When to change tire/rims?

Pippo20

Dear all

My car had just hit 60000km after 2.5yrs, so I just changed the 4 tires but the tireshop owner told me it's also advisable to change the rims as the tire wobble when doing the balancing. So when should be a good time or mileage to change the rims?

Thanks all for your info.

load of BS, avoid that shop totally. If U didn't hit anything to damage the rims, then changing of rims is asthetic or getting a lighter alloy rim.

DO change Ur tyres after 18 mths or so as they harden due to our weather. Periodic checks of tyre to ensure no damage.

wah lau, nearly kenna carrot head man, thanks bro. that shop is at the Shell station in amk near the swimming pool, forgot the shop name liao..

Thats a desperate sales ploy by these ppl [shakehead]

Might as well say must switch to 18" for added stability cos your car is old... No need to change unless damaged... I know where that shop is... At my regular pump...

If the wheel is out of shape, when rotate the wheel is not turning smoothly or appear out of round. Then the wheel is damage or dented internally.

This could happen when you go through the pot hole. During the wheel balance, you can witness the condition yourself, its obvious. Externally, it might not shows unless the wheel is removed and test on the wheel balancing machine.

I had experienced this when I sent my tyre for repair, initially thought of putting the not so round wheel on the rear, later checked all the wheels and 3 out of four is not round. So no choice change rims (2nd hand to save cost, 2 years to scrape).

My deductions was that I had gone though a few pot holes previously, did not see any damage externally. No serious wheel vibration at speed, but do feel a bit above 90km/hr, thought it was due for wheel balancing.

Edited by Sky8807

talkin abt [knife] ! i once went to mend a punctured tire... my tires were only of 38k mileage... he said time to change as already 2 yrs and somemore usually pp change every 40k.. about time liao! if dun change the tires also become hard liao... so i changed! that's not it! i went elsewhere to only find out the tires i changed to was 30 bucks cheaper! i was [knife] 120 bucks!!!

He his quite right in advising you to change the tyres.You should check around before deciding.Tyres at tyre shops at petrol stations usually cost more. Depends on what you are looking for,a lot of guys here can give good reccomendations on which shop to go to. You just have to ask. [nod]

Edited by Carchngchia

thx bro... it all happened when i got a punctured tire.. i brought it to mend.. but ended up they retrieved a drill bit from inside the tire! yeah a 7cm long, 0.8cm dia drill bit! it muz hv pierced thro when i went over it at high speed.

the shop told me cannot mend.. have to change tire. then since already almost 40k km.. might as well change all 4... i should hv taken back the tire n asked around. sigh...

I suspect is unlikely that the shop wanted to cheat you.

But its better to be safe, and the best is to ask why?

Then if u feel uncomfortable, can always seek second opinion whether what the first shop say is true or trying to [knife] U.

Edited by Sky8807

mmm so using stock tyres 13" also abt 18mths bro ?

HOw to make proper checks on the tyres kekek [sweatdrop]

thanks !

load of BS, avoid that shop totally. If U didn't hit anything to damage the rims, then changing of rims is asthetic or getting a lighter alloy rim.

DO change Ur tyres after 18 mths or so as they harden due to our weather. Periodic checks of tyre to ensure no damage.

1 year plus change tyre?Shouldn't be the case,tyres can go up to 100k km of travel.Or when the thread indicates that time to change,as not all tyres have thick threading,one example of a tyre that will wear out fast will be Yokohama Aspec DB,the one Lancer is using in the past,that will wear out fast as compare to the Bridgestone,stock tyre for altis.The bridgestone potenza,i think is for high performance,but thread also running out fast.So ppl,don't kena tok chai tao,balancing and stuff is require,if they ask you to change,look at the condition,if still unsure,say no and proceed to other shop.Personally,I have mend my tyres twice,their service render is [thumbsup] .I done it at Hougang Ave 7,the shop which puts up the sumitomo banner,the boss there very friendly and go extra miles for the customer. [thumbsup]

mm bro.. can u kindly teach how to check for the thread.. me really goon in this areas.. if got pic to show better [:p]

think my stock 13" tyres is Kumho. ..gd ? There are pple who advise me to change to 14" for better grip..

Bro can share with me the address of the tyre shop that u went too ? Perhaps pm me ??

Thank u ++++++++ [bounce1]