is well above $100. In other words you have to spend even more to enjoy some rebate. At first glance I thought the S&W package already included BPL. So SH package only makes sense for those already on SH or willing to cancel other ST services such as broadband. And not forgetting, ST's Gold Pack also includes Champs League & FA Cup. And if you take Action Gold Pack even has one movie channel included. Speaking of that is CL and FA Cup also exclusive under ST? SH need to cross carry again? SH surf and watch package (cable or fibre internet) + BPL = rebate Singtel: Gold packs + fibre = rebate. Apples=oranges=pears ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...