Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 Wonder if they are the ones in front instead, will they dare to cross? I doubt these idiots have the balls to turn. It is so dangerous to turn when the view is obscured by those behemoths, I face these all the time. These impatient idiots can really make a nice driving experience turn sour. Sometimes, I really admire those bros who can put on hazard lights and get out of the car to confront them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 Ok lah. I would say about 80-90% of the time, a really big vehicle( bus, truck, not car!) will really be there. Do u all encounter this? Anyway, too much soundproofing also not good. In case someone really horn you with a good cause(ie emergency, prevent accident etc), scared cannot hear & consequences ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shiwao Clutched December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 oh well i almost did that not too long ago if not for my wife asking me to stay put. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 bro, you ma man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 on a lighter note, since u mention lexus got good sound insulation, I think, it's useless if we horn at a lexus. Need to high-beam or wind down windows to show hand expression! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 so when's our turn to get our freedom? 110...120? haha, since there are so many bad drivers maybe most won't be able to handle the higher speed limits after all. ========================= Hard to say, cos 90kmh is really slow for a h'way. Maybe they will increase to 100kmh on certain stretches & monitor first. I regularly travel 110 to 120 kmh & if the traffic is light, I don't see any safety issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 I think a lot of drivers have no clue about how to maintain a roadworthy car - they just sell the thing off after 3 years ========================== This is a very valid statement. I just wonder how many accidents were caused by badly maintained vehicles? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear December 1, 2006 Author Share December 1, 2006 wah ... u 70s initial D ... siao siao ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 No leh. I'm in here almost every day. Maybe we were just in different threads. So how's your car nowadays? Hope it's running smooth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 This is very common cos the cars or high vehicles might have a better view than u. Just ignore then if u cannot see clearly if the way is clear to turn. Remember, if u have an accident, it's u who will suffer not the impatient idiot behind. Inexperienced drivers might b intimidated into turning even though they dont have a clear view. Just drive carefully & ignore the @sshole horning behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 on a lighter note, since u mention lexus got good sound insulation, I think, it's useless if we horn at a lexus. Need to high-beam or wind down windows to show hand expression! ================== Better still. Use your bumper to bump into him. I hear the Lexus' bumper & body damm solid. Wont scratch the paint even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) it is just the attitude of the driver. Edited December 1, 2006 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 Not really. I usually travel the stretch of CTE/SLE from Yishun turn-off up to Woodlands or BKE & it's very easy to travel at 110kmh safely. Just a couple of spots u need to slow down abit as TP hang around there some times. 120kmh is not really fast when on the NSH, & that one is only 2 lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) I suggested this in the past...that to incorporate one more test called the road hazard simulation test. The driver goes into a simulator similar to the one used by the test pilots. Inside, the driver will have to drive like normal, but there will be various road hazards or even pedestrian dashing across the roads. Then also have busses or taxis filtering here and there. Can even simulate raining. Basically to test for anticipation and reaction. If no accident at all during that test, then you pass, collect license. If not, try again a month later until you pass. I notice a lot of drivers can drive, but their antipication skills are really bad. A lot of accident happen not because their driving is poor, but because they somehow just cannot sense danger lurking from other cars. Edited December 1, 2006 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 This is a very good idea. I did hear long ago that 1 driving school will test the new students on the simulator first b4 allowing them to learn on the road but I dont hear of it anymore. Maybe the cost of maintaining the simulator was more ex than a real car. U know what is good. Make taxi drivers use the simulator & take their blood pressure at the same time. If their pressure exceeds a certain limit, they cannot get a taxi license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 No leh. They drive, but their blood pressure remains normal. It's other road users whose blood pressure go sky high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 on a lighter note, since u mention lexus got good sound insulation, I think, it's useless if we horn at a lexus. Need to high-beam or wind down windows to show hand expression! What if they have really good tinting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) definately. I think it boils down to basic courtesy, give & take attitude, be gracious, keep our pribe in check, and for some ... common sense. no amount of test can change a road user's attitude. big cars... big ego, impatence, me first attitude, all these caused lots of unpleasant experiance on the road, not to mention the danger. Singaporeans need to change their mind-set, not just on the road, but in some other aspects, in order that Singapore can keep progressing and be a better place to live in. Edited December 1, 2006 by GoopPwr ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...