Porche 5th Gear August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 price a bit on the high side, got 1000cc and 800cc..strange 800cc got auto, must be underpowered liao ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 Pricing is definitely too high for a 800cc car that does 0-100 in 21.9 seconds! The high end Spark auto is $41088 and a Kia Rio 1.4 auto is only around $3000 more. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear August 19, 2006 Author Share August 19, 2006 Ya read it in today's ST, review by Christopher Tan... Spark going for $37999. Well his review is generally good about the Chevy Spark but the price is on the high side.... Also minimal safety devices found on the Spark (No BAS & no air bags, which is expected). So think unless they lower their prices, the Spark won't be sparking much here in SIngapore.... Moooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolpica 4th Gear August 20, 2006 Share August 20, 2006 It'll be good if car magazines can compare write an article that will pit Picanto, Kelisa, Getz 1.1 and Spark in a group test. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolpica 4th Gear August 20, 2006 Share August 20, 2006 U are right in saying the price of Spark is high on the surface when compared to other 1L cars. However, it may due to a higher OMV... just guessing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear August 20, 2006 Share August 20, 2006 Anyone know where this Spark assembled from ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear August 20, 2006 Share August 20, 2006 either thai or korea... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duh_bing Neutral Newbie August 20, 2006 Share August 20, 2006 saw a sticker w korean words pasted on the chasis... but suppose it can be thai assembled too... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 Hey guys, Check out the new Chevy Spark here! http://www.chevrolet.com.sg/content_data/A...lash/index.html Looks way nicer than Chery QQ.... Think they quality and all should be much higher too??? Moooooooooooooooooo Saw the car in the showroom. Jus my thots: Bearing in mind this is afterall another budget car, i feel the overall quality of the interior is not too bad and the fit is quite good. Equipment list and space is adequate for its purpose. What would work against it though is the pricing. Given the other few options in this range, its closest competitor I would say is the picanto. Din test drive it though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngweibing Neutral Newbie August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 wowow.. another small CC car in Sg and who have test drive it?....there seem to be a lot of small CC cars coming ot SG? why is that so? is it bocs of high gas price or...? This year alone we have a few 1L cars, Subaru R1 & R2, "I" mitsubishi, QQ etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear August 21, 2006 Author Share August 21, 2006 Wow cool... You'd been to the showroom to look see the Spark huh??? So did you managed to test drive it while you were there??? Think the killer for the Spark is the price but it's also likely due to the higher OMV... But I dunno lah... Drove past Star Auto on Sat or Sun and saw the small fan fare but dun think there's a huge crowd.. Just a few customers inside... Also they had deployed a couple of placard adverts with the guys walking along the walkway, which is silly and ineffective I think... The area does not have high volume of human traffic... Hahaha.... Anyway, didn;t see any test drive units on the road... But looking at the pics on the website, think it looks ok and the review was not all bad... Mooooooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivioman Neutral Newbie August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 It's a Daewoo Matiz with a different badge! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronaldo Neutral Newbie August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 QQ is a copy of Daewoo Matiz or the now Chevy Spark mah.... They (Chevy and GM) were in a legal suit over the design (Copying) in China... Dunno the price though.... Mooooooo Yup! And Chevy lost the suit.. The Chinese court threw the case out. Anyway when I was working in China, I nearly bought the Spark. The price was about S$10K with all the registration and number plates. Saw the QQ too but not impressive at all. In fact disappointment. So when the QQ came to SG, I just go look see and as expected, just as bad. Spark could be a better choice. I still remember the Chevy Spark advert in China, the hairdresser ask the lady customer, "Jian Duo Shao? (How much you want me to Cut?), she replied, RMB10,000 as that was the discount during the price battle between both companies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 (edited) Was servicing my car so jus pop by the showroom section to look see and kapo. The car would probrably would have gota bit more attention if not for the timing of the launch... seventh month and time lag behind QQ (stole a lot of the limelight be it good or bad). If the OMV is indeed higher and overall better fit and material (still budget though), then it may do some justification to the slightly pricier tag. But it takes discerning buyers to be able to recognise this. Edited August 21, 2006 by Alfc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear August 21, 2006 Author Share August 21, 2006 Wow $10K only... Cool! The ad must be funny.... Well, too many small cars liow so think it's gonna be interesting to see which brand and model will dominate the local roads... At present, think many Picantos and of cuz Getz.... Chery QQ I'd only seen 2... Still waiting to see Mitsubishi i and the Subaru R1 & R2 (Very interesting looking cars I must say) Mooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronaldo Neutral Newbie August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 Oh. I test drive the R1 last Sat and it is indeed a very small car. I feel so intimidated driving it on the road. Maybe its more of a ladies car as MI hosted a UOB Ladies Card thingy for the soft launch of the R1 and R2. Though both are of similar shape and size, the R2 is much spacious with the 4 door design. For the R1, the back seat is almost non existence! So I would consider it 2 seater. Well the launch did not attract a huge crowd despite the TNP New Face hopefuls gather at the TPY branch for a photoshoot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear August 21, 2006 Author Share August 21, 2006 Oh ok... How's the interior of the R1 and the drive? Fit and finish is good? I would take the R2 anytime I think, solely based on the looks and the userbility of having 4 doors.... Oh Subaru fielded the TNP New Fce hopefuls when launching the R1 & R2 when they're targeting ladies for these 2 models??? Hmmm..... Wrong choice I should say.. Should have fielded hunks.... Hahaha! Moooooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 21, 2006 Share August 21, 2006 Ya read it in today's ST, review by Christopher Tan... Spark going for $37999. Well his review is generally good about the Chevy Spark but the price is on the high side.... Also minimal safety devices found on the Spark (No BAS & no air bags, which is expected). So think unless they lower their prices, the Spark won't be sparking much here in SIngapore.... Moooooooo Check out the QQ! Its at an amazing price of $29K!!! Time to get a 3rd car! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...