Soleution Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 (edited) Don't worry bro, I don't think it actually a traffic rule by JPJ, there is no such law that another country traffic rule can act upon another country traffic rule, unless both country agreed upon. in this scenario, there is none, neither government body have confirm such law, so it is not TRUE! just somebody doing a fake scam report on the cybernet. creating tension... For example, Malaysia say all cars enter malaysia must have 3rd brake light, so u want to enter, u install one, singapore government say u need a ERP IU to drive your car in Singapore, Malaysian car follow, but Singapore cannot fine Malaysian car being heavy tinted, as our tinted rule does not apply on foreign vehicle, nor low cut car, loud exhaust etc. Same theory apply here, JB cannot act upon our country rule and summon our vehicles for not having display weekend car coupon, then might as well, claim that we do not have valid road tax, so cannot drive in Malaysia, period! Edited December 29, 2006 by Soleution ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 maybe after checking, the $300 fine was for beating red light..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 make sense and agree... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soleution Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 Oh thank you , so now the thread can close liao But it do sound an alert for people whom drive weekend car in JB, that must be a lot of traffic police waiting to fine them for such 'rule'. so it up all the bros and sisters to stand up and confront the traffic law enforcer, which law does this apply, and make sure the summon write down 'driving singapore OPC(weekend) car without a valid coupon in Johor during off peak hours', and if they do, ask them what is their off peak hour? and Malaysia also got OPC cars? We should also create a scam report claim that any cars from Malaysia especially JB licensed plate, with heavy tinted will be fine by our TP, see whether they start to scratch off their windows tint and come in Singapore? This will only destroy traffic flow between two country, especially for JB which depend on our tourism to keep their retail sector survive, so I don't think the head of JB will be so stupid to embark such a ruling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 OPC also got pay road tax one lei........i paid mine $138 + $27 Radio license. Total : $165/-. Tho amount is small....but its still valid road tax mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 (edited) I believe now the malaysian cars dun have to get the ICU unit liao. They can pay a flat fee of $10 per day(upon leaving Spore) for unlimited usage on all ERP gantries. One more thing to add.....these malaysian cars dun have "lighted-car-plate" at the rear which i believe all current Spore cars have it. Edited December 29, 2006 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 http://cyberita.asia1.com.sg/singapura/sto...7,87907,00.html? sorry my translation kinda sucks but the facts have more or less been mentioned in this forum discussion liao.. the guy polishing his red plate look very sad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 Oh your's is OPC issit? I tot yours is normal car. Wah $138 only. I pay about $1.2K r.tax. Maybe I change to OPC also But 1st must check if my computer can print those coupons or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 Don't worry bro, I don't think it actually a traffic rule by JPJ, there is no such law that another country traffic rule can act upon another country traffic rule, unless both country agreed upon. in this scenario, there is none, neither government body have confirm such law, so it is not TRUE! just somebody doing a fake scam report on the cybernet. creating tension... For example, Malaysia say all cars enter malaysia must have 3rd brake light, so u want to enter, u install one, singapore government say u need a ERP IU to drive your car in Singapore, Malaysian car follow, but Singapore cannot fine Malaysian car being heavy tinted, as our tinted rule does not apply on foreign vehicle, nor low cut car, loud exhaust etc. Same theory apply here, JB cannot act upon our country rule and summon our vehicles for not having display weekend car coupon, then might as well, claim that we do not have valid road tax, so cannot drive in Malaysia, period! ======================= Actually our rules apply to foreign vehicles entering our country. Like Spot lamps must cover & such. That's why we must install the 3rd brake light if we go into MY. Our window tinting laws apply to foreigh vehicles. They must comply. But the OPC rule is not applicable cos it is only to restrict our cars from being used during the "peak" hours. Nothing to do with the "peak" times in MY cos they don't have such a law. Unless they also have OPC & apply the same times as ours. Then maybe they can try to summon. But it's still a "grey" area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 (edited) Wah pianz...know then u know my ride is OPC mei ? Btw the 3rd eye u talking about....is it the light just behind the passenger seats, at the bottom middle of the rear screen. Some cars have it at the top instead. If yes...i thot all Spore cars oredi have it liao ? Aiya....they always want to copy us one lar.....thier recent enforcement of NS also fcuk-up big time. Edited December 29, 2006 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imp_drv Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 maybe he was the unlucky one kena "warning"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 I strongly suspect that this whole affair started cos many Sporeans who live in JB buy SG OPC & use it freely in MY. This cause "unhappiness" & "red eyes" that these pple get to own SG plate cars & use them freely there but pay such low R.Tax. There the pple r famous for their "Red eye Disease" especially with the richer Sporeans. So they prob complain here & there & finally some TP take the law into their own hands. There must b a law which states that OPC from SG r not allowed on their roads during certain restricted hours or a specified coupon must b displayed. As far as I know, there is no such law. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 thats funny. why should they be red eye when their car is even cheaper than our OPC... i would love to drive their cars! esp the MyVi! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 our opc cars are cheaper if compared brand to brand....! of cos they du lan....i have a friend who bought a opc car for his parents at JB to drive. i think the car only come to Singapore once a year for inspection.....dun knw what will happen next? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 U mentioned in your post #77 that yours is OPC leh. The 3rd "eye" is the brake light in the center back of the vehicle. It must b above the boot & below the roof. The size must also comply to a certain int'l standard. Not all cars have it. Older cars need to fit it as an accessory. I don't think the TP there enforce it strictly anymore as most vehicles have it. They just wanted to show their "power" when they made it compulsory for "all" vehicles. Maybe at that time SG strictly enforce some other law here which affected those MY cars & they r not happy. Just like a petty neighbour doing a Tit-for-tat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 They jealous that Sporeans can afford to buy "expensive" cars leh. U dunno that when u r there, u cannot have anything better then them. They prefer we all ride bicycles & they own cars. U buy a house there & if u do it up to b much more beautiful then theirs, they will find trouble with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 maybe after checking, the $300 fine was for beating red light..... ===================== Ah, then it is a whole different story. Nothing to do with OPC as stated in the news report. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 erm bro. u forget that there is COE here... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...