Sarong1 1st Gear October 21, 2007 Author Share October 21, 2007 Eddie47, thanks for the help...I will be on night shift till Thurs, that leaves me Fri nite to meet you at Bishan MCF Meetup...will you be free? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddie47 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 Bro Sarong1, I will get the CD for you first, but I'm going to HK with my family this weekend, I will try to make it to the meetup the week after or we'll arrange some way for me to pass to you ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 Sure. It's already in my car since yesterday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear October 21, 2007 Author Share October 21, 2007 OK, whenever you are available. Make some time to go Times Square in Causeway Bay. There is a CD shop on the 9th floor, they have good selection of CDs...make sure you don't stay in the CD shop for too long a time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkid 2nd Gear October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 older recording are still make in country of origin and not PRC . nowadays many cd come with chinese characters, like the duran duran cd i bought, sounds kinda vulgar in chinese Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 Hi Derrick, Just sent 2 Emails to [email protected]. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear October 27, 2007 Author Share October 27, 2007 I was at SMC loitering when I found the girl on this album Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear October 27, 2007 Author Share October 27, 2007 Two reference CDs for you to evaluate your sound systems. Made in Canada, Fidelio Reference and Fidelio Refence 2 have been used in the Canadian AV show to showcase some of the most expensive sound system. Reason is simple; this CD is made to standard. When it states that the vocal is in the centre, it not only appears in the centre but also remained focus, round and stayed right there throughout, all done with such precision and naturalness taken into consideration. Also known as Festival Son & Image 2006 and 2007, the liner notes contained within provides information on instruments layout much like the IASCA Competition CD does. It also included their relative imaging to you and your speakers. Amazing! Regardless of your preference for forward sounding or laid-back sounding, these two beautiful CDs will lift you up to another level of appreciation and criticism. Want to put your friend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear October 27, 2007 Author Share October 27, 2007 I was watching the Japanese hit TV and anime series "Nodame Cantabile" in HK and was captivated by the fun-loving and interesting Japanese drama series of a group of young music under-grads and their life in the music school. Lending many famous works from classic music composers, the show depicted how students carved out a niche in the school vide interpreting famous classical works their way and their fashion. It was a hilarious drama serial. Till now, I am still searching for the DVD of this drama Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Author Share October 29, 2007 (edited) Chie Ayado is a familiar name to many in the MCF ICE kakis, her renowned vocal and her highly improvised piano style have been the factors that attracted many audiophile fans here in Singapore. And mind you, the CD does not come cheap, averaging about $40 and above for a normal looking CD, not many are willing to part that penny for a normal looking CD. But I have decided to revisit this compilation, for this is a must-recommend compilation. I have four other Chie Ayado albums; Ballad is probably one of the most enjoyed pieces I have ever owned thus far. I must say that recording wise; this album appears to be smoother and warmer, as compared to her previous cut. I am talking about A/B test on some of the tracks. I have also changed the manner in which I appreciate her singing in this CD, and that is after two years. I am paying even more attention to her vocal than any other things. Sitting on my chair in front of the floorstander, Chie Ayado appears to be singing with only the piano that separates me from her. That makes her singing directly at me, if you can imagine, catching a glimpse of her playing the piano, just like in a lounge. So there is some intimacy, but not close enough to run for your life though. Totalling 15 tracks, the tracks are all drawn from her previous releases, like LIFE, Natural, Your Songs, Friends, Time, LOVE and To You, to name a few. My personal favourites will have to be El Condor Pasa on track four, The Rose on track eight, My Way on track 14 and lastly, Tennessee Waltz on the last track. This Japan-made CD comes with both English lyrics and the Japanese session in the liner notes. My recommendation to you when you next listen to Chie Ayado, just focus on her vocal, imagine how she delivers these Ballads across to you. Never mind about the piano, there are just so much details in her voice that it is probably much more exciting over her piano play. Released in 2007 by ewe records on the usual paper cover album, nicely done. Ballads Chie Ayado 10th Anniversary EWCD 0122 Edited October 29, 2007 by Sarong1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddie47 Neutral Newbie November 2, 2007 Share November 2, 2007 Bro Sarong1, sorry for the delay. I've got the CD for you. Let me know when you're available and I'll pass the CD to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear November 2, 2007 Author Share November 2, 2007 Sorry for the late return, just got to see your reply now. Am going to the meetup at Bishan tonite... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michael_lch Neutral Newbie November 3, 2007 Share November 3, 2007 (edited) For those who simply love saxophone, you should try the Timbre of Sax by TIS. You can simply feel the space of the recording as this is done in a big cathedral. Details of the placement of the pianist and the sax player as well as the church hall where the recording is done are described in the notes. What I like about this is that I would not feel bored songs after songs and it sets the romantic mood as the sax player alternate his pieces between 3 saxophones, accompanied by the pianst. I would describe each saxophone as follow: The Baritone brings out your passion; the soprano gives the mysterious feel while the alto is very easy listening. This has become the favorite disc for both my wife and myself as we drive home after work in the late hours. Thanks to bro Sarong for recommending this album to me! Edited November 3, 2007 by Michael_lch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear November 3, 2007 Author Share November 3, 2007 Hey Mike, good effort! Am glad that you have like this CD, it makes listening the timbre of sax an enjoyment. Hope to see more contributions from you ya... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear November 6, 2007 Author Share November 6, 2007 Just came out of my cave with this new album from Chie Ayado after loaning it from Bro Boring. Did I not just done a review of her Ballads album not long ago? Geez Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueberry Neutral Newbie November 6, 2007 Share November 6, 2007 And many thanks to you Sarong Master for the demo CD in my ride that blast my tweeter immediately. Now i driving w/o any system liao.. Next step - Install boost meter. INstall sound proofing. Already Done - ECU Remapped - Sprint Booster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear November 6, 2007 Author Share November 6, 2007 Some things that are meant to be spoilt, will have to go. Old one dun go, new one dun come..... Dun worry, its only a matter of time that you get your replacement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueberry Neutral Newbie November 6, 2007 Share November 6, 2007 Wah lau eh!! what if i change new system liao, you come with the CD again & blast my system again?!?! Oi.. i dun have that much money to change system leh.. pity me a bit can or not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...