Old topic: Fuel consumption for skoda

King

just found out the 63L tank is for Octavia 4x4, whereby the normal octavia is 55L

is this is correct info, then my FC is getting better

my full tank i ever hit 650km and i pump 45L-50L

way better than my friend impreza 1.6L manual. he pump 50-55L for 60l fuel tank only at 440-460km mark

i stay in the north, average km per day is around 40-60km

weekly i pump 45-50L, slightly a bit moer than my old 1.3L ride...

I always wonder how people measure full tank mileage unless you drive until the engine halted due to fuel empty.

BTW, I'm getting 10.5l/km average for Octy SR1.6. with 17" wheel.

Piang !! How u end up with such good FC hah ?

About to finish my 2nd tank liao. So far both time pump also 49+L (I pump when the needle hit the red mark in the last quarter tank). So far only covered 890+ km with 80/20 (city/h'way).

Which work out to be arnd 9km/l sweatdrop.gif. Maybe still breaking-in (which I dun think so) or is it SPC petrol no good ? I pump SPC 95 leh. Got 22% disc. Mine Octy auto.

I believe FC will get better after a few months or 10s of K. Mine did after 15K. not much but significant enough to notice.

I (SPB)average about 9km/Litre on 95 SPC. On a very rare good week I get 650km on 65 litres. That is the best that I have done in singapore. Not counting the one trip I did to malacca. (felt like the car could go on forever). There and back on one tank, averaging about 89km/h (so the meter said). I was travelling between 120 to 150 on NS. Indicator did not even lightup when I reach the last petrol station before entering SG.

I believe I can get better FC if I didn't live in Pasir Ris, lots of inclines and heavu traffic on way to work. It does not help when I and wife are heavy footed.

SPC, in my humble opinion, they are ok... not the best but pretty cheap. Been on SPC 95 since 98. Stone's throw from my place. (giving away my location)

So your FC should improve soon.

Lamy

I am starting to believe in hard run in. I had several friends tell me to do the same. One was actually a mechanic.

There is quite a lot of material on the internet on this with stats and dyno test too. But when I received my SPB, read the manual which stated incremental increase in Revs, I chicken out.

KS mentality.

Anybody else subscribe to hard run in methods.

Lamy

Quite true about SPC being pretty cheap. If not I would not have switched fm Caltex. Maybe should give up the 22% & try Shell95. Quite a lot of ppl say better mileage leh.

Anyway, I tried Shell95 with my previous Sunny but no diff in mileage. However, do give the car slightly better power though.

Ya lor, my Octy manual also say DON'T redline the engine during run-in, something like 1,500km. sweatdrop.gif Must be gentle kind of driving.

But then, bro here say Skoda already run-in in factory. Can do anything you want with it ....

A bit scared leh + KS also.

Not mine, I'm ex-Skoda owner now. tongue.gif

BTW, there is black Octavia in Punggol, nicely dress up with twin exhaust tip, 17", lower ride. thumbsup.gif