Timex1441 1st Gear March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Other than foot pressure/position, the other is to monitor from your boost (or pressure) guage if you have one. The meter is sensitive to how much you apply to the throttle. Slight changes in your foot pressure shows very clearly. Correct me if i'm wrong, I think the meter applies only to cars that are turbo charged. The other option is to observe your rpm meter. Not as finely accurate and indicative as the boost guage though. i can't afford a turbo charged car, so no boost gauge....will juz learn to go easy on my foot ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Give it a try anyhow. One notch backwards (not talking about the backrest, i'm talking about sliding the whole seat back) is about 1cm or less. If you can't reach the top of the wheel at the 2 and 10 position and have your wrist or base of your palm on the wheel normally you're already too far back, if you're fine, you should be able to do this safely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Give it a try anyhow. One notch backwards (not talking about the backrest, i'm talking about sliding the whole seat back) is about 1cm or less. If you can't reach the top of the wheel at the 2 and 10 position and have your wrist or base of your palm on the wheel normally you're already too far back, if you're fine, you should be able to do this safely. thanx for the gd advice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westernside Neutral Newbie March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Hi im driving a vios tat no matter hw gd i drive my fc still e same 400-430 per tank wif topping up of 39-40L, but whereby most of my frien they drive e pre fl or fl they can hit 530-600 anytime...... Reall wan to knw wat reall goes wrong where my ride is stock wif bar, 195/50/R15, w/o spare tire, boot beri empty n most of e time is oni im e 1 so no passenger...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Hi im driving a vios tat no matter hw gd i drive my fc still e same 400-430 per tank wif topping up of 39-40L, but whereby most of my frien they drive e pre fl or fl they can hit 530-600 anytime...... Reall wan to knw wat reall goes wrong where my ride is stock wif bar, 195/50/R15, w/o spare tire, boot beri empty n most of e time is oni im e 1 so no passenger...... wat year is ur vios? u owned it firsthand since day 1? if u bought it used, u dun know if prev owner maintained it well. best is if u get a mechanic to check ur car. many maintenance issues can affect the FC of a car, especially if it's a rather old car with high mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Hi im driving a vios tat no matter hw gd i drive my fc still e same 400-430 per tank wif topping up of 39-40L, but whereby most of my frien they drive e pre fl or fl they can hit 530-600 anytime...... Reall wan to knw wat reall goes wrong where my ride is stock wif bar, 195/50/R15, w/o spare tire, boot beri empty n most of e time is oni im e 1 so no passenger...... You can try pumping a full tank of Caltex 92 or 95 with techron to clean up the engine. Else time to bring it for servicing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Fir a good cause to help poor me lah. The major reason holding me back from installing it, is that if it's so good and beig around for many years, why car mfr did not adapt it into their production . Reason is, all these extra gadgets will add up to cost. Mine came factory installed. Remembering your foot position is one good idea. If you have sensitive butt and keen hearing it will help too. After some time, you would have probably be in tune with your car's "expression". Sometimes I depend on the slightest engine noise and vibration to give me the feedback. The moment I sense the slightest stress I will release the pedal slightly to allow the momentum to build up. Then slightly apply pressure again to bring the car to a higher cruising speed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 i can't afford a turbo charged car, so no boost gauge....will juz learn to go easy on my foot I have a friend who drives a Land Rover (LR club member). He is bloody good with throttle control despite the absence of any aid. His manual gear change, acceleration, and cruise control is immaculate. No jerkiness, smooth as silk. He says he is sensitive to the vibration and sound of the engine. That's his guide and gauge. Before I bought my car, I didn't know that it has a factory installed turbo charger. I wouldn't expect a tiny car to have one. Only knew when I spoke to the sales person at C & C. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Hi im driving a vios tat no matter hw gd i drive my fc still e same 400-430 per tank wif topping up of 39-40L, but whereby most of my frien they drive e pre fl or fl they can hit 530-600 anytime...... Reall wan to knw wat reall goes wrong where my ride is stock wif bar, 195/50/R15, w/o spare tire, boot beri empty n most of e time is oni im e 1 so no passenger...... I would take the advice of Timex1441. Send your ride for a check up. After that, monitor the performance. At lease 3 tanks of distance to give you an average reading. Thereafter, you can consider whether to have add-ons or not. I would suggest that you master the throttle first. Then go step by step identifying the mod you need part by part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 There are many reasons why a car suffers poor FC. Basic reasons are:- 1) Engine oil and oil filter needs replacement. 2) Air filter clogged. 3) Tyre under inflated. 4) Wheel alignment off. 5) Worn out bearings (drive shaft or others) Once you have got these sorted out, there will be finer points to further improve the FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raskal Neutral Newbie March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 i was wondering.. which is saving money in petrol. 1) rx8 2) subaru wrx 3) honda type R 4) OR NONE? im planning to buy a car.. so kinda lost.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 update: esso 5000 - 11.57 km/l - 253 km (a bit less reving from traffic lights and mostly 80 km/h on highway only occasional 90km/h on highway guess how 1 drive made most of the diff, & i die die won't go back to the old worn out sparkie, at least wif the iridiums i can rev more if i wan (no more the old sloppy) btw max speed on highway made a big diff cos of physics - drag http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drag_(physics)#Power drag is velocity to the power of 3 ! i guess find that ideal cruse speed for 1's veh can max the km per drop of fuel btw energy loss = rolling resistance + braking losses + drag rolling resistance is a function of tyre + clutch + gear + internal engine friction (use good synthetic engine oil) so if 1 drive too slow, all the energy get burn in rolling resistance, poor fuel economy oso if machiam can do this that would be ideal brake energy recovery http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&...mp;aql=&oq= (too bad to get that 1, 1 need to drive http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Prius, 100k+ darn X ) Can observe about 25% FC diference if I managed to detour regular traffic jams along route. In theory, we should be driving at engine speed with maximum torque, but many cars body design not that aerodynamic/comfortable, irregardless of gear ratios. Ever clocked 28.83km/H on local roads (believe to be around ideal condition). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 i was wondering.. which is saving money in petrol. 1) rx8 2) subaru wrx 3) honda type R 4) OR NONE? im planning to buy a car.. so kinda lost.... you want performance don't look at saving petrol but from your list, the one with the "less worse" fuel consumption would be the Type R. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westernside Neutral Newbie March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 But which workshop better as i check wif some of my workshop they say i step too hard or they say the same thing like other, n im the third owner n im reall nt sure did e previous owner do anything to e car o nt but i try on my fc when i 1st get my car n on 14" rim n nw 15" rim........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 It would probably be better if you send it back to Borneo Motor workshop. See what they have to say. There may be some mods done by previous owners that you know nothing about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westernside Neutral Newbie April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 But i did check wif them on e fc but they say like tat wan haiz her liao sian like neber give me a ans, but i try other petrol but e gain is jialat then shell....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 No... well, I do not have whatever I consider unnecessary in the car, but this is more for performance reasons... as for the rest, I guess I'd rather just enjoy driving... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 dun drive... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...