Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Hi all, I long wanted to change my light bulbs but once i think back how i melted the bulb socket of my dad's previous car, i hesitated. I could have burnt the whole damn car! scary! To prevent another incident of such, i decided to ask before taking any actions. My questions here are: - if i wan to change our car's headlamp, what do we have to look out for? the 55W/60W? - i am using OEM bulbs. if i change to those 4000k ones, will i melt the sockets? I know nuts abt car's electrical sys. Anyone with experience do help me with this. really hope to have brighter headlamps. d: > Thks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 I f u r going to change your headlamp bulbs, stick to the recommended wattage which is 55/60w for low/high beam here. Also stay with those reliable brands like Osram or Philips. Philips has a model, Vision Plus which is brighter than normal halogen bulbs but has the same wattage If u put those "super bright" or "blue/white" bulbs from unproven manufacturers, u risk burning the wiring or sockets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Just stick to the same wattage and you'll be fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 i got wrong voltage once and the whole metal tubing covering the bulb became gone case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Did you have to change the headlamp??? If so, I've heard rumours about this but never knew anyone in which this happenned, only melting the plug and wires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 What voltage u got that caused it to burn? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 16, 2007 Share January 16, 2007 If plus the Bulb.........and Socket.....It Cost alot.......Better Dun touch the lighting parts........If Burn the Whole Car......More jialat...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 16, 2007 Share January 16, 2007 stick to the same wattage as higher wattage generates more heat thus melt and not adviseable to go for those fatter bulb true it gives out more light and it is also true the fatter bulb is much nearer to your light reflector so it may melt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 16, 2007 Share January 16, 2007 this is basically an electrical qn. 4000k is color rendering temperature. higher K value = more towards daylight color. nothing to do with electricity in any real context as long as u stick to the specific wattage (volt x current = power (W) ) u can select same wattage but color rendering higher. like filip diamond plus. however tat itself is no guarantee u can see better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlim Clutched January 16, 2007 Share January 16, 2007 Can i chk with you guys what is a market rate for normal bulb change both headlights? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 16, 2007 Share January 16, 2007 Standard Halogen H4 bulbs cost about $6 each. Can get brands like Osram, Philips or those German made sud b quite good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 17, 2007 Share January 17, 2007 labor cost lor ard $10-$20... for some cars, can DIY lah. others difficult to put bulbs also. last time i bought filip one, install was free at stamford. but then again, i regular there so i was lucky. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 17, 2007 Share January 17, 2007 Maybe u wanna try this? http://www.pro-rv.com.sg/product/mt3000.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 18, 2007 Share January 18, 2007 Has anybody done a test with a voltmeter to confirm if there is a drastic drop in voltage from battery to bulb? Isn't this drop, if any, taken into consideration when they design the lighting system & if this booster is used, wil it increase the voltage higher then 13 volts which wil cause the bulb to blow very quickly? Has anybody tried this product & got some comments & what is the price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 18, 2007 Share January 18, 2007 (edited) I dun know if it's really effective but the price I believe is $79, stated in their website. http://www.pro-rv.com.sg/carex.htm Their HID is pretty cheap too. Edited January 18, 2007 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 18, 2007 Share January 18, 2007 Looks like somrthing new on the market. I won't buy stuff that's just come out & not tried & proven to b really effective. So much stuff comes out & disappears after some time cos by then, most pple realize that it's not worth it or it wil damage the car. So nobody has tried it yet. I guess I'll let others b the guinea pig to test it out. The principle also dosen't make sense. How much voltage can b lost? All headlights now use relays. If the voltage drops to 9 volts, then we sud just put in 9 volt bulbs to compensate lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlim Clutched January 18, 2007 Share January 18, 2007 Wah only $6 nia? I changed both headlight H4 Borsch $20 incl labor (if u call that labor at all ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 18, 2007 Share January 18, 2007 A few years back b4 I used Philips VP, I bought a halogen bulb (Osram) for only $6 a piece & changed it myself. VP, I changed abt 2 years ago for abt $36 a pair & they changed it for me for free. Stll using them. Now waiting for them to blow. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...