Conservative Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 guys, i'm sure many of you have been to PG or even Sepang for track sessions. Was wondering what the prerequisites are, do we need special equipment, special skills etc ? can we just turn up and pay and start driving ? Also what if we cannot drive fast due to no experience or no skill or car is just a normal stock family car ? Will we be bullied or seen as road hogging ? Lastly, what is the damage to the car like, will it cause a lot of damage to engine, transmission, suspension tyres brakes etc etc ? Do we have to be prepared to change these ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 all u need is a helmet and covered shoes.. just drive normally.. faster cars will overtake you with their own means.. tracking once in a while will not hurt your engine that much.. always let it cool down after a few laps.. remember to keep your engine running when cooling down.. of course.. tyre wear will be much more den normal driving.. well it all depends on the type of tyres u're using.. it is good to check if your engine oil is enough.. enough tyre pressure.. enought coolent.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 the purpose of tracking is to know your own car and its limits better... not competitive racing, as tracking has been put up to be the only special equipment u need is a helmet, and yah u just pay and start driving don't have to drive fast, own time own target thing... better if u organise trips together with the same kind of cars, so can help each other out. stock car also can join it's the skills that are important Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mtang36 Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 Well you can actually learn some track techniques in a course coming up. www.mishire.com/events.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 use our own car? or their car? quite interested. always wanted to go PG but dont ahve the right equipment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 buy a helmet.. thats the onli 'equipment' u need.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 min u need is a helmet and a mechanically sound car but not advisable for u to simply turn up and drive suka-suka esp if there are other track users there. that can be quite dangerous, not onli for u but other users as well. there's a known 'racing line' ard each track. experienced chiongsters will follow this line and oso know when it is safe to deviate from this line to move over and let faster cars pass. that's part of the unwritten track etiquette and if one sticks by that, everyone is safe. if sotong user anyhow move left or right, brake or turn in early, too kancheong to close window, there's where potential accidents can happen. best is to join an ADC or get an experienced tracker to show u the lines and braking points first. the onli damage would be excessive wear of yr tyres (very normal in PG) instead of a ride in a tow truck home. note that yr car insurance does not cover track use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 (edited) still need 4 wheels and a steering wheel leh.. i dun haf... cant be running round PG wif a helmet on my bus 11 rite... Edited February 7, 2006 by Iridiumx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mtang36 Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 Have to use your own car because you want to be familiar with your car during higher speeds. It's always good to realise characteristics of your car you never knew before. You can actually call this guy Shafii (I need to go search for his number. Will post again), he's the marketer for this Workshop. He can get it for $398 for people on forums. All you need is a helmet, covered (hopefully thin-soled) shoes and a bit of guts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 helmet.. checked.. covered shoes.. checked.. guts.. checked.. basic knowledge. checked.. proper vehicle.................... maybe 5 years later... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 slowly la.. one step @ a time.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 if only the old ek4 was still here..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mtang36 Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 What vehicle do you have right now? Space wagon suitable as well. (Not joking) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 its not mine.. my family's 1.3A Fit.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 better not.. accidents @ tracks are not claimable.. and i've seens lots.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 yup... thats the main concern.. plus its not really fair to to track with it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mtang36 Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 yea... your family's car. Not advisable to use cars belonging to others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridiumx Clutched February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 mtang? are you that marcus tang from www.mishire.com/events.html? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...