Boon88 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 i dunno how bros out here will react to my thread here.... ok.bros out here ,lets say u r to choose within a civic sir and civic fd 1.6 , which will u get? another question is tat if i were to get the civic sir which have 2 yrs left on the coe,will i stand to lose much if i scarp it after 1yr use?the price for the sir is ard 33k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 if the SIR left 2 years for COE, you better pay in full to buy it. no pt going on loan. anyway, you and i know that new car is better than old car anytime. so the general advise from here is to buy FD 1.6, if you can afford it. SIR is damm good car, but prepare for repairs here and there. I'm on EG, BTW. so i know the kind of repairs you will need to do to SIR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stock245r Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 For this to work, you'll need to find out the parf rebate for the SiR first. Next, you work out the depreciation and compare that to the FD1.6 (That's if you wanna choose purely based on depreciation). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boon88 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Author Share August 2, 2006 here is the details of the sir.coe-$29100 omv-$19949.selling at $33333 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boon88 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Author Share August 2, 2006 ya.all civic lover will agree tat the ek and eg is the best batch of civic ever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 yeah lor. sigh... too bad its an aging car. i was also quite tempted to go for SIR now. but 2nd thought, just switched to new car la, if i'm getting rid of my eg now. looking at $33333 for that SIR, it seems quite ex ar? the paper value now is only abt $20k, right? worth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boon88 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Author Share August 2, 2006 base on calculation is sure not worth.but the diff between the ek and fd is 160hp and 120hp.haiz headache ah.actually i had ask a few of my close frd for advise before.but all of them had given me the same answer.they ask me to grow up,ek is outdated liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skychua Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 i dunno how bros out here will react to my thread here.... ok.bros out here ,lets say u r to choose within a civic sir and civic fd 1.6 , which will u get? another question is tat if i were to get the civic sir which have 2 yrs left on the coe,will i stand to lose much if i scarp it after 1yr use?the price for the sir is ard 33k if u choose to own e Sir be prepare to spent money on repair cos it will be whack hard by its previous owner just like wat i did to my previous esi before i sell it away. Its really not worth to get a old car as u never know wat they did to e car before u own it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 (edited) even a honda hater will tell you that the eg and ek civics (along with the S2k and DC2R) are some of the best cars around, dun even need to compare with civics. My cousin swapped from his 97 ek vti to a brand new mazda3 and he regrets it. I say your heart is set on the ek. 1) get the ek compression tested 2) get the radiator pressure tested 3) get the car on the hoist and get a mech to inspect all joints and look for leaks. 4) check the performance of the g/box. should be smooth not notchy and you should be able to change gears easily even while downshifting at high rpms 5) check to make sure it has a full service history. Edited August 2, 2006 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 i got a better idea for you. try to buy a ES model, maybe 2004 or 2005 registered. i may think it more worth it. still under warrenty, so its pretty safe to own it. ES model still mod until swee swee... think abt it. i noticed 2005 model, selling price is abt $54k. 2004 model is abt 50k. still can bargain..... if i let go my eg, i will get a ES model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boon88 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Author Share August 2, 2006 es.u refering to vti or vtis? vti is single cam ,can mod until how fast? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 assuming you already own the sir and thinking of chg to FD ... then w/o a doubt ... EK 4 is the way to go if you are thinking of buying a EK 4 vs FD ... then the chances are 50 / 50 ... depending what kind of EK 4 you can get on open mkt there are indeed some good condition EK lying ard ... a lot of rich pple still keeping it as market buay chai vehicle + weekend vent anger vehicle ... 1 owner ... accident free but want unmodified EK 4 ... you hv better chance of finding a ah gua in geylang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 FD 1.6 also single cam wat..... then you still thinking of buying? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 unmodified EK 4? yeah got, old primary school teachers driving one....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evildoer Neutral Newbie August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 dun need mod la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 (edited) my advice to u is - Financial wise - DO NOT get it To fuel ur thirst for speed, power n handling - GO FOR IT BTW, if u r only 18yrs old (as in ur Avatar)... it'll will b very very tough to get a loan. moreover, ur insurance will be like... out of this world. juz speaking from experience Edited August 2, 2006 by Imamiah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 buy car get teacher's "lesson" or buy teacher's leasson get car ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 2, 2006 Share August 2, 2006 es.u refering to vti or vtis? vti is single cam ,can mod until how fast? 1. Honda is one early adopter of low emission vehicle maker. They invested so much on SOHC engine that is fuel saving and hopefully not compromising too much on HP along the way. Of course, you want good performance, you go always look at PI for the Type R import. 2. If you mod sure can achieve performance but at what cost and price? ES chassis can acommodate K20 engine anytime but our Govt will say no to you. This can only happen in MY. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...