Kklee 6th Gear December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Hello folks... I'm driving a Vios and not sure if any of you have done a test on both grades of petrol mentioned above... but here're my findings: SPC 95: Consistently giving me 16-17km/l... highest was 17km/l 2 weeks ago (648km for a full tank and topped up 38L to 1st click on the pump). I normally standardize by reading the mileage when last bar starts to blink. Shell 95: Just switched to shell for my last tank and when the last bar started blinking today... the mileage read 550km only! Took me 38L to fill up too and so FC is around 14.5km/L only... KNS. I noticed for each bar on the fuel gauge (vios uses digital fuel gauge with total 8 bars), SPC can travel around 90-110 km average... whereas for Shell, each bar gave me 70-80 km only... So much for the excellent mileage claim from shell... all a load of BS it seems. Think I'll monitor a few more tanks to verify the results. Btw, before anyone jumps on me, I must qualify that driving habits and routes are almost the same coz I'm the one driving.. so I know. You might want to try to reset your ECU. That might give a fairer comparison. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Understand that the temperature of the day when you pump and the additives in that batch of fuel will affect significantly too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 (edited) personal findings is Shell 95 sux compared to other brands, but somehow the Shell 98 is better than other brands~ Edited December 5, 2006 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 petronas good lar....... not as powerful as v-power but much smoother den any petrol i tried. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conservative Neutral Newbie December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Just for the heck of it, I tried V power to buy the little toy cars at 2.95 instead of 4.95. Realised V power cost me $12 more than if I had put Shell 95. And it didnt feel like $12 worth of power leh .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 go JB try petronas.... really gd leh.... though not as powerful as V-power but better den 98. And damn freaking smooth. Drive liao also shiok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnie Neutral Newbie December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 kaoz. taxi use diesel leh.. ur car on diesel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Can you do a test on Mobil also? Try before juz for once when my car running almost zero fuel. FC not up to expectation, after 2 days need to fill up again compare to spc 98, i can go 4 days before the next fill up... Juz my 2 cents. Very vague comparison but personally feel tat spc 98 better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soleution Neutral Newbie December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 yes, petronas prima 3 is superb smooth, don't know what they do inside, tap and pickup is very light...instant power!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 I've done a test on SPC95, Shell95 & Techron95 on my ride. Same routes & driving habits too. Only driver too. In terms of FC, it goes in this descending order, 1 being the best: 1) Techron95 2) SPC95 3) Shell95 In terms of $/km: 1) SPC95 (I have SPC & DBS card) 2) Techron95 (I have HSBC card) 3) Shell95 - only 11% discount. Don't know what other cards can give you more at Shell. So, I'm very doubtful of the mileage claims by Shell. Unless it only applies to V-Power (didn't try) which is an absolute waste because my ride is designed for RON95 fuel. Furthermore, V-Power costs MUCH, MUCH more. Not too sure if it will give a return of equivalent mileage increase compared to the costs in percentage count. Since Aussie fuel is from singapore i figure it would be abt the same. and if spc is using bp then my findings in FC would be identical to yours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solas Clutched December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Aiyah, all petrol feels the same to me cept SPC. Only SPC give me Lau Hong feeling. The rest Shell, Exxon, Caltex all feels just about the same. Take note i pump all at 95RON. KNS ! U keeep quiet lah..haha Mi on SPC 95....for very long time liao....royal customer...haha.. neber try others...so i dunno....but i get abt 13-14km/litre for an auto vios :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvelicious 3rd Gear December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 go JB try petronas.... really gd leh.... though not as powerful as V-power but better den 98. And damn freaking smooth. Drive liao also shiok Is petronas RON level on par with RON 98? Wondering if I can pump that for my swift sport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gobbler Clutched December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 petronas primas 3, got this grade meh? i also like to pump petronas when i go jb. better than the caltex at near custom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhihao 1st Gear December 5, 2006 Share December 5, 2006 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picantorian Neutral Newbie December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 kaoz. taxi use diesel leh.. ur car on diesel? I know that they use diesel.. just that too many taxis inside kinda make me think twice.. had bad experience with them before at the petrol station itself.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 no wonder those m'sia cars so fast! Kancil also power man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvelicious 3rd Gear December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 yes, petronas prima 3 is superb smooth, don't know what they do inside, tap and pickup is very light...instant power!!! Bro where in JB do you pump Petronas? Where is the nearest one? Heard it is quite far away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soleution Neutral Newbie December 6, 2006 Share December 6, 2006 which link you r coming back? 2nd link or woodland? 2nd link beside Esso is Petronas, woodland after Skudai highway(toward Singapore), further down got 2 station, tried the one with Mcdonald, the nearest one will be beside the Petronas building, but a smaller one. Give it a try, u driving conti or jap? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...