S80 or E200?

Vit4wd

S80 or E200?  

106 members have voted

1. 1.

• Volvo S80 2.5T - S$7,700/yr
    • Mercedes Benz E200 - S$12,000/yr

Infiniti Q50 or Q70? For something different. Listed price are around $180k and $200k, before nego.

The Q70 is listed at $232,800 which is almost the same as the Germans.

The Lexus ES250 is at $228,000 which makes the Q70 seems a better buy if one is comparing Japanese makes.

Again the Volvo undercuts both of them by not a small amount.

Perhaps one can get bigger discounts on these other brands compared to the Volvo? I heard that you can get $25k off the Lexus.

What about overall reliability?

Other than Japanese/korean

Based on what I heard or read, appears that E200 and S80 are more reliable than 520 and XF. Not sure about the A6. Reliability also depends on how well the dealers service and repair the cars and I heard that both C&C and Wearnes are quite good.

Including the Japanese cars:

Audi A6 1.8 - $226,750

BMW 520i Business - $233,800

Volvo S80 T5 - $185,000

Mercedes E200 - $246,888

Infinity Q70 - $232,800

Lexus ES250 - $228,000

Jaguar XF - no price

Yes, after sales service C&C and Wearnes excellent, but u pay for what u get after warranty/free service period over

Listed price not accurate, net price would be better for comparisons since with trade in, net can be on ave 20k off for some.

Volvo s80 event cars going for 159k, new ones 165k plus, fantastic value (space, comfort) compared to the rest, if u dont mind a lesser badge but first rank safety

Some years ago, when coe was around 15k, S80 went for around 150k. Thats why relative value is fantastic at this point.

Based on what I heard or read, appears that E200 and S80 are more reliable than 520 and XF. Not sure about the A6. Reliability also depends on how well the dealers service and repair the cars and I heard that both C&C and Wearnes are quite good.

Including the Japanese cars:

Audi A6 1.8 - $226,750

BMW 520i Business - $233,800

Volvo S80 T5 - $185,000

Mercedes E200 - $246,888

Infinity Q70 - $232,800

Lexus ES250 - $228,000

Jaguar XF - no price

Yes, after sales service C&C and Wearnes excellent, but u pay for what u get after warranty/free service period over

Listed price not accurate, net price would be better for comparisons since with trade in, net can be on ave 20k off for some.

Volvo s80 event cars going for 159k, new ones 165k plus, fantastic value (space, comfort) compared to the rest, if u dont mind a lesser badge but first rank safety

Some years ago, when coe was around 15k, S80 went for around 150k. Thats why relative value is fantastic at this point.

I tend to agree. But some folks have also told me the OMV has drop.

So not sure if that is still consider goo value at 159K.

But at this price, you are getting a better car 245BHP 8 speed then a VW passat 1.8T 180bhp with the dry clutch ..

The Q70 is listed at $232,800 which is almost the same as the Germans.

The Lexus ES250 is at $228,000 which makes the Q70 seems a better buy if one is comparing Japanese makes.

Again the Volvo undercuts both of them by not a small amount.

Perhaps one can get bigger discounts on these other brands compared to the Volvo? I heard that you can get $25k off the Lexus.

I think there is probably significantly more flex from the listed price for Infiniti than Lexus and the big 3 German brands lah.

But it's true, the S80 pricing now would be more comparable to the 3 Series/A4/Q50 etc, rather than one class higher.

Well I did test drove these a few months back and in the end it was down to S80 vs Q50 for me. Went with the latter cos the volvo is just too dated... And plus the Q50 is just too nice to drive (it's RWD), even though it prob just losses out to S80 in terms of raw power.

I think there is probably significantly more flex from the listed price for Infiniti than Lexus and the big 3 German brands lah.

But it's true, the S80 pricing now would be more comparable to the 3 Series/A4/Q50 etc, rather than one class higher.

Well I did test drove these a few months back and in the end it was down to S80 vs Q50 for me. Went with the latter cos the volvo is just too dated... And plus the Q50 is just too nice to drive (it's RWD), even though it prob just losses out to S80 in terms of raw power.

comfort wise in terms of the seats, I still like the Volvo S60 / S 80

steering feel... both feel woody. Infinity feels iffy maybe I was testing the drive by wire one that was going for 186K ..

How do you find the boot space in the Q50? I found it too squarish to be practical for my daily errands.

steering feel... both feel woody. Infinity feels iffy maybe I was testing the drive by wire one that was going for 186K ..

Edited by Mercury1

Wait nxt yr for new volvo s80 bah.

The current model facelifted a couple of times and many variants since coming to singapore in 2006 or 2007.... a cool 8 9yrs already....

It even had a 1.6cc b4 i tink 2 yrs ago.

S80 to be honest is a nice car. The turbo really good for shiok overtaking. Hehe.

But to get a brand new s80 now is just hmm not so right bah. Haha. Next yr new model should be real nice

Wait nxt yr for new volvo s80 bah.

The current model facelifted a couple of times and many variants since coming to singapore in 2006 or 2007.... a cool 8 9yrs already....

It even had a 1.6cc b4 i tink 2 yrs ago.

S80 to be honest is a nice car. The turbo really good for shiok overtaking. Hehe.

But to get a brand new s80 now is just hmm not so right bah. Haha. Next yr new model should be real nice

I am sure the replacement S90 will be price much higher than the 165k, assuming COE remains unchanged. Probably closer to 200k.

At 165k, pretty good value I guess but of course Wernes is still earning a good margin when compared to the Japanese or Korean.

For buyers who value safety and don't mind a not so stylish look but with a new engine which seems to have pretty good fuel economy (not sure in real life how good it is, any idea?) and digital display, S80 is a good consideration.

For me the S60 was too small, so didn't consider. S80 definitely feels more stately, and comfortable.

But it's also a bit too "uncle" for me.. haha.

Q50 I got the premium one with normal power steering, not drive by wire. Quite good road feel, esp if the steering is set to heavy.

Don't think the sports version is worth the additional $.

Hard to say which is better lah.. just different cars/factors appeals to different pple. If S80 was a few Ks cheaper, and gave more optional features FOC, I could well have gotten it instead! [laugh]

For me the S60 was too small, so didn't consider. S80 definitely feels more stately, and comfortable.

But it's also a bit too "uncle" for me.. haha.

Q50 I got the premium one with normal power steering, not drive by wire. Quite good road feel, esp if the steering is set to heavy.

Don't think the sports version is worth the additional $.

Hard to say which is better lah.. just different cars/factors appeals to different pple. If S80 was a few Ks cheaper, and gave more optional features FOC, I could well have gotten it instead! [laugh]

I thought the Q50 is similar in size to the S60 and slightly smaller than the S80.

Are there any features that is optional on the S80 but standard on the Q50? Both are priced almost the same.

I thought the Q50 is similar in size to the S60 and slightly smaller than the S80.

Are there any features that is optional on the S80 but standard on the Q50? Both are priced almost the same.

Q50 is same class as S60 but i think it's much bigger, both exterior size and interior space wise.

I just changed from an older BMW 3, and can feel the size difference.

Someone asked about boot space. If you play golf, you will appreciate the boot shape of the q50, compared to many other cars I have seen. [:)]

If you see the LCD screen of the S80 you will sian half already haha.

Anyway, i think prices of s60, s80 and q50 all around the same, depends on what rocks your boat lah.

Q50 is same class as S60 but i think it's much bigger, both exterior size and interior space wise.

I just changed from an older BMW 3, and can feel the size difference.

Someone asked about boot space. If you play golf, you will appreciate the boot shape of the q50, compared to many other cars I have seen. [:)]

If you see the LCD screen of the S80 you will sian half already haha.

Anyway, i think prices of s60, s80 and q50 all around the same, depends on what rocks your boat lah.

For me, s60 is too small and I will go for s80, followed by q50. Ya... Price are almost identical

S80 T5 may have power, but it's steering feel is worse than a camry.

Not much lateral support in seats as well when doing U turn or turning slightly faster.

Anyway i guess for most people the dated console is the main issue bah.
really really need to be updated.

S80 T5 may have power, but it's steering feel is worse than a camry.

Not much lateral support in seats as well when doing U turn or turning slightly faster.

Anyway i guess for most people the dated console is the main issue bah.

really really need to be updated.

Yeah, used to have a Volvo in the family, sucky steering feel.