Pioneer 4th Gear May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 yup.. hear from other ppl that flushin is actually not neccessary too.. I was tempted to do so with my old jazz then ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 9, 2006 Share May 9, 2006 If you have faithfully follow the recommended oil change schudule and using the right oil as per owner handbook there is no need to do flushing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 arh.... here's the advise from the expert. yah lor hor... wait want to clean the engine become clean our wallet.... and i agree, regular oil change should do the job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 hahaha.. usually only older car need to flush the engine... another way to flush the engine is to do a cheapo mineral oil change.... go for the cheapest... i think there is some where it is onli $20+... then drive it for 1 petrol tank... finally go for your normal oil change... cheaper and no need to do it so offen... i think normal engine flush cost not cheap also... flushing the engine somehow will help on FC... especially the older car where u dunno what are the deposit inside the engine after so many years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 Errr.... for $20+ cost of mineral oil to run on one tank of petrol..... this works out to about the same cost of putting in a dose of engine flush during the oil change leh. I believe that this method does not remove the gunk inside as well as using the engine flush. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondmok Neutral Newbie May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 What about gear box? How often do we flush them? They have more surface contact too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
O2asis Neutral Newbie May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 Allow me to chip in my 2 cents Stay clear of such engine flush if you can. They contain strong solvent and does limited flushing of the carbon sludge present in the engine. During the 10-15 min present in your engine, it would have shear your engine oil and this may even cause some damage to the metal surface. Why do you think on the can of flush it mention not to race your engine. It also dry up your seals and this could lead to leaks. Not to mention the chunks of deposit that could be dislodge. What happens when they come near moving parts. Currently I only know of 2 products in the market that really does a safe and good job cleaning out the layers of carbonacous deposits without damaging metal or having seal compatiablity problems. Auto-RX and Lube Control. The best for this job being Auto-RX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 So true. Read in webby of "Bob the oil guy" that engine flushing cud damage the engine due to it's solvents. Just follow the manufacturers recommendations of oil change using a good quality synthetic engine oil & the dirt will b suspended in the oil & is flushed out with every oil change. If a company recommends an engine flush, they cud b causing u to have more problems later on. It's just another way of "flushing' the $$$ from you pocket. Just like all the other types of flushing around. Yeobh the expert also dosen't recommend it. My car is more than 360K km & never needed any flush. I even had the top cover opened & it's still very clean inside. Don't waste your $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
O2asis Neutral Newbie May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 My own experience After running in with the factory fill oil, I have only use synthetic oil and kept to the regular OCI. However near to the 2 years mark, with more than 80,000KM done, I did an auto-rx. It makes a noticeable difference as I believe it clean up my ring packs. Even the oil that was drain out during the clean and rinse phase was dirty. Did not open up my oil filter though. What I'll be doing now is use of Lube Control every oil change and an Auto-RX routine every 3 years :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 10, 2006 Share May 10, 2006 If your engine is not very clogged up, it sud b OK, but note the solvents can attack the metal, gaskets & seals. Also if any large lumps of gook starts floating around in the oil, it may block some of the small oil passages which will cause oil starvation to that area. That's why he don't recommend anybody doing the "Engine Flush". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerrylee Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 Hmmm I'm a newbie in this but just did an engine flush after 40k mileage. I've heard of all the damages it may make to the engine but frankly I tot that the engine runs smoother now after the flush...does anybody serious abt engine have any webpages to recommend? I'm sure engine flush has its definite pros coz there are tonnes of solvents developed just for it...just not too sure of the implications Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 AutoRx is an ester. It is slow cleaning over 5k km. Not some 10min flush. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siemens60 Clutched May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 where can I get autoRx? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 Check with Trex101 or O2asis for details. No, they don't retail it but I believe they can point to someone who does. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 I don't know of anyone that sell it here but there's someone up north that does it. http://www.auto-rx-online.com/index.php?op...ontact&Itemid=3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
O2asis Neutral Newbie May 24, 2006 Share May 24, 2006 I brought a few extra bottle and if you're interested, drop me a mail. [email protected] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 24, 2006 Share May 24, 2006 stick to mineral for the next 5K more, before switching to synthetic. just in case the engine has not fully worn out. also, positive recommendation is to stick a magnet to the underside of the oil filter. yes, magnet will work on cars, in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie May 24, 2006 Share May 24, 2006 Still sold to the idea of frequently using ester oils to compete for the "cleanest engine in town" title. Nono, i dun like flushing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...