Picanto 3rd Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Mine is made in Singapore lol... at least that is what they state on the box... then should be safe lor.......... but no studies have been done to show whether it has adverse effects on our lungs....... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilla18 Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 (edited) Ok guys most of the ioniser and ozoneiser in the market are safe to use. As for Ozone this so call pollutant is around us all this while and things like copier, laser printer and electrical item all create high charge it will form Ozone but ozone is very volatile as within 30min it will revert back to oxygen. Even when there is thunder storm it will also create ozone so guys don't worry so far there is no report that ozone has kill anyone but if you sit close to a copier and it is always printing you may feel nauseous and headache so you may have breath in too much ozone just move away from the copier and you should feel better. Ok just to give you more information on ozone, please take note I Edited April 12, 2009 by Chilla18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilla18 Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 Ok guys a little more information on Ioniser this information can be found if you goggle. Proper Levels of Ionization Too Much Ionization Turns Walls Black! Ion Generators simply negatively charge the air's ions so that floating dust particles will cling to a surface in the room, much in the way static electricity does. They are toys compared to real ozone generators. There are quite a few problems associated with ion generators. To do air cleaning, meaning removing pollutants, you need a very large amount of ions. More than has been recognized as a safe level. According to air science, indoor air has 100 to 200 ions per cubic cm, outdoor fresh air has 200 to 500 ions per cubic cm, and a fresh clean forest will have 1,500 to 5,000 ions per cubic cm. Ion generators typically produce more than 1,000,000 to 10,000,000 negative ions per cubic cm. Some machines even boast an output of 500 trillion negative ions per cubic cm! This is simply too much. Ion generators that produce negative ions of about 10,000 to 30,000 per cubic cm, the amount of negative ions output is good enough for giving indoor air that fresh clean smell, and yet is not too much as to be irritating to your eyes, lungs, and throat. Overuse of negative ionization pushes dust particles to the walls and floor. In fact for ionization to be truly effective, ionizers must generate so many ions that they cause headaches and sore throats. More is not always better! The fact is even with this overabundance of ionization there is only limited, temporary air cleaning being done and ZERO Air Purifying being accomplished. Nothing is being killed by the ions. Nothing is being Purified. In other words ionizers are simply pushing around the floating dirt to the surfaces in your room! Too Much Ionization Will Turn Walls Black! The problem with this is that the same dust can be kicked right back into the air for you to breathe. The dirt that does not begin to float again will stick to whatever surface is close. After a few months walls, floors, appliances, and furniture begin to build up a layer of dirt on them. If you put an ionizer on a table near a wall, the wall will develop a black halo of dirt in just a couple of days! Realize that what all so-called "air cleaning" ionizers do is limited to pushing around lightweight particles of dust. They cannot effectively kill odors. For removing odors, and light dust only OZONE works the best by killing offending organisms. If in fact you have severe dust problems it is much better to collect dust in a true HEPA filter rather than have an ionizer create a film of dirt on your household surfaces. We also offer a high quality line of the worlds best HEPA filters for serious dust & dander problems. If dust and odors are present, a combination of an ozone generator and a HEPA filter are the best method of dealing with these problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 At the end of the day, nothing beat a good vaccum and cleaning of the car interior. Don't dine or smoke in the car. Don't use air refreshener. Use Ionizer in moderation. Change air-con filter regularly. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 Check this out!!! http://www.air-purifiers-info.com/11078-car-ionizer.htm Happen to come across this site & starts to get worry. Any expert here got any advice? I was told that too much negative ions is bad for health . . . . . Wanted to get one for car but the unker at the shop stopped me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 I was told that too much negative ions is bad for health . . . . . Wanted to get one for car but the unker at the shop stopped me. think better dun use whatever ion thing as no govt board has done testing and declare it as safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 get SHARP plasmacluster ion for vehicle use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 so we should avoid those split unit aircons with ionisers built in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Romano Neutral Newbie April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 negative ions are surely better than none. the benefits for negative ions and ozones are well known and understood. anything excessive is NO GOOD. be it, eat, drink, exercise, travel, gaming, etc. (even SEX!) most important thing is to MAKE SURE everything is within the safety limit! if there is a machine that is sure to be kept within safety standards then it is sure GOOD to be used! guys, no need to worry too much lah~ just find out which system that had passed the safety tests and regulations then it is good arh~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malie Neutral Newbie April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 At the end of the day, nothing beat a good vaccum and cleaning of the car interior. Don't dine or smoke in the car. Don't use air refreshener. Use Ionizer in moderation. Change air-con filter regularly. Regards, I agree..and add those charcoal boxes or filter...damn effective in removing odours.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Romano Neutral Newbie April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 actually, i hv split opinions about the air refresheners! most of the people use them. and for the other people who don't use them they tend to think they are bad. i agree if and only if they are PERFUME and or ARTIFICIAL flavours. so, my statement is; 1st choice => ionizers + ozone purifier (within safety standards, of course) 2nd choice => aromatic (i.e. essential oils) air fresheners!!!!!!!! 3nd choice => use quality charcoal items, i.e. fresheners, packs, cushions etc. last choice => opne window drives in the early day and the late nights when there are not much cars on the roads~ in my car, i use (1), (2), (3) and sometimes (4). they all work very well for me. so just a 2cents comments for any brave souls. pls let me know what u think after u try it yeah~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Romano Neutral Newbie April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 so we should avoid those split unit aircons with ionisers built in? dont worry too much bro~ for a car company that "dare" to put those units in, they are sensible enough to keep them within the safety limits. so it shall be safe. after all, who wants and willing for people to sue their company for any harmful results? common sense prevails~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Recently saw the TV and print advert for a japanese plasma cluster ion generator. There is this battery operated small unit that is sold as 'mosituriser for office girls' the water molecules can stick to skin to retain moisture. Feel tempted to buy for my wife from Denki. Before that.....I need some feedback from those who are using such plasma cluster generator at home or inside car. Any comments? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 i only use those that are also capable of kill germs which cost me about $300. thats y i always tell my friends y buy those that don kill germs but give u perfumed germs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 2nd choice => aromatic (i.e. essential oils) air fresheners!!!!!!!! where can get this? used to see some car with a big container of water swirling around, but my car not enough space for that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Which one kill germs? You mean it comes with filter? I am thinking to get the Japanese car plasma cluster(without filter type), to freshen up my car. Since the car aircon has the filter already, surely it can trap the dead virus and bacteria on the car filter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 You must be really scared everyday, because your phone, your computer, most of your car electronics and LED, batteries, solar film, your ERP cash card reader even the underwear you wear are also made in China Sorry couldn't help it. hehehe .. but most ionisers are made in china. that's the scary part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 (edited) Which one kill germs? You mean it comes with filter? I am thinking to get the Japanese car plasma cluster(without filter type), to freshen up my car. Since the car aircon has the filter already, surely it can trap the dead virus and bacteria on the car filter? mine comes with 2 filters can filter down to 0.3 microm or something. also have active carbon and UV lamp. UV lamp is the one that kill germs. filters don kill germs only trap dust. might be a bed for germs to grow too paid $200 for it. its designed and manufactured by a singapore company. saw last month at their KL retail now selling s$150. if u wan, next week i going kl, help u to buy.... Edited June 30, 2011 by Tom_kkh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...