Steering wheel vibrates

Kelpie

If the steering wheel vibrates when in excess of 120Km/h:

a) is it a usual high speed balancing problem or

b) is it because the front tyres are worn, (less than 20K lifespan)or

c) is it because the rims are mis-aligned?

What do you think? Thank you.

Regards,

If the problem persist after high speed balancing for the front wheels, should I say:

a) either the high speed balancing is not done properly or

b) there is a problem with the wheels.

Thanks.

Regards,

Are you saying you've already tried balancing? If not, lets eliminate 1 problem at a time.

Reminds me a situation I had few days ago. Was speaking to a lawyer about some issues and he said, just go step by step. Now I'm sueing ppl due to breach in tenancy agreement. But who knows maybe tomorow I'll also receive a lawyer letter on a totally unexpected issue. ie, sue me for having a invalid agreement and want to nullify it.

If you have already done the balancing, and it's still the same, maybe you'll like to rotate front/rear tyres just to make sure it's not the tyres? I'm personally not sure what else will vibrate only at high speed.

Maybe I cud suggect u do a normal balancing 1st. Also do the tire rotation if it is due.

These to b done for front wheels & all 4 if u got the spare $$$.

If prob persists, u can try an on-wheel balancing.These to b done for front wheels & all 4 if u got the spare $$$.

If still not solved, do a computerised 4 wheel alignment.

All of the above to b done at a good reliable tire shop as I had a vibs prob b4 which 1 shop cud not eliminate but another better shop did it.

If still not solved, then try changing your rims/tires.

well, i had this prob wiz my 2nd car. when i go 120, my steering wheel started to "tiao dang".

did the following once at a time w TC:-

send for servicing, wheel alignment, computerised check, check suspension kit

finally change the wheels but not suspension kit

conclusion: Jipun car is like tat one, yi fen qian yi fen huo unless u r willingly to pay & change part by part

It could be also due to uneven tyre wear.

Try listening to your tyres when you travel at normal speeds.

Do you hear a "wah wah wah" or some sort like that of sound from the tyres?

Your car is still new, doubt it is any suspension or alignment problems.

You can tell if there is an alignment problem when you travel on a straight stretch of rd, lift your hands off your steering wheel, does your car start to move toweards one side?

there might be a problem with the rim if high speed balancing have been done..

ask the mechanic to check... chances are.... your rim might be damaged.

dun overpressure the tyres esp if u r gg NSH. overpressure for urban driving is ok. stick to recommended pressure over long distance as regardless of N2 or not, heat will accumulated within the tyre and stress may occur.

also, open bonnet and check if anything wrong with engine mounting. get some1 to rev the engine (with handbrakes on, gear at neutral). do not attempt this with a NOOB who may end up drive over u or roll out of the MSCP.

dun overpressure the tyres esp if u r gg NSH. overpressure for urban driving is ok. stick to recommended pressure over long distance as regardless of N2 or not, heat will accumulated within the tyre and stress may occur.

The advice from manufacturer is to increase pressure slightly when travelling long distance at high speed.

insufficient air pressure will lead to overheated sidewalls, and tire failure during a high speed long distance trip.. manufacturers advise slightly over the recommended pressure [;)]

tat's insufficient pressure lah. i tokking recommended pressure. and no i dun agree with manufacturer's advise about over pressurising for long distance. you neber experience car floating before. and also you neber experience tyre tearing apart. i have and they are related to overpressuring. luckily i neber kena accident. otherwise selling salted duck egg liaoz.

overpressure only by 2psi, insufficient pressure also heats up the tire faster mah.

no le.. never experience all those u said, so far i tried recommended, and 2psi above recommended. non-stop to malacca.. of course no incident [laugh]

but my friend experienced a blow out due to insufficient pressure, heavy load, and long distance.. [:/]

try wheel balancing... if it doesnt work.. go for alignment.. if still doesnt work.. means ur control arm bushing is broken..replace them... not that ex..