Are we bad drivers?

Mean76

Are we bad drivers?  

45 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes, we need improvement
    • No, it's the safety features of the car that sucks
    • No, it's the other party mostly

Ya loh... Knn... especially those super tall lorries* which seem like they going to flip anytime, damn dangerous sia...

*. I notice some of the tall lorries are from furniture brand and movers. Eg: Novena furniture, Richland...

That is nothing lah. I ever see ppl on the phone happy chatting away travelling @ 60km/h on the right most lane! [sweatdrop]

I'll horn until they get out of my f*cking way! [mad]

obviously the rise in acciden is cuz of all these road hoggers ma... i'm sure many 'bros' here will agrees.. like u says.. traffic is slow.. cuz got hogger ma.. so the hogger make everyone tu lan (angry cannot control emotion liao) kancheong (make u wanna tail gate) n stress (cannot cope wif traffic conditions) so obviously they, the hoggers, are ultimately source of acciden

Yes, I agree. Road hoggers are a more common sight nowadays. After the speed limit for commercial vehicles increased to 70, I notice more comm vehicles occupying middle lane...at hogging speeds of course. Drivers who used to travel on the middle lanes now move to the right lane more often...hogging the extreme right lane

what more can i say [laugh][laugh][laugh]

What to do? If you implement a 5 second wait after the red light, people will just continue beating the red light for 5 seconds after it comes on. Then we'll be back at square one. Furthermore, it takes away the onus of using one's judgement to gauge whether it's safe to turn from the driver. Imagine sitting at an entirely empty junction at 3am waiting the green light to turn red, then 5 seconds, then the green arrow before you can turn, while previously you could just turn right because there's absolutely no traffic.

I think the TP should implement a 6 month validity driving licence. To renew it, everyone has to go through TP test again. Any sign of antisocial driving behaviour, be it roadhogging, tailgating, no signalling while changing lanes, reckless or impatient driving, should constitute an immediate failure with a ban on taking the test again for another 6 months. But it's all a dream. The TP doesn't have the manpower to do something like this. I think the TP only has 10 officers in total because all I ever see them doing is standing on overhead bridges and stoning by the side of the expressways.

I kinda like your ideas. Make sense ... I regret to say that when I got my license, thou I am lucky enough my dad continues to guide me how to drive and teaches me on defensive driving. I still made a few mistakes here and there on the road and kean accidents twice. Now I'm much a better driver. Learnt to appreciate driving as well. [;)]

As for the red lights, the idea is for those idiots who continues to dash even when it's red. Idea is not to encourage them to rush but to avoid accidents for the right turners. Okay, maybe 5 sec is a bit too long but just to tell my point across. It's more to prevent possible collision if there's a bit of time delay.

worst is when the left lane is relatively empty when you see all those trucks in the middle lane

============================

They r expressing themselves with their new found freedom, ie.70kmh. [dizzy][laugh]

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

so when's our turn to get our freedom? 110...120?sly.gif haha, since there are so many bad drivers maybe most won't be able to handle the higher speed limits after all.laugh.giflaugh.gif

i) I think the technical aspects of the car needs to improve. And we must be ready to pay a bit more for it. ETc, brakes,

ii) We should introduce defensive driving for all new drivers after they cleared the TP test. It's a must to go through it before the license are released.

iii) Right turn only when arrow turn green. 5 secs delay after the oncoming traffic turns red and before right turn. In case some idiots decides to dash across even when it has turn red (at least there's still a 5 sec reaction for the other side)

With regards to pt (i), its not about the car. If SSDC can be using the 8 plus year old civics, its pretty much about the driver. Main thing is that the vehicles on the road should be regularly maintained and faded brake pads replaced.

About your pt (ii), its not always the new drivers. For those of us who went through the local TP test, a lot of emphasis is placed on maintaining safe following distance and being alert to the surroundings (ie, safety checks). But, the problem is not even with the TP test curriculum, its the human factor.

The risk is with inexperienced drivers (applies to both who passed more than and less than 1 year). There are plenty of people who have the license to drive for some years, but didn't drive earlier on due to the high cost of owning a car (until the recent COE tumble). I'm not saying that these drivers pose a risk to the roads, but there are simply to many variables. If you are to pinpoint at new drivers (ie, passing license less than a year), you are not being very objective, because driving is mainly about the experience and the learning ability of the driver. One could be driving for the past 30 years, but still unable to show courtesy on the road.

Pt (iii) is nothing new. Honestly, there is no hard and fast rule about this. Main thing is conducting periodic safety checks and ensuring that the road is absolutely clear before making a turn.

Kiasu and kiasi mentality is ok on the road. Thing is that, even if no green arrow, still can go. Again, its about checking and ensuring that there is no incoming traffic. What you propose may end up causing a mass jam, esp during peak hours. A lot of things can see one, esp on Singapore roads.

Its all a matter of whether the driver is alert and aware of his surroundings. The best way to prevent accident is make everyone take a bus. [dead] Just my 2 cents of worthless opinion. [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Vesfreq

hi.. bro i think its the technology of the car tat make our car crash look very jia lat... as they reduce the impact infront den we wont suffer so much impact.. so the car spoilt still nvm driver safty more important wad.. if the car dun dmg so much but the driver die whats the use?

iii) Right turn only when arrow turn green. 5 secs delay after the oncoming traffic turns red and before right turn. In case some idiots decides to dash across even when it has turn red (at least there's still a 5 sec reaction for the other side)

Idiots behind will horn even when they know that it is not safe to do so [rifle]

Just experienced such an incident this morning from a fcuking taxi driver. [furious]

Edited by Lexxmexx

I can't remember well, but does the TP curriculum involve car maintenance? I don't remember learning much about changing and rotating of tyres, about the need for balancing of rims and stuff like that. I think a lot of drivers have no clue about how to maintain a roadworthy car - they just sell the thing off after 3 years!

Some of the cars that you see on the roads are practically running on "slicks" for tyres. Damn dangerous. There're 2 cars at the carpark at my place that have bald tyres fitted. [:|]

[laugh][laugh]

ok, maybe I'm just shocked. I expect to be giddy after floating and bouncing up and down after a hit.

Perhaps it's designed this way ....

yes correct ... that is why if we can fixed hard on the rule of no right turn unless green. Hopefully sooner or later ppl will LL accept that rule.

YES I know it's impossible but i'll dream anyway [laugh][crazy][crazy][crazy][laugh]

I also encounter ppl behind me horning, esp when I am first in queue. It's not that I want to jam up traffic. Sometimes,my view is blocked by big vehicles opposite which are also waiting to turn. I also dunno if it's a coincidence that whenever I am in this situation, often a big vehicle will be opposite to block my view. Do u all encounter this as well?

Anyway, to those who horn, of course they will hope I cross, then queue will be shorter & they will not kena accident. Really selfish & kiasu thinking!

[shakehead]

Wonder if they are the ones in front instead, will they dare to cross? [sly]

I listen to such horny idiots until numb already. [laugh]

If you go ahead and kenna accident, they will not be the ones paying for it anyway. So heck it and wait. Usually when we are waiting at the right turn junction, it's precisely because we can't see what's coming on the other side of the road, that's why it seems like there's always a big vehicle blocking our view. If there weren't anything blocking our view and the road's all clear, I think we'd have crossed already mah.

Maybe next time I'll get a Lexus. The soundproofing and the marvellous ICE will probably render those stupid horns silent. [laugh]