New to Cars need help from tuscani owners 2.0

Geraldchew

No offense intended.

Gerald, I wld advise on not getting a car with that level of salary. Even if you earn double, very scary to own a tuscani.

Now this is going to be a bit harsh (no offense but meant for you to come back to earth)

Does stating your dad's salary in this posting means you are trying to "used" him to 'sponsor' you?

Spare a thought for your oldman. He needs to save for his retirement.

Dun say until so jiat lat lar.

One can own a budget car with salary round 1.5-2k Picanto/Kelisa/Rio/Accent/Aveo.

just drive wisely, dun drive unnessarily. LOL [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If you have cash savings, pay cash upfront and get a simple car <1.6L. Something like a 7-8 year old March or Swift. Would cost you less than $20k.

1.5k salary? drive car? hur.gif

after cpf 1.2k.

get cheapest car and loan 10yrs. minimum also need about $800

Left $400. got enough for food, handphone & insurance give parents meh?

no savings. how to get married? renovate hse? hope 4 pretty gal with a lot of savings?laugh.giflaugh.gif

hi i am gerald here i am glad to fond a forum for cars lover in singapore. i earn 1700 and my dad earn 1600 per mth we were thinking of getting a tascani but have no dieal how much the interest and installment plus oil coupon cost per mth. pls help out here thanks in advance.

please do not commit financial suicide... [hur]

No offense intended.

Gerald, I wld advise on not getting a car with that level of salary. Even if you earn double, very scary to own a tuscani.

Now this is going to be a bit harsh (no offense but meant for you to come back to earth)

Does stating your dad's salary in this posting means you are trying to "used" him to 'sponsor' you?

Spare a thought for your oldman. He needs to save for his retirement.

your reply is very 'brutal' laugh.gif yet frank.. thumbsup.gif ...that is what i initially tot too when 2 salary figures were quoted. it will never be a 'shared family car' as long as 2 men (young or old) sharing the same coupe.. sly.gif

Gerald, please drop the idea..dont get carried away. when considering a car, dont just look at the mthly loan...there are many other cost to take note. with current situation, and even if this really gonna be a family car, your family will be in deep deep trouble financially.. shakehead.gif the combined salary is just enough for someone who have no commitment (single and no other loans) to support the car mthly maintenance..

hi i am gerald here i am glad to fond a forum for cars lover in singapore. i earn 1700 and my dad earn 1600 per mth we were thinking of getting a tascani but have no dieal how much the interest and installment plus oil coupon cost per mth. pls help out here thanks in advance.

Hi Gerald,

So what is your decision after hearing so much?

I assume it's your 1st car but any particular reason for getting a Coupe by Hyundai?

Just because it's slighty more affordable and it will look good?

I think a lot of us whom have voice their opinions and advices would like to hear something from you. It's basic courtesy anyway

Hi Gerald

Not advisable for u to get a car at yr salary level, if u really need to drive, consider a second hand 1.6L and below. Safer for yr finance.

For me, monthly gross abt 3.5K, but only driving 1.6l car. Still thinking very hard whether to upgrade to 2L car because insurance, road tax, petrol is a killer.

Please seriously consider yr financial status before committing

[;)]

this brings up another tangent... do you all know people who barely (or not even) afford coupes, rexes, etc. but still went ahead to buy them so that can "look good" in front of their relatives, girls at pubs, etc... other than that, i don't see any viable reason to own something which doesn't kill you outright but will surely ruin your future...

nod.gif,

Also, by putting off a car purchase until you really need it (have family) one can save a significant amount over time.

Say you buy a car at 21 when you start work, each month say you spend $1k/mth on the upkeep of the modest car.

But if you instead buy a car at 30 when you have a baby, compared to buying a car at 21, you would have 'saved' 12k x 9years or $108k.

You would have money to buy a wide range of cars in cash plus leftover for your child education etc.

The opportunity cost of having a car at an early age is high unless your income rise significantly year on year.

I earn basic 1.7 plus commission so avarage 2k per month. As for my dad i just need his name to get the car coz using his name for insurance will be cheaper ya. i am sharing with my gf, avarage month she earn 4k combine pay from my gf plus mine 2k on a good month should have 6k. no worries for me guys. i am not getting this car coz i think it is the cheapest coipe around. i just like what i see thatr's all, too many jap cars around. and i am not into racing so ot should works fine for me.

Edited by Geraldchew