Latio CVT Problem

Vit4wd

I think i will go for the $3000 discount. Like u mentioned still 3yrs warranty period.

Nothing wrong with cars parked under no shelters, with or without owners. 2nd hand Latios are not that cheap either furthermore with mileage accumulated & warranty period shortened, i feel that it's not worth it.

I dunno about you, but to me $3,000 is quite a bit of money here. To some rich kids it might be "peanuts" or "no big deal".

Cheers.

Totally agree with you.

What's the big deal of buying a car left on the shelf for a year?

Not as if it's left on the shelf for 10 years.

pardon me for saying this.. but say if one is to go abroad for several months.. would he just leave the car idling, leaving it alone for the say 6-7 months? i have come across some owners who mentioned they did leave their new cars alone for say 3-4 weeks... coz due to external posting... come back, their new car "sounded" and behaved very differently... it simply isn't the same anymore..

i may be wrong.. but i tot cars, if one isn't going to drive for some time, at least it should be warmed up and be brought onto the expressways and roads for about 20-40km each week? leaving the car alone for 4 weeks alreadie got some problems with those owners? but say leaving the "new" car alone for 1 yr? [:/]

can any real gurus enlighten me on this?

can enlighten me on leaving ur car "untouched" for few weeks situation? say 1-2 months? i tot its NOT okie..

now its about leaving it alone for say nearly 1 yr? [:/]

Edited by Weixiang_06

YOM == Year of Manufacture... in 2005

Its not the financial year we are talking about here... but seriously if the discount was more like immediate $6k off the price.. then okie.. can take the risk.. $3k discount, i feel not very worth it... you dun know what happened to the car for the past 1 yr when its left idling???

Edited by Weixiang_06

can any real gurus tell me what will happen if you leave your car untouched for weeks? say 4-6 weeks? then say longer duration 3-6 months..

even longer duration 9-12 months?

please enlighten me... thanks... i tot we aren't suppose to leave our cars completely untouched even if we aren't going to use them for weeks...

but my problem still not answered by any real gurus here...

what's the effect of leaving ur car untouched for extended periods of time..

referring to weeks...

4-6 weeks?

then to months...

6-12 months? [lipsrsealed]

i try google.. but din get any solid answers...

Edited by Weixiang_06

I left my Accent idling for abt 3 weeks when I went to Japan....

tire a bit flat.... otherwise everything ok.....

aint a guru.... but now the car still rev happy.... but going to dump her next month liao [dizzy][dizzy]

I'm not a guru, but I supposed the effect of leaving ur car untouched for extended periods of time (say 3 or 4 mths) might result in a totally flat battery. And thus the cae cannot be started. I am talking about cars that have left the factory.

As for cars that have yet to be collected by their new owners, I'm not sure about the process. Maybe the battery is not connected up until weeks before collection when they connect up the car properly and do some tests before delivering it to customer.

Maybe those who work in the appropriate industry can shed some light on this.

saw ur previous thread about u getting a new ride.. congrats! [:)]

but me more concerned about leaving car idling for extended period of time.. in this case, i am curious to know what exactly will happen if you leave ur car untouched for say 9-12 months.. since the Year Of Manufacture was in 2005.. Its nearly Oct 2006 now...

[sweatdrop] would they do some special treatment to the car to make it like new, but apparently its not really so.... more worried about internal damage suffered which has no tell tale signs till its too late? perhaps when the 3yrs is over? [lipsrsealed]

Kinda curious... how come the tyres can become flat when it's left unused for 3 weeks?

Some naughty kids go and let out air from your ride? [:p]

yah.. hope those who work in the appropriate industry can shed some light on this...

thanks alot...

hope to help Vit4wd make a correct decision too.... a car totally untouched for 9-12 months.... [sweatdrop]

yeah absolutely true, for Hondas, they have one holding area along Woodlands road...all open space, park so close to each other... with weather stains.

I think Subaru has one along upp bukit timah rd. I saw protons some where also, can't remember where.

Wah lau... you damn kan cheong on finding out if its ok to leave the car for extended periods of time [laugh] Think abt it... the car leaves the factory on a trailer. gets driven off (i.e. on for all of say 2/3mins) then waits for its turn to get into a container. Thereafter the container waits till its time to be moved off via ship to another country. All in its abt 2 mths. then theres more waiting in the docks at the country of designation before being delivered. Its roughly 2-3mths and your new car still runs fine [laugh]

I have left my Ka (pun intended) at Tullamarine airport in excess of 3mths sitting out in the open. Tyres a lil flat, and dusty beyond belief, but she started up and ran as she always had. Same with the 180 except its stupid battery died (Was on its way out anyway). But she ran as she always did.

Only thing i did was let them idle till totally warmed up rather than give it that 20sec wait time before driving off. Why? because i wanted to make sure that the lub doing its job properly (esp when it came to the seals). I honestly don't know if this actually does anything but i would rather be safe than sorry.

Btw for 6mths to a year, i would suggest you get an oil change plus get a nice full tank for "fresh" fuel as soon as possible. The latter is probably why people feel that their cars arent running as good as before as the octane rating would have dropped.

Edited by Elfenstar