Grounding

Azman79

My ride is a corolla 1.3 carb model. Planning to fix grounding cable but I read from some sources that it'll have no effect on my car but more useful for efi engine. Anyone can confirm??

Is blue ground cables better than red ones?

hmm... how should i put it?

not that grounding has no effect on carb cars, but the gain is more significant on a efi car.

blue or red cables doesnt make a diff... its whether it conducts electricity anot. these cables should be made of copper. different shops sell diff things, some say thicker cables better, some use electric cables, some audio cables.

maybe the bros here would like to givve more advice?

is ur sauce reliable?

aiya... ground cheap cheap one, at <$20 per kit. DIY. ground to correct position (kamusutra ones dun apply hor) confirm got some effect lah. try google "grounding + dyno results", some pple tokking abt 3% gain.

ok lah, at least they tested it, better then magnet right. magnet say 15% but no independent test. $20 for 3% gain, worth it lah. remember to ground to the base of ECU.

lolz...simi year liaoz, still got carb engine. lolz.. paiseh neber see.

i think upgrade the distribution cable better. confirm sure got improvement if upgrade distribution cable

blue or red does not matter. mostly the impedance is due to the level of oxygen content and mainly thickness. but O2 free copper dun mean it will b free fr oxygen. eventually it will oxydize like everything. so dun spend too much.

For carburated engines , you need only to connect cable to engine, transimission to battery negative terminal that all.

Good grounding is always good, but the kits available out there are just too expensive.

You probably get the same benifits if you DIY a set of grounding wires urself. Buy decent low gauge wires and some decent DIY connectors. You dont need the best here. Bare in mind, this is a car, not an audiophile's home theater system. Replace all stock fround wires with ur wires. If you look at the stock grounding wires, you'll see that any normal wire will be better than that.

To do it for power? You're better off saving the money.

[thumbsup]

Hi Azman79.

I also driving a carb 89 corona cd (AT171) & did a diy grounging which cost me less than $10.

I first looked at the engine bay & determined I am able to ground the engine block, alternator, distributor, firewall & horn & front of engine bay near the radiator.

I just got some heavy duty electrical copper wire, connectors & small cable ties.

Total cost abt 10 bucks.

Time taken abt >1 hr at my MSCP.

Still got balance stuff for another grounding so my cost actually abt 5 bucks.

Now for the $64,000.00 question. Does it work?

IMHO : It does improve the smoothness of the engine during acceleration & idling a little. The radio/CD & lights & horn seem better too.

I think it does help especially on older cars with a worn/corroded grounding wire as the electricy flows more smoothly back to the -ve terminal of the battery.

U might also consider grounding the rear of the car to improve the conductivity of the rear lights but I didn't do that.

Just b careful not to short the battery when u working.

Well for such a low cost & little time taken, u don't have much to lose actually.

Good luck.