Choo Neutral Newbie December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 There will be good and bad drivers every where, just a little bit more patient will help along the way. I always turn and smile to the driver, which try to cut my lane but still landed up at the same traffic light junction, that's my way of saying, by driving this way you are not much faster than me... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Revslide Neutral Newbie December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Most often these drivers wouldn't even look at you. Probably embarassed or pride reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 That's another reason to get a 2 year old car. Warranty is over so u can service anywhere. The expensive servicing were all paid by the 1st owner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear December 6, 2006 Author Share December 6, 2006 Hey, hey Don't be surprised if the odyssey can't see the taxi! Sometimes our vision are limited or only fixed to a certain point of view. That's the reason why we should stick to the "move only when it's green". Accidents can only be prevented if all play by rules. If you wana skip it, you better be damn good at it. This I think we're way off that track. I'm just wondering ... just how many seconds or minutes can you save? You wana risk that 1-2 mins for perhaps (touchwood) a lifetime of regret? Hate me for saying this, some Sg drivers are a bunch of little kids with little or perhaps nil EQ when it comes to driving. Simply don't know how to bear a bit of pride when it comes to giving way to incoming vehicles. Even those who are kind enough to give way, the other drivers never respond with a 'thank'. BTW, I'm not a complete driver as well. I've made mistakes, I've gotta into accidents because of my carelessness as well. But I'm the first to wave to say I'm sorry if there's a need. The response of the other driver is not important, I can't please all but at least for the rest of the journey, I can smile to myself knowing my mistakes and learning from it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 Bro, young doesn't mean lousy and f**ked up drivers. I've seen ppl tt's twice my age behave worst than I am on the road. Move even before green lite, cutting in lanes without signals etc and forcing us to jam brake. Whereby there's alot of guys below 25 that gives way, obey traffic rules etc. Its not the age, but the person behind the wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear December 6, 2006 Author Share December 6, 2006 I think I'm not refering to any young drivers around here .... if you'refering to my previous posting. I'm stating some Sg drivers are like kids ... (you can be old and still behave like kids ) As for the ones you've mentioned, yah ... yi-lau-mai-lau ... I cannot tahan those too. If there's anything about young drivers ... perhaps they just need more practice with reel-time roads situation rather than switching from a 60kmh TP test to a 90-100kmh instantly. I'm generally okay with P-plate drivers .. they might be slow and unsteady but at least they acknowledge their weak points and learning from it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 on a lighter note, since u mention lexus got good sound insulation, I think, it's useless if we horn at a lexus. Need to high-beam or wind down windows to show hand expression! ================== Better still. Use your bumper to bump into him. I hear the Lexus' bumper & body damm solid. Wont scratch the paint even. To deal with these buggers, when green arrow is on, I will turn super slow with occasional tapping of brakes. Lagi best if the arrow is type which goes off very quickly. Let him wait for the next green arrow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 on a lighter note, since u mention lexus got good sound insulation, I think, it's useless if we horn at a lexus. Need to high-beam or wind down windows to show hand expression! What if they have really good tinting? I will go in front of lexus and travel normally, but with occasional tapping of brakes juz to test if tinting really so good tat he cannot see my brake lites. Then observe his reaction. If I feel lexus is slowing down, quite alrite. If no reaction, I am helping others to warn him tat he is a danger on roads. Better still if he scrap my rear bumper. See if lexus bumper really so good. In any case, lexus pays for it & hopefully learns a lesson. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 Or u can fake your engine stall. As the lights turn red again, u zoom off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 Wat do u mean by " as lights turn red again, zoom off"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 When the green arrow is on, pretend to stall your engine. Just as the lights r turning red, then u zoom off so he as to wait for the next green arrow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched December 10, 2006 Share December 10, 2006 Ops. my bad =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie December 11, 2006 Share December 11, 2006 Not only in Malacca.In JB already got this timer thingy. Shanghai also has this and I nearly drop tears to think that our so called "World Class" roads and gharmen dun even bother to spend on this kind of safety devices despite the tons of $$$ they've robbed from the road users..... This timer might seem simple and not much use to some but it'll definitely reduce crashes due to cars trying to race the traffic light and also give time for kan-cheong drivers to know when to drive off instead of revving their engines and rolling their cars to and fro while waiting for the light to turn green. It can also be used as a start timer for racers who want to race each other while TP is not around..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 11, 2006 Share December 11, 2006 i totally agree that singapore drivers suck. pardon me for saying that because if you drive in other countries like malaysia, US, Thailand, Australia, NZ, etc. i can tell you that more than 80% of the drivers will screw up somewhere. if you remember all the accidents sg drivers have in aussie and kiwi land during self drive trips, it further proves that sg drivers are not that accustom to proper driving techniques. some simple common sense stuff that they dont teach during driving lessons, 1) Dont Road Hog! 2) Dont maintain the same speed as the vehicle beside you 3) If you need to overtake or filter out of a lane, DO ACCELERATE! 4) If you need to drop/pick up someone, stop but DO NOT block traffic. 5) OBSERVE the surrounding traffic from time to time. If you dont know the reason for the points above, you need some pondering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie December 11, 2006 Share December 11, 2006 I think the TP should implement a 6 month validity driving licence. To renew it, everyone has to go through TP test again. Any sign of antisocial driving behaviour, be it roadhogging, tailgating, no signalling while changing lanes, reckless or impatient driving, should constitute an immediate failure with a ban on taking the test again for another 6 months. But it's all a dream. The TP doesn't have the manpower to do something like this. I think the TP only has 10 officers in total because all I ever see them doing is standing on overhead bridges and stoning by the side of the expressways. Dun need lah, just hit those a$$h0le where it hurts - their wallets. TP shall increase the fine to 10x the current amount and then implement a squealer's reward program that will reward anyone who reported dangerous driving (with evidence, of course) that leads to a conviction with 20% of the fine. This is a win-win program since TP will get more $$$ flowing in and the road will be safer thanks to money hungry vigilantes prowling the street and making a windfall from all these rewards..... and....I think I can go interview for gharmen Elites position liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear December 11, 2006 Author Share December 11, 2006 Refering to your item 4 .... which area u deem suitable to stop without blocking traffic? Yeterday (11/12/06) around 7pm at tampine central ... a Mazda 2 activate hazard light while we are waiting for the traffic lights to turn green! Of all places, right in front of me, I have to filter right, luckily no traffic incoming so I'm able to get out fast, pity the sunny behind me. I am so pissed off 'cause it is at the junction before left turn only to the junction of Century Sq. Even there are designated space for cars to pick/ drop someone, it'll become a perm waiting parking lot for some *sshole. FACE it, we are bad drivers all these while, never improved and even got worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear December 11, 2006 Author Share December 11, 2006 I like that idea too. In Malcca, you should know, the people are basically on bikes and most of them are villagers. They are damn humble and polite ... I wonder why there's so many educated champions in Sg and yet not many can exhibit simple gesture of giving way. BTW, I don't mean all but those minority is bad enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie December 12, 2006 Share December 12, 2006 (edited) I wonder why there's so many educated champions in Sg and yet not many can exhibit simple gesture of giving way. Just has the 'good fortune' to meet one this morning. I was doing a reverse parking and this guy driving a big car was trying to squeeze across instead of waiting for just 2 seconds for me to clear the space for him. When he failed to squeeze through, he was staring at me as if I have owed him a few millions or what..... On second tot, he might be admiring my little car's bodykit and regretted why he buy such a large posh car which has no suitable bodykit Ah-Q's spirit.... Edited December 12, 2006 by Gilgamesh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...