Chenqien Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 hmm.. u might be right la.. but evo/sti and mx-5 appeal to diff grp of pple... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 definately evo/sti and mx-5 appeal to a very different group of people. singaporeans are very practical, thus there are so many pre f/l wrx on the road but not anymore for the 2.5L wrx. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysteria Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 bro is a diff ball game... u are comparing apple to orange which doesn't make sense.. u dun compare a SLK with a Jaguar ya? some pple swear by soft top/2 seats , some sedans, some MPVs, some SUV, some turbo-ed, which is ur EVOs and Rexs. True that evos and rexs are performance racing cars.. boosting huge horsies, but to some, they will think that its afterall a sedan..of coz they are definately not as comfy as most cars, as their shocks/ride are harder some pple just love the softtop and topless feel.. its like driving a "SPORTS" car.. yea? well tats to my perspection, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 but with 110k....most would simply either add in another 10k for a brand new Evo, or probably get a STI and still got left over. other than the roadster feeling from the mx5, lesser on road as well. the evos and sti are far superior in power, handling and value for $$$ compared to mx5. both evo and sti have 4 ddoors, bigger boot space. I must have heard something similar applied to many cars a million times over. For a marginal X dollar more, you get A more power, B more handling, C more speed. Let's repeat, a lightweight FR roadster is not about 'superior power, handling and value'. Its about lifestyle and fun. The argument CANNOT go on indefinitely about power handling and value. It's completely different from what roadster-lovers are looking for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 bro, did u understood my conversation with chenqien fully? basically wat u said is wat me and him actually discussing about. read up our conversation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 seems tat u guys dont read, we already said the 2 different types of car appeal to different groups of people and singaporeans are practical. mx-5 dont seem practical to most. sigh, issit typical singaporeans or wat?...read and understand before replying can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 Most people I know who owns 2 seaters (MX5, Z3, bla..bla) have more than one car in their household. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyv9 Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 "hmm.. new mx5 looks nicer than the old version i feel great handling too, seat on my friend's ride... contrastly, the MRS is a mid engine .. very high mantainace, handling wise, stock to stock , the MX5 is better." I thought mid engine are suppose to be better in the handling arena? since weight are distributed evenly. kindly elaborate on your reasoning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 it seems that im getting flame by ppl who dont read properly la...chenqien bro, explain to them leh...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 IC - Well, you may be right - there are definitely far fewer 3rd Gen MX5 compared to older series of MX5. Perhaps a possible reason could be when the MX5 first came out many years ago -it was the first real "econo" 2 seater topless roadster - hence popular - no competition Fast forward 10 years to the present day and 2 generations of MX5 - far more competition now like the Toyota MRS or Opel Tigra and the vastly popular but still girly - Peugoet 206 Cabrio - possible reason? I think so I think SLKs and 3,6 series and Z4 cabriolets are cars for a different market whom can afford second or third cars just for fun - so cannot count. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 aiyah.. dun argue la.. come here is talk cxxk and exchange ideas 1 and make friends and enjoy urself.. everyone speak nice nice can liaoz loh.. eh btw issac.. goind by ur nick.. u juz ord-ed and if so frm which camp ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 haven ord...1 yr left..from sbab Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 agreed.. but mx-5 sorta epitomised the way a roadster could be as compared to the other opel and peugoet.. pardon me for saying this but "econo" continental roadsters nowadays dun look sexy enough leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 cos i know of another issac frm my camp whcih ord same day as me and also 85 1.. so i was thinking you might be him.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 haha , u ord how long liao? 85 also? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 yah i ord 2 months liaoz i also 85 one... jc batch 1.. u poly right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 correct..poly one, nxt may then ord lo...i do 1yr 10months...enhance batch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 swee loh u all.. do 1 yr 10mnths.. i enhanced also must do 2yrs 2 mnths.. knn hhaa ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...