Sarong1 1st Gear September 22, 2006 Author Share September 22, 2006 STIL CD Owner...Track 4 MTV - Please Mr Postman... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4psChuj71-s ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 22, 2006 Author Share September 22, 2006 (edited) To all jazz lovers...not too sure if you have heard Oscar Peterson before, this jazz pianist is one of my favourites. Watch this video clip, its my favourite, titled "You look good to me". Let me hear your views. Enjoy. http://youtube.com/watch?v=nKKpoCy0a5Y&mode=related&search= http://youtube.com/watch?v=XtsnBPa7AjU&mod...rown%20Niels%20 Pedersen%20Jazz This one below is an amazing cello play... http://youtube.com/watch?v=aVsFfzB-0hs Edited September 22, 2006 by Sarong1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie September 23, 2006 Share September 23, 2006 To the owners of the STIL CD, ever wonder how the soundstage of the first track should sound like? Here is a video clip...make sure you got that right. Enjoy... http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uh_aG5MzPVM yummy... just saw the clip. 5 rows of singers... wow. indeed it provides a very useful visualise cue to the soundstage. esp think while my TA/tweet position is still in the works. btw, would like to check the origins of a few tracks inside if possible (itch to go hunt down the originals - they rekindled my love for live and unplugged music): - the live recording of It must have been love (track 10) - Na Ying's Meng4 Xing3 Le4 (track 6), and Zheng1 Fu2 (track 16) many thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie September 23, 2006 Share September 23, 2006 Hi Bro, << This one below is an amazing cello play... http://youtube.com/watch?v=aVsFfzB-0hs> This one is truly amazing.. the recording studio guy must be a damn good expert in multi-layered recording.. overlaping one recording with another with such acuracy from what I can see... truly amazing piece of recording I must say... This "A Cello Rondo" by Ethan Winer guy, looks very gay leh!!!.. but his cello playing skill is truly great!. Wondering how many such recording has he made so far? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 23, 2006 Author Share September 23, 2006 Perhaps we should say that he looks artistic, more refined...gay??? no idea . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 23, 2006 Author Share September 23, 2006 (edited) "btw, would like to check the origins of a few tracks inside if possible (itch to go hunt down the originals - they rekindled my love for live and unplugged music): - the live recording of It must have been love (track 10) - Na Ying's Meng4 Xing3 Le4 (track 6), and Zheng1 Fu2 (track 16)" Here you go...in pictures. Na Ying - Meng Xing Le from the album "Conquer". - Zheng Fu from the album "The Best of Na Ying". Roxette - It must have been love from the album "Roxette Tourism" Edited September 23, 2006 by Sarong1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 23, 2006 Share September 23, 2006 bought this cd in adelphi Here's the review from web: 张专辑与流传的惠威试音碟曲目极其相似,未明具体原因.不可否认的是,其中曲目均为试音经典,欣赏度也较高,不可错过. 整套曲目包括多种音乐风格和音乐表现形式,对于音频设备的低、中、高频声音的播放以及定位和人声还原能力都是一个很好的考验。经试听觉得随机耳机音质一般,因此使用借来的监听耳机进行试听。 老鹰乐队的《加洲旅馆》测试系统低音和定位的上好选择,试听后感觉定位效果良好,但是在低音频段感觉力度略显不足,不过低音不足是大多mp3的通病;在表现京剧《红灯记》选段中的高亢唱腔时没有明显的失真;蔡琴的嗓音所处的频率段往往是大部分音箱最弱的地方,一旦存在设计上的缺陷,蔡琴的嗓音就表现得很单薄,在这款机子上试听了蔡琴的两首歌都表现良好,特别是对于人声的还原能力上非常不错,磁性的滋味十足。接着又试听了几首交响乐以及鼓、吉他和古筝的独奏,感觉对乐器的表现能力也不错,但在低音部分仍然呈现不足,但不是特别明显。 【专辑曲目】 01 渡口 02 偏偏喜欢你 03 葬心 04 黄河的水干了 05 达坂城的姑娘 06 红灯记 07 Shania Fuain 08 加州旅馆 09 One I Love 10 鼓诗 11 梁祝(小提琴) 12 高山流水(古筝) 13 古琴对唢呐 14 琵琶对萨克斯 15 Denon Hi-Fi(管弦乐) 16 经典交响曲-发烧 17 波罗吉他 18 低音提琴 19 穆特小提琴1独奏 20 穆特小提琴4独奏 21 雪花飞扬 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 23, 2006 Author Share September 23, 2006 Yes you are right ...this was the CD I introduced to the ICE meetups kakis about a year ago, they have subsequently came out with vol 2 and 3. Vol 1 quality is still the best compared with 2 & 3, dun know why. Anyhow, its good that you have gotten this CD, many of us have a copy of this, original and CDR version...oops... My personal preference is track 01 渡口 - by Cai Qin, pay attention to the percussion and its subsequent reverb. 02 偏偏喜欢你 by Albert Au, his vocal is unique...pay notice to his higher pitch. 03 葬心 - Huang Ying Ying, I especially like the lower bass of this track...wonderful test track, her voice should move from a forward to backward position of the soundstage. 04 黄河的水干了 I like this vocal very much...my favourite from the whole album. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 23, 2006 Share September 23, 2006 Ya, lots of nice songs. track 5: 达坂城的姑娘 is also good, can listen to the different singers at their position for imaging. Btw, bought the 2005 IASCA CD with the rule book today. The rule book is a newly published 2006 version. (no more photostated copy). According to Mr Kwek, there are few new rules changes in the 2006 version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 23, 2006 Author Share September 23, 2006 Interesting...what are the changes? Anyhow, I understand that some of the IASCA CDs are actually produced by "Sheffield Lab"...one of these tracks is "My voice should come from the far left of your soundstage"... Personnally, I prefer the EMMA (European Mobile Media Association) SQ competition CD over the IASCA ones...the EMMA one made their own live recordings and are customised for judging SQ solely, another good "standard" CD to get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie September 23, 2006 Share September 23, 2006 Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 as for what are the changes, I don't know. cos i didn't know what are the exsiting rules.. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 this one SQ quite good leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 damn solid driving stunts... i like the parallel drifting and 180deg turn parts bro hyun, would you know what is the name of the track? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 simi stunt, i say the track got nice SQ lah... song boh? i also wanna know the track name, shiok hor, download, play in the car, then ur car sliding here sliding there .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 25, 2006 Author Share September 25, 2006 (edited) Old HK TVB drama serials have always been my favourites, one way to bring back the bits and pieces that still lingers in my memories till today would have to be the great songs from the serials...some of these included the "Shen Diao Xia LU", "The Legend of the Yi Tin and Tou Loong", "Tian Loong Da Bu"...the list goes on... And for you nice people here, I have this recommendation entitled 金庸武俠音樂秘笈 (Jin Yong Swordmen Musical Manual). I have merely listened to the few tracks and thought I should quickly share this good stuff with you before this paper booklet version runs out of stock. The arrangement brings together chinese and western orchestra instruments and performed by famous artists from Hong Kong, S'pore, China and Korea. 14 tracks in total with short descriptions of the artist that are famous in their own rights. The cover version that you see in the pictures below is a limited period version...since it has been so nicely packaged and there is a small booklet contained within, I think this CD will in time become a limited edition and a good collectors' item...I got it from That CD shop for $22.90, now if you happened to buy one and is cheaper, pls share with the rest of us. Quality-wise, I was wowed by the first track...good opening with the 天龍八部's 萬水千山縱橫...my goose pimples naturally stood...I am captivated, one of the nicest CD I have ever bought. Just great. Look at the brief intro on the CD by EMI Music Hong Kong. 破天荒首次收錄十四首【金庸武俠小說】改編之電視劇集「主題曲」及「插曲」演奏版 集著名演奏家 王磊/辛小玲/朱文昌 及 過百位音樂家 以精湛技藝演繹 輯錄作品包括: [射鵰英雄傳] [天龍八部] [笑傲江湖] [書劍恩仇錄] 及 [鹿鼎記] Edited September 25, 2006 by Sarong1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 (edited) Hi Hyun, I think the track name is: "Dancing In Paris" for that Isuzu Gemini TV Commercial. Perhaps you may want to see this one too: http://bobcatsysop.multiply.com/video/item/5 Amazing Car Stunts from the early years This one is Hilarious and Cool Soundtrack http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv5zWaTEVkI OK Go - Here It Goes Again - 4 guys on Treadmills, Dancing to the tune of the song. Incredible performance. Edited September 25, 2006 by Bobcatsysop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 the kungfu tracks are original mix? or remix? both would be good - the original u cannot deny is still the original flavour, but a remix would add good SQ to the rather basic recordings in the past ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...