Overhaul Engine

Qpik

I'm new to this forum.

I badly need advice and help on this too.

Mid feb I sent my car toyota vios for a standard servicing; tried out a new servicing company Autosaver at defu.

When the car came back, there were major vibrations when car at stop. And some minor 6th sense feel that the drive is not..er.. like last time.

So I brought it back to change engine mounting. That was last week.

Then when I brought it back and drove for a day, it feels like the car gonna stall.

By right, if the engine is in motion already, it shouldn't stall at all.

I persisted on driving, hoping to reach my destination. Along the way, whenever I stop the car at a traffic junction, and i step to accelerate, the car like gonna si chia. but in the end still moves. No restarting of engine required.

By the time I reached destination. Stopped at the carpark to pick up something from a friend. When I proceeded to exit carpark (gg up on a slope), the car died.

Just like that.

In the end, had to push car in my skirt to 1 side without blockin carpark entrance and exit. A kind fella stopped and i jumpstart the car. Rev a bit and it still feels like gona stal.

I was thinking, could be the battery dying. So oklor, juz replace battery.

In the end, brot it back to the same mechanic to dbl confirm. The fella said battery is still fine.

And the less than smooth ride was bcos of over heating. 1 side is choked and wasnt detected.

nbz.... so ok, i left the car there over the weekend to so call unchoke it and it came back on monday late evening.

Yesterday drove it and met with the same stalling feeling..like when u step on accelerator, the auto transmission car moves from 1st to 2nd, in between like going to stall,.. last 2 secs ba. and then it move again. called the mechanic and the fella said, monitor first. may resolve itself.

Brought it back to the mechanic today again. the same fela said need to overhaul engine. cost 2k.

Mileage is 169k already. 6 year car.

I'm now thinking, should I spend this kind of money or is the fella b-------ting me cos im a girl.

the car is almost full paid. with just 6 mth to go.

I actually wanted to keep this car as a standby car and buy another car for my main usage.

Now that this has happened, im kinda driving in fear everyday that the car may die on me anytime on the road and i need to push car in my skirt again. tmd...

really value any opinions that you guys have.

Please help.

Sounds like vacuum hose not connected/leak/broke.

See : http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_a_vacuum_leak

What is a Vacuum Leak ?

A vacuum leak is any leak caused when sucking in Air either after the throttle plate of a carburetor or after the Air Metering device on a Fuel Injected car caused by a bad gasket, torn boot, improperly installed adapter plate or manifold gasket, etc�.It is called a vacuum leak because the area below a throttle plate or metering device (Mass Air Sensor, Air Flow Meter, Etc.) is under vacuum when the car is at idle and part throttle�.When there is a leak in this area you are not �Leaking Vacuum� but rather are sucking in un-metered air�The term Vacuum leak has just been used for so long it is an accepted term

What problems does it cause ?

The major symptom of a vacuum leak is very poor idle quality, stalling, Spitting back through the Intake, and a very lean condition at part throttle�.This is the most common problem when doing carb conversions where either adapter plates are used or new intake manifolds are fitted�.On a Fuel Injected car with a Mass Air Sensor or Air Flow Meter this is allowing Un-Metered air into the engine..This is a huge problem as the computer is basing the fuel mixture on the amount of incoming air through the flow meter and the extra air sneaking in through the leak can cause a dangerous lean condition..This is especially true of Turbo cars like the Starion-Conquest where the Rubber Boot between the turbo and MAF can be cracked underneath where it is hard to see�

When was the last ime you replace the fuel filter? Your mileage is high. I remember donkeys years ago when I was driving my dad Hyundai Excel, was driving down a slope pretty fast with a loud thud over the hump. Straight away, the engine looks like want to die, nearly stall for a few time during driving. Send in to ws and was told fuel filter is the problem.

Engine need overhaul very obvious one.

1) White smoke from exhaust indicating gasket it broken.

2) Milky stuff in the engine that looks like mayo. Open the oil cap and shine torch light.

3) Exhaust will stink

4) Radiator/Expansion tank will have oil floating around in the coolant.

5) Need to top up water in the radiator often as engine consumes water.

6) Engine will overheat/run hotter than normal as cooling system(water jacket of the engine) is damaged already.

Yours doesnt sound like an engine that needs an overhaul. I would check electronics, vacuum and fuel delivery system first. Sounds more along those lines. If your engine has never overheated before, chances that you will not need an overhaul. Head gaskets don't just fail for no reason.

I'm new to this forum.

I badly need advice and help on this too.

Mid feb I sent my car toyota vios for a standard servicing; tried out a new servicing company Autosaver at defu.

When the car came back, there were major vibrations when car at stop. And some minor 6th sense feel that the drive is not..er.. like last time.

So I brought it back to change engine mounting. That was last week.

Then when I brought it back and drove for a day, it feels like the car gonna stall.

By right, if the engine is in motion already, it shouldn't stall at all.

I persisted on driving, hoping to reach my destination. Along the way, whenever I stop the car at a traffic junction, and i step to accelerate, the car like gonna si chia. but in the end still moves. No restarting of engine required.

By the time I reached destination. Stopped at the carpark to pick up something from a friend. When I proceeded to exit carpark (gg up on a slope), the car died.

Just like that.

In the end, had to push car in my skirt to 1 side without blockin carpark entrance and exit. A kind fella stopped and i jumpstart the car. Rev a bit and it still feels like gona stal.

I was thinking, could be the battery dying. So oklor, juz replace battery.

In the end, brot it back to the same mechanic to dbl confirm. The fella said battery is still fine.

And the less than smooth ride was bcos of over heating. 1 side is choked and wasnt detected.

nbz.... so ok, i left the car there over the weekend to so call unchoke it and it came back on monday late evening.

Yesterday drove it and met with the same stalling feeling..like when u step on accelerator, the auto transmission car moves from 1st to 2nd, in between like going to stall,.. last 2 secs ba. and then it move again. called the mechanic and the fella said, monitor first. may resolve itself.

Brought it back to the mechanic today again. the same fela said need to overhaul engine. cost 2k.

Mileage is 169k already. 6 year car.

I'm now thinking, should I spend this kind of money or is the fella b-------ting me cos im a girl.

the car is almost full paid. with just 6 mth to go.

I actually wanted to keep this car as a standby car and buy another car for my main usage.

Now that this has happened, im kinda driving in fear everyday that the car may die on me anytime on the road and i need to push car in my skirt again. tmd...

really value any opinions that you guys have.

Please help.

unfortunately being a gal might be an issue.

anyway suggest you call a few workshops and ask them how much they charge for

throttle and idle control valve and just get that done first. this will take a good 2-3 hours if they take out the part, soak it and let it dry, which is what you want, no short cuts. at the end of this you will be able to see a good clean spot in the dusty mess in the engine bay. I recently did this for $130.

if it doesn't help, change the mass air flow sensor next. this is below the car in exhaust but can be done quickly. i think brands like denso provide OEM for many cars so there may be cheaper OEM alternatives. plug and play.

if you haven't done these so its time anyway, so if it doesn't work, no harm.

Hi guys, sorry for bumping such a old topic as my post count is not enough to start a thread. I just want to check with some seniors here regarding the overhauling issues.

I brought a swift sport 6 months ago, while driving to the workshop one day(change coilover), I drove till my car temperature H and than I realised my aircon getting warmer to the extend of I cant take it(I still had no experience on cars or whatsoever), I panic and stop by my car by the side and pop out my bonnet. Than I tow back to a jurong wokrshop near shipyard area which is near to my workplace, they did a top overhauling for me. Apparently the mechanic is using the wrong method to skim my cylinder head which I only found out few months later. Being a noob, I thought that was the end of my problem. He was using grinding method(use hand to grind) my cylinder head which resulted in uneven surface and he only change few water hoses. He still can tell me you got few rusty water hoses, you must take note, of course at that time I thought not a need to change.

Fast forward 4 months, sent my gf home, everthing okay, park my car at the side, took lift up and than come down to find my bonnet popping out smoke and saw water/coolant leaking out from my engine bay to the ground, faster open bonnet and saw one of the water hose "piak", again went back tow back to the first workshop, he did a replacement of a single water hose. everything is okay

after 1 week, this time I was on my way to work when I notice a large amount of smoke coming out from my exos early in the morning, I thought its normal because sometimes when I driving in the morning, I see white smoke coming out from cars. But mine actually is not normal(not aware), large amount of white smoke and going on for 15 mins. until lunch I went to jurong point to eat, and about to go back to my workplace, I saw the exos come out a lot of white smoke, so I think this time chiam liao, must tow back again. so I try to drive to the workshop, because it is very near to jurong point, half way, temperature rise again more than half level mark, so I stop by busstop and ask for tow again( very frustrated, keep having to tow here and there). bring to the first time workshop, they said this time overhauling might not save your car. So I asked my frz for help, he intro me to DKC, so I have to ask DKC to tow my car from tuas side to tampines side(freaking far), than the first time workshop mechanics told me, first time your car come, not very serious so I hand grind for you, this time I bring to machine skimming and I will change the water hoses for you, I was like wtf? now than u tell me all these?

Anyway DKC was good, they do all the necessary. Still waiting for my car to come back though.

My question now is after skimming the cylinder head for twice, even though they said it is within tolerance limit, wont my compression rate goes up and the history will repeat again? because now the cylinder head is skimmed lower and this swift sport compression rate is high from my knowledge and compared to normal cars. Is there a need to change the engine which I had found out, go to Malaysia, everything less than 6k Ringgit, labour everything, engine from Japan, 3 years scrap their practice. So I hope bros/seniors out there can help me out on this issue? I just want to know whether skimming it the second time, will the problem come back again? Very headache with this 2nd hand car I brought less than a car and having to spend so much $ on it.

Thank bros for reading this length post and hopefully you can give me recommendation or any replies.

Hi guys, sorry for bumping such a old topic as my post count is not enough to start a thread. I just want to check with some seniors here regarding the overhauling issues.

I brought a swift sport 6 months ago, while driving to the workshop one day(change coilover), I drove till my car temperature H and than I realised my aircon getting warmer to the extend of I cant take it(I still had no experience on cars or whatsoever), I panic and stop by my car by the side and pop out my bonnet. Than I tow back to a jurong wokrshop near shipyard area which is near to my workplace, they did a top overhauling for me. Apparently the mechanic is using the wrong method to skim my cylinder head which I only found out few months later. Being a noob, I thought that was the end of my problem. He was using grinding method(use hand to grind) my cylinder head which resulted in uneven surface and he only change few water hoses. He still can tell me you got few rusty water hoses, you must take note, of course at that time I thought not a need to change.

Fast forward 4 months, sent my gf home, everthing okay, park my car at the side, took lift up and than come down to find my bonnet popping out smoke and saw water/coolant leaking out from my engine bay to the ground, faster open bonnet and saw one of the water hose "piak", again went back tow back to the first workshop, he did a replacement of a single water hose. everything is okay

after 1 week, this time I was on my way to work when I notice a large amount of smoke coming out from my exos early in the morning, I thought its normal because sometimes when I driving in the morning, I see white smoke coming out from cars. But mine actually is not normal(not aware), large amount of white smoke and going on for 15 mins. until lunch I went to jurong point to eat, and about to go back to my workplace, I saw the exos come out a lot of white smoke, so I think this time chiam liao, must tow back again. so I try to drive to the workshop, because it is very near to jurong point, half way, temperature rise again more than half level mark, so I stop by busstop and ask for tow again( very frustrated, keep having to tow here and there). bring to the first time workshop, they said this time overhauling might not save your car. So I asked my frz for help, he intro me to DKC, so I have to ask DKC to tow my car from tuas side to tampines side(freaking far), than the first time workshop mechanics told me, first time your car come, not very serious so I hand grind for you, this time I bring to machine skimming and I will change the water hoses for you, I was like wtf? now than u tell me all these?

Anyway DKC was good, they do all the necessary. Still waiting for my car to come back though.

My question now is after skimming the cylinder head for twice, even though they said it is within tolerance limit, wont my compression rate goes up and the history will repeat again? because now the cylinder head is skimmed lower and this swift sport compression rate is high from my knowledge and compared to normal cars. Is there a need to change the engine which I had found out, go to Malaysia, everything less than 6k Ringgit, labour everything, engine from Japan, 3 years scrap their practice. So I hope bros/seniors out there can help me out on this issue? I just want to know whether skimming it the second time, will the problem come back again? Very headache with this 2nd hand car I brought less than a car and having to spend so much $ on it.

Thank bros for reading this length post and hopefully you can give me recommendation or any replies.

Now what was the initial problem that cause the engine to overheat??

I think the root cause of your problem probably is not the head but the cooling system. You mentioned the mechanic says got rusty water hoses. The cooling system is probably clogged and coolant cannot get to areas to properly cool the engine. I think a lot of overhaul needs to be done not just on the head but also the radiator.

A lot of white smoke from the exhaust means coolant is leaking into the combustion chamber. Probably due to the first mechanic not doing a proper lapping. Lapping of the head surface is necessay to remove carbon and grease build up so that it can form a proper even seal to the gasket and engine. If they say it's within the torlerance it should be ok. It will not affect the compression ratio as lapping is minimal machining.

There's no need to change engine. Even if there's a need to you can apply from LTA, as long as the engine specs are the same as the original it's not a problem. There's also the chassis and engine number recorded with LTA. The engine has a set of numbers engrave on it. If caught during inspection that you changed your engine you will most likely get into trouble.

Your car could probably be sitting for a long time for the rust to set in before you bought it.

Juz checking...What constitute one and whether anyone had theirs done before?

Is it recommended for COE car or what kind of car?

Please share the details so I can pass the info to my friend. Thanks for your explanations.

First i wud like to know why yr fren thinking of overhaul engine?

What problem is he having?

yea, the first time of the overheating is due to water hose rusty and old, crack and radiator had no more coolant that's y overheat. I was thinking will a thicker aftermarket gasket helps in the heating issues after this?

Edited by Alvin88

How do u source fr ws to send yr car fr service n repairs?

Best if u ask around n get trusted fren to recommend a good ws.

Then go fr simple service n see how ty do their work. Professional or ignorant n chap a lang type?

Hving a good n honest mech is very important especially if u dun know much abt cars.

Many ws n mech wil cheat pple if ty think ty can. Its all about making as much money fm u as possible.

yea, the first time of the overheating is due to water hose rusty and old, crack and radiator had no more coolant that's y overheat. I was thinking will a thicker aftermarket helps in the heating issues after this?

Don't think water hose will get rusty since it's rubber. It's mainly the rusts from engine block.