Kelpie 2nd Gear August 10, 2006 Share August 10, 2006 1. Acura doesn't have very high cc cars like V8 or 4.xL in the Lexus offerings in USA but they do use SOHC specifications on their luxury class cars. a) RL 3.5L SOHC VTEC(Large Size Sedan) = 290/6200, 256lbs-ft/5000 b) MDX 3.5L(SUV)SOHC VTEC = 253/5800, 250lbs-ft/3500-5000 2. Is it really a bad idea to use SOHC for entry-level, FC-Pinching family sedans/MPVs? I think your message is quite clear that DOHC is preferred for performance and top end cars. But how many drive performance and top end cars on the road? Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear August 11, 2006 Share August 11, 2006 As I had mentioned to you in another thread, the Honda 3.5L is a V6 engine. And by virtue of the V6 configuration, it is a DOHC ... one cam shaft per bank of 3 cylinders of each 'V'. There is no such thing as an SOHC V6 engine, technically speaking. One bank of 3 cylinders' head is seperated from the other set of 3 cylinders by the V-angle. How to have a SINGLE OHC regulating all 24 valves on both sides of the 'V'? It is physically NOT possible. Thus the luxury Accuras are indeed DOHC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 11, 2006 Share August 11, 2006 (edited) Lets wait for the reply from Acura. They also have DOHC V6 for their TL but SOHC V6 for their RL. If it is DOHC engine, they will mention it in their specifications. They have two SOHC cars so far and the rest are DOHCs. Regards, Edited August 11, 2006 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear August 11, 2006 Share August 11, 2006 Hi, why you guys are so infatuated the fuccking DOHC/SOHC , I am also sian liao even if i started this topic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passim 1st Gear August 11, 2006 Share August 11, 2006 The main advantages of Single Overhead Camshaft engine over Double Overhead Camshaft engine are cost and reliability, i.e. SOHC engine cost less to produce and is more reliable as it has less moving parts than DOHC engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullbig Clutched August 11, 2006 Share August 11, 2006 I also realise in those topics on new car models, this SOCK and DOCK talk always surface and end up dominating the entire thread... This is really interesting...... I drive a SOHC car....it doesn't matter to me, as long as my car is troublefree, I'm happy.... Can we talk something else on this new STREAM?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched August 11, 2006 Author Share August 11, 2006 Correction. 1.8X cannot get rear disc brakes. For VSA option, you need to install the navigation system but since this option is not allowed. Singaporeans are not able to enjoy rear disc for 1.8X. If you need, rear disc, RSZ only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 Yah, I agree I also driving a SOHC car which I do not see a problem with that Yesterday go and see the latest Stream at Ubi car mart. I think it is much nicer. Also there is a few improvement over the old version. Also, I compare it with Wish which is available at the showroom there, but I think I better stop here before kena complaint by Wish owner ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...