Dennisk Clutched September 25, 2005 Share September 25, 2005 really smell ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched September 25, 2005 Share September 25, 2005 think the terms high-flow and free-flow are used loosely... better to ask the workshop whether the inside got any cat converter stuff to confirm. high flow cat usually mean there are still catalytic converter stuff inside but less and insides are designed for better flow rate. from wat i know, high flow cats are still pretty effective at getting rid of nasty stuff but their life span is significantly shorter (bcos of less cat converter stuff i suppose) free-flow cat are those without any cat con stuff inside them. just an empty shell which offers no obstruction to exhaust. obviously, this is much cheaper than a high-flow cat. erm...oh...ya, what i mean is free flow... a dummy cat is around that price... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hlkh Clutched September 25, 2005 Share September 25, 2005 ok... my ride is lancer very sluggish .. tinking of extractor & muffler too but will coz noisy i wan not noisy n got power best is gd fc oso Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched September 26, 2005 Share September 26, 2005 extractor and decat will help alot....without operating or changing of muffler there won't be noisy sound... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hlkh Clutched September 26, 2005 Share September 26, 2005 hmmm... i was thinking abt tt too... do u know where can do with gd workmanship n gd deal?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear September 26, 2005 Share September 26, 2005 $350 for high flow cat is far too exp... does tat include install? my friend paid only $200 for one and install was only $50 along with his exhaust tip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched September 27, 2005 Share September 27, 2005 can try FK(tried and felt )....or Man exhaust(never try but good feedback from forumers)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 27, 2005 Share September 27, 2005 tried to read up a bit about auto cars needing backpressure but i didn't quite understand the technical bits. what's the difference between auto and manual needing backpressure? it's the same engine, the same exhaust setup. the only difference between auto and manual is in the transmission. so logically speaking, the exhaust has no relevance to the transmission. exhaust only affects the engine. so if a manual car engine improves with exhaust mod, the auto should also improve. can any1 explain the reason? auto changes the gear for you, so you'll free a bit of lost in low end but manual you can choose which RPM you want to upshift, normally it still looses some low end to manual cars but that can be equalise by up shifting at a higher RPM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuzzylogic 2nd Gear September 27, 2005 Share September 27, 2005 Where did your fren do the high flow cat at? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear September 28, 2005 Share September 28, 2005 if i remember correctly it's fong kim but he did it with other stuff and he kinda knows the boss. most importantly, the highflow cat will depend on your car model... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched February 20, 2012 Share February 20, 2012 Hi bros, decat my ride and now it's straight thru, find the exhaust smell really terrible, cannot tahan the smell when I warm uP and cool down my engine. Is it a must to de cat it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear February 20, 2012 Share February 20, 2012 Hi bros, decat my ride and now it's straight thru, find the exhaust smell really terrible, cannot tahan the smell when I warm uP and cool down my engine. Is it a must to de cat it? If not performance cars, it wasting time & $ de cating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched February 20, 2012 Share February 20, 2012 If not performance cars, it wasting time & $ de cating. So what is consider "performance" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear February 20, 2012 Share February 20, 2012 Hi bros, decat my ride and now it's straight thru, find the exhaust smell really terrible, cannot tahan the smell when I warm uP and cool down my engine. Is it a must to de cat it? Shouldn't have done it, all this for little performance gain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Escksu Clutched February 21, 2012 Share February 21, 2012 Shouldn't have done it, all this for little performance gain. Decat alone is useless. You need a good set of extractors and exhaust to match. Also. decat also benefits for high RPM and turbo/SC where the cat becomes a restriction in airflow. At low RPM, there are no benefits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 21, 2012 Share February 21, 2012 (edited) So what is consider "performance" since u hv de-cat, u shoud know better rite? Edited February 21, 2012 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 21, 2012 Share February 21, 2012 Decat alone is useless. You need a good set of extractors and exhaust to match. not really, if you have seen what its in the cat, you should know what kind of restriction we r talking abt... the cat is the bottleneck of the whole exhaust system. removing the cat will bring quite significant performance in high-end. Also. decat also benefits for high RPM and turbo/SC where the cat becomes a restriction in airflow. At low RPM, there are no benefits. this is true, in fact, u will suffer if on your low end if your whole exhaust system is 100% straight thru. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 21, 2012 Share February 21, 2012 (edited) Hi bros, decat my ride and now it's straight thru, find the exhaust smell really terrible, cannot tahan the smell when I warm uP and cool down my engine. Is it a must to de cat it? dun think its that bad, if you can smell it in your car while warming up the engine, something its wrong. i believe your exhaust its leak.. by the way, what do u mean by u can still smell the exhaust when cooling down your engine? if you are trying to cool down your engine, you shld have switch off your engine rite? and u still can smell the exhaust fume?? u sure its not your engine thats caught fire? LOL Edited February 21, 2012 by Tigershark1976 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...